Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cholla Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 740 students

Meeting the academic, social and emotional needs of all our students.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2013

Cholla Middle School "Is a GREAT place to be"!!! That has been the slogan since my son has started this school and he just recently promoted to the 9th grade. The office staff was always so helpful even with dealing with outrageous parents whose child could do no wrong. They greeted you with a smile and "Have a good day" were their exit words. The Principal was always helpful and to answer any parents concerns. The Student advisor dealt with the discipline and student schedules in a very timely manner. The teachers were all good with cordinating any meetings with parents to keep them up to date with students progress and with the district getting up to spped, all teachers have thier own website where you can go in and check the calendars of the students agendas and assignments schedules. The cafeteria might not have the food that an average teenager would want to eat but it was all design to make sure that our students are eating the right portion of a average meal. If we can get more parents involved in their child school, the PTO could use some help. I could go on and on with this review but there are not enough words to express how much Cholla "Is a GREAT place to be"!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

I just promoted from Cholla and I have to say that those were the best two school years I've ever experienced. The advanced classes and gifted program is great. I feel well prepared for honors classes in high school. All of my teachers and the staff members were very nice, respectful, caring, and helpful. I have no complaints.


Posted May 21, 2013

My school is Cholla Middle School. The office staff is unfriendly and there is never any parking for parents in the front parking lot. You get the feeling that the heads of this school have their own agenda and could care less about any concerns you convey, It is like they are dismissing you and just nodding in agreement and then never act on it just to get you off the phone or out of their office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

I am a parent of three children who has and one that still is in this school. I have lived here for twenty years. I have to admit it was not the model school in the past. I know that there are a lot of teachers and staff that are going above and beyond what is required of them to ensure that our children are doing and being the best they can be. I believe we have one of the best Principals leading the charge to achieve greatness in all our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

Cholla has a great teachers who do care for your education. They make sure that every student is safe from harm. Also, the principal is very trustworthy and very easy to talk too. Cholla middle is the best middle school you can go to. I switched from different schools and this one is the best by far. Go to this school, you will NOT regret it!


Posted August 9, 2012

I was enrolled to this school for 11-12, it was a HORRIBLE school. The students were harsh on each other, fights often happen, and there was no way you feel safe at this school. In elementary school, I used to be straight A's, now when i transfer here, I get straight F's and D's and I'm one of those good students too! They give me the "cold" shoulder because I "talked" back to one of my teachers, which I didn't. I just corrected her that her answer was wrong, and mine was right, and I showed her where she went wrong, and then compared it to mine. She then yells at me, give me a bunch of homework, and then I guess she told the other students and teachers to give me the "cold shoulder" and bad grades as well. This school is a disgrace. I will never go back to this school, Cholla say Palo Verde was a bad school, but I disagree, Palo Verde is MUCH MUCH better school than Cholla. They actually don't yell at you, and admit their mistakes! The only thing that I like about Cholla is probably the principal, because he used to be my Elementary Prinicpal. He comforts me because he knows me.(being the principal and all from my elementary school) Don't waste your time to go to this school.


Posted August 16, 2011

I attended this school two years ago, and I must say, my experience here was the worst I've ever had at a school. The whole student I.D. rule is pointless. If you don't visibly wear your I.D. around your neck you get lunch detention. The whole school was littered with trash and fights happened every other week. You are not allowed to bring book bags or backpacks. Instead all your supplies and papers must be kept in a binders, which you carry around everyday (which leads to students knocking down other student's binders on purpose). Once you walked into the basketball courts during lunch, there's no turning back until lunch hour is over. Not even to go to the bathroom. All my classes behaved badly. My time in 7th and 8th grade were miserable. I'd prefer High School any day. The only thing that I enjoyed was when guest speaker Calvin Terrell came and spoke with the school.


Posted April 26, 2011

I love this school , and I am so happy becouse my son happy when he gose to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

Very blaise attitude afforded by teachers towards students that are average and below (GPA - wise). The school has an overall feeling of great stagnation - and it has permeated (in my keen opinion) throughout the school and student attitude. This school should be shuttered and fumigated (again, in my opinion) - a fresh, brand new start-over may be the recipe here... but, alas, it may be too late to save the sinking ship ....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

This school has a very warm and inviting environment. The administration, staff, and teachers seem to genunely care about the students on this campus. My children absolutely love drama class and PE. The new Principal is very friendly and helpful too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

I am a gifted student attending Cholla Middle School. The gifted program (FLEX) is a very close knit family of teachers, students, and advisers. It is terrific to have very educated and professional teachers that know how to get the job done right, and not drift us to sleep. It was a truly memorable experience to work in such a productive environment.


Posted June 5, 2010

i loved the school ... the finest girl and who will forever and eternally be popular is in the history books there her name was Bianca Monique High


Posted March 19, 2010

Cholla Middle school has gone down. My oler brother was a student a few years ago. Back then the school had more after school activites. I have learned somethings but I do not feel challenged. Mostly she school if full of drama. Cholla Middle School could be doing better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2009

This school is the best for my daughter. I am glad I chose this school. Everything I need is based on this school. Thanks for everything Ms.Brenda Case and Woodwark and for all the teachers, keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Our school is AWESOME!! The teachers really work together to make the school environment a safe and interesting place to learn. We have an amazing after school program with everything from math enrichment to reader's theatre to organic gardening! Our population is diverse and our students are terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

This school has taught me everything i need to know even more.They have a great range of staff that are kind and care aboout the students needs. They keep us active and excited to learn. I highly reccomend it
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2009

I am a current student attendinq Cholla MIddle SChool. I love it. The teachers are great, and the activities are funn, and if I were to say I did not learn anything, I would be lying.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2009

Choola Middle school is an excellent school. Everyone here is nice and wonderful. The athletic programs include girls/boys volleyball, girls/boys basketball, boys/girls soccer, wrestling, cross country, track, and girls softball. As well as the academic programs there are regular courses along with an elective. Lunch is excellent but could be healthier! Overall Cholla is a great school. Go Chargers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2008

I really have a love for this school. It is excellent in education that is. We do have dram as most schools do but it get resolved by our terrific student service specialists. Ms. Watters and Mr. Nevling. We have a great and fun principal Brenda Case and an awsome asssitant princiapla Tim Woodword.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2008

I'm in 7th grade and I go to this school. I think this school is excellent and highly recommended. And the campus is very safe for all.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 42%
White 42% 42%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Phil Garitson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 896-5420

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Lakeview
Tumbleweed
Sunset

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Moon Valley
Cortez
Apollo
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3120 W Cholla
Phoenix, AZ 85029
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 896-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Accel
Phoenix, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT