Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Constitution Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 584 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2013

Constitution has been a good school for many years. We have become part of the ASU TAP program. There have been major improvements made throughout the entire school, including topics that don't get tested. Students are showing growth in their ability to make positive choices, how to handle themselves in given situations, and learning to respect others for who they are. We are looking forward to another great year of learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2012

Our son is in the fifth grade at Constitution and our daughter went there just over 10 years ago. The school participates in programs like "The National Spelling Bee" and "Jr. Achievement" - where the students can benefit practical experience and exposure to business. I was absolutely shocked when I researched The National Spelling Bee participating schools and saw how FEW were enrolled! I'm so glad and PROUD that Constitution still sees the importance of education. The school staff is helpful and friendly; and the atmosphere is positive and energetic. The kids are decent to each other and that says alot I think. Constitution Elementary has not only been a consistently well run school, but also an asset to the community here in N. Phoenix. Thank you Constitution Principal, Teachers and Staff! from John and Julie Koehler/parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2011

I have been teaching at Constitution for 17 years. The teachers are total professionals and really do care about each child. I am retiring this year and I would like to say what a pleasure it has been to be a part of this faculty. At this school, children are more important than awards, meetings, and tests. I think each child is given the respect they deserve and need.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2011

My experience with this school has been good. My kids are doing well in academics. I think the principal and the teachers care about kids. Also, I really like that the school has an open gym at 8:00 am every morning. My kids enjoy playing sports before school starts at 9:00.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

I had a 3rd and 5th grader this past school year. They do work very well in the special education department and my daughter enjoys the music program but I had a problem with her teacher communicating with me when my daughter was receiving lower grades. It wasn't until the end of the quarter when the report cards came out that you realize "Oh, no! My kid is on the verge of failing". The biggest problem that I came across was the bullying issue that went on throughout the year. When it was brought to the teacher's attention, it was addressed in a timely manner, but apparently the punishment was not severe enough because the issue did not get resolved. I think the only other drawback was the late start time (9:00 a.m.) for the school day. I would say this is at best a mediocre school with room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

I have a 3rd grader at this school. She will not be attending this school next year. I do not like the teachers or school policys
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

I have a child in 1st grade and I like his teacher and the fact that she sends home stuff every week so I know exactly what he is doing. However, I have a child in the 5th grade and there is no communication between the teacher and the parent as far as what you child is learning or what they did in school this week. There is no homework sent home because students aren't returning it so I don't know what my child needs help in until the grades are sent home. I do really like the teacher however and so does my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

I believe there is no consistent discipline at this school. There are racial issues, bullying, fights and nothing is being done to stop or prevent this from happening. The kids are out of control and show no respect for authority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

i belive this school is not academically set. test scores are fine, but what about year round? of course scores will be high when you practice for a month or more. i don't feel year round that my child had recieved a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

We are very pleased with academics. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

Good teachers and principal, respond to the need of a sudent and perents. Good afterschool program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2004

So far our experience with Constitution has been a positive one. My daughter was in kindergarten last year and is in first grade this year. Her reading is coming along great and she enjoys school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 43%
White 29% 42%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 467-6180

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18440 N. 15th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85023
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Canyon Ridge
Surprise, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT