Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Raul H. Castro Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Seems like most of the teachers have a chip on their shoulders and treat the children with disrespect.

Raul H. Castro Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The staff does not respect students so the students give no respect back and then the staff gets all hurt by this.


Raul H. Castro Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Most of the staff are there because they were rejected from Real Schools and just there for a paycheck they don't care about kids.

Raul H. Castro Middle School 1

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
This place is a joke!! the Principal and some (not all) teachers are a joke!! They treat the kids like prisoners and send to the office for the dumbest things. Don't let your kids go here if you love them.

Raul H. Castro Middle School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a community member
Great school, staff and peers. Although it has little flaws, it's near perfect. As an 8th grade student, I've greatly increased my knowledge since that of Pendergast Elementary School. (k-8) I recommend this school for students who pay great attention.


Raul H. Castro Middle School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
I had my son enrolled in this school and was constantly put down and told that he was Obtuse and would amount to nothing. Ob tuse (b-ts, -tys, b-) a. Lacking quickness of perception or intellect. b. Characterized by a lack of intelligence or sensitivity: an obtuse remark. Tell me, how does a teacher feel like they have the right to call any child obtuse. I took my son out of the school and moved him to Atkinson Middle School the staff their treats their kids with respect and are motivated to teach. DO NOT PUT YOUR CHILD IN CASTRO MIDDLE SCHOOL

Raul H. Castro Middle School 1

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
If I had a choice, and knew better I would never have put my daughter in this school. There is more focus on child behavior than there is on academics. When my daughter's grades started slipping the teachers re-assured me "she's fine, she's right there with the other kids". They hold NO expectations for academic achievement. There is a great deal of "favortism" from the teachers. I have spoken to many students that feel "bullied" from fellow students as well as the teachers. The principal is nice and I've had no problem with her, however, it seems that she doesn't have a clue what goes on in her school.

Raul H. Castro Middle School 5

Posted May 28, 2011
- a community member
iWent To This School From 6th-8th Grade And iLoved Every Part Of It. Compared To Estrella This School Is Amazinq!


Raul H. Castro Middle School 1

Posted January 14, 2011
- a community member
if you want your kid to succed to not put him in this school.It is an awful school.

Raul H. Castro Middle School 1

Posted January 14, 2011
- a parent
I put my child in this school and her grades went DOWN the teachers dont honestly care for the students. I do Not recommend Raul H. Castro middle school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Raul H. Castro Middle School
2730 N. 79th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ  85035
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (623) 691-5300
Last modified Raul H. Castro Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top