Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Copper King Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2005

The communication between parents and teachers is very poor. I would try to get my daughters teachers to communicate with me on how my daughter was doing, all I would get is she is fine...until report card time came around, then it was a different story. This school is more focused on doing paperwork than on educating our children. the teachers demonstrate a lack of feeling and concern. I have since taken my daughter out of this school, and placed her in another. Her grades have dramatically gone up, she has found it easier to make friends, and the faculty is wonderful in communicating my daughters ups and downs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2004

two of my children are attending Copper King Elementary. The teachers we have worked with through third grade have done an excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

I have very mixed emotions about this school. On one hand I and my children have met some of the best teachers in the world. On the other hand we have had issues with some of the other staff, which I find appalling. This school has a lot of issue with racial decimations. The majority of the staff at this school chooses to believe the Caucasian children over the children of color, and never allow those children to explain their situation, or hear their side of the story, or they just turn there back all together. These children deserve the same right as the Caucasian children. And I also believe that this issue starts with the principal of the school. And no one does anything about it. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2004

School has a caring principal, unfortunately she is in a district that is badly mismanaged. Superintendent has a hands off attitiude and leaves everything to his assistant. Zero tolerance desperately needs to be taken to the harrasment/name calling level and is not consistently managed. Definete favorites at this school. Asst Principals do not equally distribute discipline. That's why the principal is so great is she's not afraid to step up where her assistants aren't. I just hope she gets a good one for 2004-2005.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2004

Overall this school is good. Most teachers are very communicative. But something does need to be done about the lunch program, children are throwing food away because they do not have enough time to finish it and are rushed out of the cafeteria. My child comes home every day hungry because she does not have the time to finish her food. Also talked to other parents they complain about the same issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2003

this school is excellent! my child went from a a below average school to a above average school and some stuff she did not understand however, Copper King gave her the time to catch up and now she is exactly where she needs to be in everything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2003

I have three children that have attended this school over the past few years. One has graduated and is now moving onto High school. I must say that that the teachers are mostly there to give our children a better start in life, but there are the few that are really there for unknown reasons. There should be more communication between the teachers/principal and the parents. As for the saftey of our children all the staff needs to wake up and smell the coffee and please start to really enforce the rules for everyone. Any student there could walk right off school grounds and no one would ever notice, also the parking lot for visitors is always a mess and loaded with with teachers vehicles, when they have another parking area there that is suppose to be for them. The principal herself is wonderful, I have dealt with her several times in the past for various reasons, but the assistant principal needs work and the nurse is just a handful of attitude. Hope this school will be able to get things running in the right direction before to long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2003

My child has attended Copper King for the last two years. Overall he has been given an average education. I think the school could do more as far as parent/teacher involvement and bringing the community to the school more. I am not sure if this has to do with funding or not. The few programs they have done, were great!


Posted April 13, 2003

My children went to Copperking for two years and for unforseen circumstances we had to move them to the Isaac school district. You haven't seen teachers without control over students until you experience this. A worried parent is one who has their children in this school district. I am very proud to say my kids are coming back to Copperking in the next school year and will support the staff and faculty 100%.


Posted April 9, 2003

I have two children in this school and have had numerous concerns and questions that never seem to be answered. There are very few extra activities for parents to get involved in (open house, plays, musicals, conferences). One of my favorite memories growing up was participation in dramas a few times a year and Copper King never has them. They have 'socials' once a year, but that is not challenging to the children. I have also experienced problems with the principle making huge mistakes, including confusing my son with another child and punishing him instead of the other child. Trust has been lost! The children don't seem to be in the control of the school and seem to be able to roam about and do whatever they want.


Posted April 1, 2003

The school I would consider average overall for a more rural school. I get frustrated watching parents dropping their kids just anywhere and they dart across the parking lot. Protocol has been established and not followed and certainly not enforced, teacher stand there and watch it happen. I am dumbfounded when I go to a classroom how noisy and disruptive children are. When I was in school we didn't move about the classroom so freely and talk out constantly with such an obvious disrespect for the teachers that dedicate their lives to helping these kids. If teachers could be more restrictive and parent were raising their children with greater respect and leadership, things would be different. I feel the classrooms should be much more structured and less of a play time.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 43%
White 15% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10730 W.Campbell
Phoenix, AZ 85037
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 772-2215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT