Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Copper King Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2012

I went to this school about 12 years ago and I have to say it was the worst school I have ever been to. The entire 8th grade year we only had a "permanent teacher" for 2 weeks at most. On average our permanent teachers were only there for three days before mysteriously disappearing. The subs never even attempted to teach anything and would literally sit at the desk and read the news paper. I blame this school for wasting a year of my life and holding my education back at such a critical time.


Posted September 13, 2011

This school has made my child have low self esteem and has caused a lot of pain for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

again bad school, the teachers are good but they disregard the safety portion having moldy cheese once in my hamburger, spoiled milk, etc... i dont know who this place hasn't been shut down. and belive me i was a student there for 9 years, i should know how the school works.


Posted April 19, 2010

It is a great A+ School, Great education, and a good time for great opportunities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I have 2 children who have attended Copper King their entire elementary years and both have thrived and loved it. Educating children is not only the teachers and schools responsibility but it is the parents responsibility as well. The only problem I have encountered at Copper King is lack of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

The school over all is fine, But I think the teachers need to spend more time teaching the kids,Then being invalid in the personnel business
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Great school! Needs after school sports. Kids need a chance to be ready for high school sports. I think after school programs would really involve parents with the school and make the school known.


Posted October 22, 2009

Wow what can I say about this school. I am very greatful my child only attended this school for a little over a month. At the same time I feel bad that I had to place my child in this school. I can not say one good thing about this school. If you care about your child you will not place them in a horriable learning enviroment, that is copper king!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

It's a great school and teachers are great and very helpful with kids. I've had a wonderful experience since my godson has been going to Cooper King Elementary School and have met the most wonderful teachers and helpers in the school. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

For my three boys the school is the worst there are behind in curriculum from where my kids were in there last school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

I have two kids in this school. One in 8th grade the other in 3rd. Their teachers are really good, I like their system and the way that they involve the student. I think that the lack of involvement of the parents is not a school issue at least in this case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

This is probably one of the worst schools that I have had my children in. The teachers will not communicate with the parents even when you are in a face to face meeting. The principal has no regard for the concerns of the parents. There are teachers here that are doing a good job, just not enough of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

I have transfered my kids twice in the last 2 years in search for a better school. This school year for my kids has been better situation in all. I had an issue with a child picking on my child and it was taken care of quickly and reasonably. The principle did take both sides of the childrens story- and disciplined both of them accordingly, as my child was not telling the whole truth. The education has by far surpassed the previous 'alternative/charter school-waste of a year' and other public school. I do agree that they do need extra ciricular activities that will be useful, such as drama, spanish, etc- that other public schools have. I will have to post later as the school year goes on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

I am very dissapointed with the lack of opportunities for parental involvement at Copper King.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

I am very diappointed in this school and the fact that we don't have many choices on this side of town so go to an alternate school. There are 29 children in my child's class and it is still growing. The parking lot situation has been a problem for years. The principal and superintendant are unresponsive to everyone. There is also a poor PE program, and no drama or anything. They have socials which are useless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My daughter entered this school in the 8th grade and loved it. She loved the teachers. The only complaint that we had was that they sent out notices last minute. Also, the 8th grade teachers would promise their classes rewards like pizza, ice cream, etc, for various things. Then the day before the reward was to be given they would send a notice home to the parents that X amount of $ was needed for the child and their reward. We didn't agree w/that practice since the teachers promised it, not the parents and what about the parents that couldn't afford these last minute costs. The teachers need to communicate things like that w/the parents prior to promising the students and allow the parents time to prepare for the unforeseen expense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

I think the teachers could use a little bit more training in the classrooms to keep the kids interested in school. The enthusiasm of teaching is not there. They are repremanding kids more then they are teaching them. They also need to talk to the children, before punishing them, every child is different, they are from different backgrounds and different situation. You can not punish every child the same way. I as a parent get involved with my childs classrooms, But when I help at home the teachers need to follow up at school. Overall the school needs to make a few changes and make there classrooms fun, But still teach like I said before the enthusiasm of teaching is not there. So lets do something about that. Thank You.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

My child was involved in a multi-age classroom which was a great learning experience. My child was in this setting for both first and second grade. The program was discontinued although many parents agreed this was a wonderfull learning environment for the chilodren to excel at their own pace. I feel that the teachers have a lot of extra training any use technology a lot in the classroom. The only things that I don't like about the school are the lack extra-curricular activities and the unbelievably useless physical education program. The children in the second and third grade don't know how to play games like kickball or any other game that requires team effort, the staff take very little effort to teach kids how to participate in team sports. Our children's physical education is far lacking from the standards 10 years ago. Do we still have the Presidents physical Fitness Standards?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I believe my daughter is getting a great education but do believe that the teachers and principal need to enforce teasing and name calling. My daughter comes home crying from kids that tease her and nothing is done about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

The communication between parents and teachers is very poor. I would try to get my daughters teachers to communicate with me on how my daughter was doing, all I would get is she is fine...until report card time came around, then it was a different story. This school is more focused on doing paperwork than on educating our children. the teachers demonstrate a lack of feeling and concern. I have since taken my daughter out of this school, and placed her in another. Her grades have dramatically gone up, she has found it easier to make friends, and the faculty is wonderful in communicating my daughters ups and downs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 43%
White 15% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10730 W.Campbell
Phoenix, AZ 85037
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 772-2215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT