Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cortez High School 5

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
Cortez is a smaller campus where students are able to be involved in many clubs and sports. The student council is outstanding and soccer team has won several state championships!

Cortez High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Sultan I works tirelessly with the student council to run assemblies and school activities


Cortez High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
Math homework almost daily, readings and worksheets from other classes a couple times a week

Cortez High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
There is a colt buddy club and several sports take time to work with the special needs students. Also a Christmas party for the 3rd graders at a neighbor school

Cortez High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
Student papers are checked for plagiarism and group assignments have individual accountability. Students have high standards for dress and attendance


Cortez High School 4

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
So far this school has been pretty good. My daughter is a foreign exchange student and she really likes it here. She likes Student Council the most I believe and the teacher of that class is amazing. He has gone above and beyond to include her as a foreign exchange student and also to be understanding when she can't participate because of other commitments due to being a foreign exchange student. At the same time we recently have run into problems, where my daughter has been given detention for not having a red pen, and then detention for not doing detention right. (Keep in mind she is a foreign exchange student and a good student and never has had detention before.) Also, as someone who works in education it is disappointing that a student is penalized for not having a red pen in class. In life if you don't have the materials you need to be prepared, you are not always PUNISHED, you are MORE OFTEN THAN NOT made to think about how else you can make what you have work in the situation...that should be what is taught in these situations, not teachers trying to show they have authority and power along with wasting a students time.

Cortez High School 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a teacher
I have worked at Cortez High School as a counselor and teacher for almost 10 years. CHS is a special community. The entire faculty and staff goes above and beyond for the student body. The students are held to high academic standards and supported in a variety of ways to reach their goals. I'm so grateful to be apart of the CHS family.

Cortez High School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a teacher
I have been a teacher at Cortez High School for 21 years. I started my teaching career here and I will retire soon and I've always enjoyed teaching at Cortez. It's an awesome school. Our teachers are committed and go above and beyond for our kids. The culture here is that we (administrators, teachers, and staff) care and we work hard and smart so that our students achieve. This school is safe and the students get along and are well behaved. I never wanted to teach anywhere else.


Cortez High School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a teacher
I have been a teacher at Cortez High School for 3 years. Cortez High School is a fantastic high school! There is a high rate of school spirit. Students are well-behaved and work hard. The best thing is that students are held accountable and expected to learn, which they do! In addition, there are a lot of great opportunities to get involved in a variety of sports and clubs! Students can also take advantage of a rigorous and successful AP(Advanced Placement) program. I highly recommend Cortez High School!

Cortez High School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a teacher
I've been a teacher here for over 15 years. They have the best staff and students. Did you know, Cortez is the only school in the Glendale district without a security guard? Our kids are so well behaved, we don't need one. Cortez takes students from C ranked middle schools and raises them to an A ranked high school. Very few other high school achieve this.

Nearby schools

Cortez High School
8828 N. 31st Avenue, Phoenix, AZ  85051
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (623) 915-8200
Last modified Cortez High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top