Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Adams Traditional Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a student
If compassion empathy and caring is all the focus on I would say they are doing a good job. If creating future leaders they don't have a clue.

Adams Traditional Academy 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a community member
I feel so blessed to have such a wonderful school for my children. I have had nothing but good experiences with administration and staff. The high level of education and responsibility can be tough, but totally worth it.


Adams Traditional Academy 2

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
Our child was transferred here during the second grade year and did great. In fact, we were asked to consider putting them into the gifted class. Third grade was the exact opposite. We started to notice a lot of safety issues on the playground and in fact warned administration that it would only be a matter of time before a child was seriously hurt. Little did we know that it would be our child. While our child was in the hospital, I received emails from the teacher telling me that our child had missed a lot of school and that he really needed to be there. Yes, we agree but when a child is in the hospital, some support would be nice. Our child was knocked unconscious on the playground (accident) but the adult that was there and alerted, simply picked him up and told him he was fine. Later I get a phone call that he has a fat lip. No mention about the loss of consciousness. I realized at dinner there was a problem when he couldn't tell me how he had gotten a fat lip. It took a week for the school to come clean with us and the doctors about what had happened. Our child was medically not able to return to school for the last qtr and the support from the school was limited. When we got all of his belongings back after the year had ended, we find out that everything had been broken, used, or missing. Thought that this school taught respect of others as one of their hallmarks. Definitely didn't show in our case and not returning.

Adams Traditional Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
I absolutely love Adams Traditional Academy. I have many children who attend and have for years. I have children with varying abilities from gifted to special Education. They are able to meet all their needs and help them to excel. I love the high expectations and parent involvement. My children love school and look forward to going. That means a lot to me as a parent.

Adams Traditional Academy 1

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
We had a great teacher but the administration needs to be respectful of parents concerns and questions about school policies need to be answered in a timely manner. Overall because of the disrespectful way the administration treats the parents I wouldn't recommend this school. We are unheard and talked down to even though they claim to be a parent oriented school. Very disappointing. Been there 3 years, changing schools.


Adams Traditional Academy 4

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
My child has attended Adams Pre-K, K & 1st. FYI Our 13 yr old attends Deer Valley so we have "outside" view. Adams CONS: lots of hmwrk & requirements (book rpts, reading logs, poems, etc) so lots to keep track of, as parent I feel I am teaching vs. encouraging w/hmwrk, VERY high standards - maybe a little too high? school/parent communication could improve, uses Spalding/Singapore methods which r great but most parents don't know so hard to help w/hmwrk (perhaps school needs to remember and offer assistance more) PROS: Child is doing well (little stressed over hmwrk), love uniforms & "stricter" atmosphere (less noise/chaos/respect required), Principal/staff open to talk & resolve issues, curriculum hard but gives child opportunity to achieve great levels that may not have been pushed at other schools. Results so far - GREAT my 1st grader is reading chapter books!! Overall, we are pleased w/Adams. After almost 3 yrs there I would still make same choice. If u r looking at Adams be sure to consider they do use Spalding & Singapore Math and they have HIGH expectations and hmwrk levels. This WILL require more time/involvement as a parent - but our kids r worth it!

Adams Traditional Academy 2

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
In terms of education the quality is high, but in terms of leadership and how children are treated I would only give this school a 1. Bullying is acceptable from the children to the adults, communication is horrible, and now they shame the elementary students by handing out detentions left and right. I would be awesome if this school could find a healthy balance between education and the children. New leadership is definitely needed, and if you don't like the way they do something, you will be shown the door and told that this school is not for everyone. I have never been more disappointed in our education system.

Adams Traditional Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
My child has been attending ATA since 3rd grade, which is also the 2nd year they had been open. ATA is not for every family. It does take a lot of parent involvement, particularly in the lower grades. I've read some of the reviews. Good and bad, as far as the teacher turnover, you'll have that in every school. Of course some teachers are better then others. They try to hold on to the "good ones". It is a very high demand job, that's not for every teacher. I believe the curriculum has helped push my child to be the best she could be. Looking forward to Jefferson Prep (ATA High School).


Adams Traditional Academy 3

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
As a parent, I love the structure at school. Our child has attended for 3 years now. The Curriculum is challenging, our only struggle is the long nights of HW which include Studying for test.

Adams Traditional Academy 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
For the person who wrote this review: " My kid is in ATB preschool program, their preschool program is nothing but BABY SITTING. . ." I STRONGLY disagree! My child was there 2 years and came out knowing ALL her letters/sounds; she recited poetry; she was more than prepared for kinder. In fact, when I looked at the regular public school in our neighborhood, what they were doing in K was what she did in preschool at ATB. We opted to stay at ATA because of this. We didn't want a repeat of what she already knew. Just a few weeks into K, my child is ready to read. That would not be the case if she had just been "baby sat".

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Adams Traditional Academy
2323 W. Parkside Lane, Phoenix, AZ  85027
(602) 938-5517
Last modified Adams Traditional Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Adams Traditional Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top