Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools

Charter | PK-8 | 510 students

We are in the top 2% of AZ schools for annual student academic growth, rated "A"
 
 

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $104,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted August 29, 2013

Painted Rock Academy's teachers and students are amazing! Thanks to their efforts, we earned an "A" rating from the AZ Dept. of Education, in part because we scored in the top 2% for annual student academic growth. It's a joy to work with such great kids and dedicated, creative teachers. If you are looking for a rigorous academic curriculum that also includes Art, Music, P.E., Spanish, and Technology classes, you will find we have all that here. We believe in individual student accountability, and we welcome parent involvement. Our teachers are nurturing, and we make sure to maintain a safe school for your child. We have high academic and behavior expectations for the students, and the kids are happy to rise to the challenge. Past students from Reid Traditional Schools have a history of success in advanced Honors, AP, and IB high school classes. A strong traditional foundation (including instruction in phonics, memorized math facts, handwriting, algebra, history, grammar, classical literature, and critical thinking) sets the stage for future achievement. We are enrolling students now for the current school year, so come visit me at Painted Rock Academy and learn how we can help meet your family's education goals.

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2013

IMPRESSED! I am a mother of two and was seeking a charter school that follows a traditional curriculum. I did a great deal of research in the Phoenix area and because of the great reputation I found in REID Traditional Schools, I was excited about the prospect of becoming a part of their brand new campus, Painted Rock Academy. The teachers are caring and professional and both of my children are excited to come to school and learn. The facility and grounds are very clean. The front office staff are welcoming and helpful, and every time I have been on campus I never find administration in their office. They are always in the hallways and classrooms, and I have seen first hand how much they interact with their staff and students. I find both the principal and assistant principal to be very approachable. My children are being challenged, and I have seen great progress. You never would know that Painted Rock Academy was in their first year. I have recommended Painted Rock Academy to friends, and plan to continue to do so!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

After being on the waitlist for some time at Valley Academy, we were very excited to find out this sister campus was opening and have our kids accepted. We have children in kindergarten and 4th grade here. First off, the academcs are above anything I've seen in our prior public school. We knew the expectations would be higher but the traditional concept is wonderful. Parent involvment is expected, as it should be. The teachers are always very responsive and are very caring. Safety is a major concern here, which is reassuring. The principal is wonderful. She is always visible and it's not uncommon to see her in the morning help direct traffic, assisting as needed, or stopping you to ask if you are happy with the school. The staff is friendly and helpful. The after-school program emphasizes cirriculum and they have various after school activities (i.e. sports, art, dance). We are very happy here and feel our children are getting the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

Painted Rock Academy and Valley Academy really does push the kids to a new level they didn't know they could achieve. Very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

We are so happy we enrolled our son in this school. Our son has always struggled with math and we were concerned about his performance in this school because they have an advanced curriculum. Math did not come easy to him at the start of the year, but his teacher gave up her lunch hour in order to give him one on one instruction. Now he loves math and is always eager to come home and share with us all the new things he has learned! I can not believe how much he has improved in such a short time! Every staff member has always been polite and cheerful to me, when I am on campus. The teachers are friendly and helpful and I believe they truly care about students. My son always seems to get the help he needs and he is happy and excited about learning! The only thing lacking in this school is musical instruments for the students to play. I would highly recommend this school to parents because students get the support they need to be successful with a challanging curriculum. The school provides a safe orderly environment and a private school education without the tuition! I think it is a great place for kids to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

I am a parent who has come from another Traditional school, and have been impressed with Painted Rock's curriculum, and specials that include a foreign language. I am on campus everyday and have seen the staff in action - they are friendly, and excited to be at this new campus. They are concerned about security issues, and have been making changes as soon as issues arise. I have spoken with the principal several times - she is very approachable and eager to make our school (and students) a success! Both the principal and vice principal are visible on campus before and after school, assisting with drop-off and pick-up times. This is a brand new school, and there are going to be kinks and wrinkles to straighten out, but I think they are doing a great job in the short amount of time we've been there. The front office staff is very friendly and helpful as well - greeting everyone that comes in the door. I LOVE the "morning assemblies" that they have implemented each month! The entire school gathers together to sing a patriotic song, say the pledge, and recognize students from each grade for a "job well done." I have attended them, and it is a neat experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

We are happy to have chosen this school for our children. This school offers challenging academics, great extra curriculum classes , including Spanish, in a clean safe environment. Our experience at this school has been the best that we can remember from any other schools any of our five children have attended. Teachers are caring, dedicated, encouraging and have high expectations. The administration has always been welcoming, helpful and very involved with students and parents. I really like how they will stop any parent and student and ask, "How are you?" "How is everything going"? That means a lot and shows their interest. Our children are hoping that sports will start soon. We think Painted Rock Academy is off to a great start. We are excited to be here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

Well first of all I want to say we were super excited to have been excepted into this school for my daughters first grade year. Things seemed fine for awhile until she came home and told me that the students were not allowed to use the restroom except for during lunch and recess. If they asked to go they were told no and if it was an emergency then they were punished. So I spoke to the teacher and was told this was a school policy. I then went to the principal and was told this was not the case and she would speak to the teacher. I then received a nasty phone call from the teacher who was very rude and unprofessional. I was shut out of my daughters classroom never welcome to volunteer. Then the end all was when my daughters teacher did not even show up for school one day and her entire first grade class was left alone on the playground without a single staff member outside with them. I pulled my daughter from this school and placed her elsewhere. The principal is very in your face/ defensive about any issues you may have and the staff is mean and uncaring. If I could give this school 0 stars I would. Parents if considering this school I recommend you keep looking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

My son is a 7th grade student at Painted Rock Academy. We were a little reluctant to move him from his last school but we are so glad we did. He is so excited about his teachers and classes. While my son usually maintained average grades in school thus far, this is the first time I've seen him really engaged in learning and he seems proud of himself and he feels successful. I can't say enough about the staff and administration and how welcoming they have been to our family. I am confident that my son is getting a well rounded education with all the basics, plus arts, computers and even a foreign language. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:15 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Leslie Szostak
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 455-3270

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Spalding Language, Saxon Math
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
  • Work in Parent Room for Volunteers
More from this school
  • We are among the top 2% of AZ schools in individual student academic growth, and we have earned an "A" rating from the AZ Dept. of Education. We offer a traditional curriculum with individual accountability and high academic and behavior standards in a safe and nurturing environment. When surveyed, 99% of our families said their students like their teachers and 97% would recommend PRA to a family new to the area. We welcome parent involvement, and are grateful to help you educate your children.
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14800 N. 25th Dr
Phoenix, AZ 85023
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 466-8855

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT