Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

560 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Painted Rock Academy's teachers and students are amazing! Thanks to their efforts, we have earned "A" ratings from the AZ Dept. of Education. It's a joy to work with such great kids and dedicated, creative teachers. If you are looking for a rigorous academic curriculum that also includes Art, Music, P.E., Spanish, and Technology classes, you will find we have all that here. We believe in individual student accountability, and we welcome parent involvement. Our teachers are nurturing, and we make sure to maintain a safe school for your child. We have high academic and behavior expectations for the students, and the kids are happy to rise to the challenge. Past students from Reid Traditional Schools have a history of success in advanced Honors, AP, and IB high school classes. A strong traditional foundation (including instruction in phonics, memorized math facts, handwriting, algebra, history, grammar, classical literature, and critical thinking) sets the stage for future achievement. We are enrolling students now for the current school year, so come visit me at Painted Rock Academy and learn how we can help meet your family's education goals.
October 09, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
My daughter's 2nd Grade teacher, Mr Tanner is a wonderful educator. I think he makes the Kids work very hard, and Learn through Discipline and taking Responsibility for themselves. And after School, he is found outside at an Intersection directing the Traffic flow! Aces!

Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers that challenge the students. Our 2nd grader is a happy camper. We are a fan of the teaching methods.


Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
I have been a parent involved with PRA since its opening 3 years ago. I was a teacher for many years before becoming a stay at home mom. I worked in public schools and did not know too much about charter or traditional learning. I have been very pleased with what we have experienced here at PRA. The curriculum is rigorous, yet effective. My child was reading in kindergarten and is continuing to thrive through 2nd grade. The staff is caring, and although the students are pushed a bit out of their comfort zone, it's done with care and strategic scaffolding. Administration is approachable and have always followed through with any request I have had. I find it humorous to read the negative reviews below... If the school is so awful why is your child still there? There are many choices. I am continually impressed by Paibted Rock Academy and very happy we made it our choice. I highly recommend!

Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 1

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
I totally agree with the last review. This school is a joke. I can't wait for this year to come to an end so that I can pull my kid out of this school. Having a tough and challenging curriculum is of no use if the teachers spend zero time teaching the kids. All the burden is on the kids and the parents. The teachers are way too tough on the kids and have no concept of encouraging the kids when the kids try to work hard. Their rigid grading only makes the kids give up. Some teachers also resume to bullying the kids. I don't understand what kind of values they are trying to teach the kids. And yes they have no policy to curb bullying. Unfortunately there is no way to give zero stars here.

Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 1

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
this school is considered to be great .That's a joke, your kids is just another pay check. For example, you pay for full kindergarden,lunch even if your child qualifies for free lunch , boulders club and the other ridiculous ways they can find too make money so they can pay off there loan. the communication between teachers and parents is terrible and this whole school is structure like a prison when it comes to discipline, your child gets homework without no explanation and lastly the teachers treat your children with no respect trust i have seen a teacher make a student look like sh** in front of other peers and they have zero bullying tolerance policy right. These policies they have in place will sure make a difference in your kids self - esteem and cause depression. Especially with the red, yellow markings. I would not recommend this school to anybody and the parents that have great reviews are part there staff so observe for yourself and don't fooled. by how it looks and all the so called Academics priority speech there not excellent they are below average.


Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted January 16, 2015
- a parent
I want take this opportunity to recognize and appreciate Mrs. Goshow, who is a 3rd grade teacher at Painted Rock Academy. Not only she is an experience teacher, she is fair, and works to see improvement in each of her student. I have seen my daughter's improvement with being organize, accountable for her own things, and improving in her weak areas and I am thankful to Mrs. Goshow.

Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted January 13, 2015
- a parent
When my son Damion first started this school in august of 2013. I knew this school was there right choice for my son and best part the kids learn tools that will benefit their future and personal life. I love Mrs. Weeks she is amazing and she is a master in the education area. My son have her for 2nd grade this year and he learn so much. So , the next time you are looking for a warm loving, safe environment. yet, certify specialists in education and great staff. Think Painted Rock Academy. Almost forgot the chef is great she have nutritionist meals yet very tasty.This school go above and beyond I love it...

Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 2

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
My son went to this school last year and part of this year. He attended preschool last year, and we paid $315 dollars per month for him to go to school 2.5 hours per day. He did not learn his alphabet or numbers there (he learned more at home with me practicing), but he did learn to sit still and listen in class. This year, he began attending half-day (3.5 hours) kindergarten. He would come home exhausted from doing nothing except sitting and doing worksheets all morning. His class would do upwards of 10-12 worksheets, front and back, per day. No recess, no snack time, no play time, just worksheets. Some parents can handle this, but I want to see my son enjoying school, and that never happened while he was at Painted Rock.


Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
WE NEED SMALLER CLASS SIZES. tHIS WAS ONE REASON I CHOOSE PAINTED ROCK. NEED MORE TIME FOR P.E.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Painted Rock Academy's teachers and students are amazing! Thanks to their efforts, we have earned "A" ratings from the AZ Dept. of Education. It's a joy to work with such great kids and dedicated, creative teachers. If you are looking for a rigorous academic curriculum that also includes Art, Music, P.E., Spanish, and Technology classes, you will find we have all that here. We believe in individual student accountability, and we welcome parent involvement. Our teachers are nurturing, and we make sure to maintain a safe school for your child. We have high academic and behavior expectations for the students, and the kids are happy to rise to the challenge. Past students from Reid Traditional Schools have a history of success in advanced Honors, AP, and IB high school classes. A strong traditional foundation (including instruction in phonics, memorized math facts, handwriting, algebra, history, grammar, classical literature, and critical thinking) sets the stage for future achievement. We are enrolling students now for the current school year, so come visit me at Painted Rock Academy and learn how we can help meet your family's education goals.
Posted October 09, 2014

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools
14800 N. 25th Dr, Phoenix, AZ  85023
(623) 466-8855
Last modified Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Painted Rock Academy - Reid Traditional Schools Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top