Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

David Crockett School

Public | PK-6 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2013

School has a new Principal who is a true leader. Teachers are working very, very hard to get their students where they need to be....they go the extra mile to achieve their goals and some of teachers stay late to get ready for the next day, regardless of their own families....These are the teachers who were born to be teachers...they are exceptional, dedicated! They believe in their students! Last but not least, Kids are great, they have huge potential! Keep it up Crockett!


Posted September 7, 2012

This school has lost a great deal of community and welcoming parents. Kids must be dropped off and parents not allowed on campus unless we are invited to events. I withdrew my honor student from here because my boy was being bullied and he told me he didn't want to hear it any more. He now goes to a neighborhing school and is very happy and administration supports and listens to parents. New principle at Crockett doesn't care, just puts on a face. Teachers are so hard working and strong programs. Some company is help run the school I heard since the principle let his other school fail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

Teachers at this school are dedicated to helping children. Administration at this school is determined that kids should enjoy school and learn lots of material!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 9, 2009

As a previous employer, I rate Crockett very high in my career so far. I have been at two other schools, and nothing compares to the warmth, community, and commitment that the staff and administration. My current school is filled with teachers who are crusty and bossy, have very big egos. Crockett wants parents to be involved and share their commitment to children. I love Crockett, I'm so sad that I'm not there anymore.


Posted January 13, 2006

I am happy with this shcool, the teachers, and the administration. My son is doing so well. I believe that the education of our kids takes the teachers, the students and the parents to achieve the best outcome. Crockett is a great school. I hope more parents get involved. Our kids are only this age once.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

Not too bad of a school. Neighborhood is older but the students are good kids and this school has great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

School has come out of underperforming and has a lot of good reading programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

This school is wonderful, especially compared to similar socioeconomic schools. The administration is responsive, the teachers highly trained and caring, and the other students seem to really learn and care about their learning at this school. At any time you can go into a classroom, even on a Friday afternoon, and witness real learning. There are so many opportunities for students to get involved and succeed. I highly recommend this school to all K-8 students. My only concern is that more parents should get involved.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Underperforming".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 42%
Black 26% 5%
White 7% 42%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 629-6604

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 N 36th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85008
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 629-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gateway School
Phoenix, AZ


Starshine Academy
Phoenix, AZ




Balsz School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT