Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deer Valley Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 750 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2013

Im a Student At Dvms, A Seventh Grader. It's A Nice Looking Place With Friendly Teathers And Staff But Soon I Realized That This School Isn't The Safest, This Year They Took It To Extremes And Got A Police Officer To Guard The School, Both After Hours And Before Hours He/She Is Always There... Now You Should Feel Safe Right? To Me It Just Spells How Bad The School Is. The Student Aren't Better Either. The Cuss And Talk About Things Like Drugs (Mainly The Boys) Of Coarse They Don't Do It But Still They Talk. They Do Stuff They Wouldn't At Home, I Would Advise Parents To Ask Your Child A Few Questions Cause They Are Not Any Better. Another Thing Is Students Are All About Relationships And Dating, At This Young? They Ignore The Rules, While Doing It Behind The Teachers Back, But Of Coarse The Teachers Don't Notice It Cause There Priceless Students Wouldn't Do That. But The Learning Is Great Every Teacher Has There Own Way Of Teaching Making It Easier To Learn, When In Advanced (Like I'm In) They Will Give Excessive Amounts Of Homework Were It's Hard To Keep Up With Grades, Like Really Hard, Overall It's A Two For Me.


Posted December 12, 2012

I am very dissatisfied with the level of professionalism by the leaders of the school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

it is a good school with supportive teachers and staff. The principle encourages students to reach their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

I teach Band, Choir, and Guitar at DVMS. I can honestly say that I love the staff and the leadership. The kids show great heart and have a desire to be involved. I wouldn't want to work anywhere else!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

Safe enviroment for my child. Lots of top learning opportunities for each level that a child can accomplish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

Liked the school. I had a fun time learning about all sorts of things. PE is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2009

The counseling office is wonderful and engaged. There are a few good teachers, but some of them are not only inadequate, but the opposite of nuturing. It seems like the teachers are blaming the kids for their lack of being able to control the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

This is a wonderful school! My daughter entered this school on the 7th grade. Every girl excepted her and treated her well. Within the first month, she was getting good grades and spending time with her new friends. I really appreciate every teacher in this school who volunteers to help children. Teachers will stay hours and hours after school to help tutor. Parents and facaulty get really involved into after school activity and dance. If you EVER need to find a good school for your kids, and your new to this school district, this is the school to pick!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

this school has taken a turn 4 the better i think if your trying to find a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

Coming to school here has really changed my opinion about junior high. I thought that it would be a new start coming to a new school but it's not what you would expect. This school doesn't have the clubs you want to join, it doens't have orchestra, and you can't choose the electives that you want to be in. There isn't even a Spanish class or scultping class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2006

this school might appear great but they are behind.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2006

I was a student at Deer Valley Middle and it opened my eyes up to the real world. I still can't believe that after all this time I remember which class I was in 2nd hour and how the staff treated like a real friend. I admit that I spent most of my time in the library, but that doesn't change the fact that I learned. I just wanted to thank the school and staff for all that they did for me. I am now a Sophmore in High School and I attend Barry Goldwater, but no matter what I won't forget the good times......Samantha Pruitt
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 24, 2006

The school is strict in some ways. They do try to resolve conflicts on a secretive basis. They also have 'Agenda's' which help kids to try to do their homework and bring in required materials for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

Deer valley middle school has great teachers and programs. The school might not be in the greatest shape but overall I would reccomend this school to any parent thinking about sending their child to this school for grades 7-8.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2005

I attended this school for 7th and 8th grade. The school is okay and provides classes for students with learning disabilities and for the higher achievers. The staff at this school was friendly. Report cards are issued four times per year. In between report cards, numerous amount of progress reports are handed out to students for their parents to sign. As for classes, there are Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. You usually have to take P.E, but you can take band or chorus instead if you'd like. There are also electives in which the students don't choose. There are 4 electives per year. Some include Outdoors and AZ, Computers, Tech Explore, Stage Production and Current events. As for activites, you can join sports (Cross Country, Softball, Basketball, etc) or you can join clubs such as Drama.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2005

ok school but a dirty school overall.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 2, 2005

OK school but do not send student to BGHS for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

Deer Valley Middle School, in my opinion has completely gone downhill in the the last few years. Their core groups while well intended at one time, have actually reduced the quality of education for certain students. Reduced funding is often blamed. However, I'm not paying any less taxes. During parent/teacher conferences, even the teachers seemed to be venting frustration about large class sizes, innadequate prep time and even anger toward an administration they felt was apathetic toward their needs. During the 8th grade, my daughter had two classes with over 35 students in them. The Vice Principal attributed the oversizing to 'faculty re-assignment' and assured us they would 'level' the classes for second semester. This was only addressed after we made many many calls to the district office complaining about it. Who by the way are very skilled at stringing parents along. Anybody wanting additional info, may contact me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

I think there needs to be a lot more participations by Administratin, teachers and parents alike so that children can go off to school feeling as though they are going to have an enjoyable experience, learn and feel safe. I don't many of the teachers want to get involved beyond teaching the subject they teach, and i feel as though they chose their profession and should sometimes help children in a more positive manner. I don't feel the Administration gets back to parents in a timely fashion when a parent has concerns about something acedemic or tramatic that may be going on with their child. The safety of our children is very important and i don't think nearly enouch emphasis is being put this. Extracurricular activities appear to be adequate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

An outstanding middle school with an excellent teaching staff and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 40% 43%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Phoenix Point of Pride
  • Spiritline 3rd Place National Competition
  • Onward to Excellence $150,000.00 Grant

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Lynn Miller
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (623) 445-3380

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • *ptsa *campus improvement team *principal's advisory council
More from this school
  • *DVMS has a technology rich environment.That includes computers, video-editing,school wide tv network. *DVMS is an Accelerated Reader School. *DVMS offers a competetive atheletic program at the middle level.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21100 North 27th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85027
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Atonement Lutheran
Glendale, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT