Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 743

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Deer Valley Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a community member
I'm a freshman now, and I went to DVMS for 7th and 8th grade. This is a wonderful school! The teachers really are there for you if you have any problems, personally or academically, and not just for those "popular kids". They really do care about all the students as long as you're willing to cooperate, and they take time to figure out what's wrong and how you can improve. The work isn't too hard, even if you're in advanced classes like I was, and they don't give much homework, which is expected in middle school. The lessons are typically engaging and easy to understand if your really pay attention. It really is a close-knit school. I know a lot of kids complain there's too much work or the teachers suck, but those are the kids not actually trying. I wouldn't rate this school beyond 5 stars if I could.

Deer Valley Middle School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
ITS A GREAT SCHOOL YOU SHOULD ATTEND the teachers are wonderful no drugs thank goodness


Deer Valley Middle School 2

Posted September 19, 2013
- a community member
Im a Student At Dvms, A Seventh Grader. It's A Nice Looking Place With Friendly Teathers And Staff But Soon I Realized That This School Isn't The Safest, This Year They Took It To Extremes And Got A Police Officer To Guard The School, Both After Hours And Before Hours He/She Is Always There... Now You Should Feel Safe Right? To Me It Just Spells How Bad The School Is. The Student Aren't Better Either. The Cuss And Talk About Things Like Drugs (Mainly The Boys) Of Coarse They Don't Do It But Still They Talk. They Do Stuff They Wouldn't At Home, I Would Advise Parents To Ask Your Child A Few Questions Cause They Are Not Any Better. Another Thing Is Students Are All About Relationships And Dating, At This Young? They Ignore The Rules, While Doing It Behind The Teachers Back, But Of Coarse The Teachers Don't Notice It Cause There Priceless Students Wouldn't Do That. But The Learning Is Great Every Teacher Has There Own Way Of Teaching Making It Easier To Learn, When In Advanced (Like I'm In) They Will Give Excessive Amounts Of Homework Were It's Hard To Keep Up With Grades, Like Really Hard, Overall It's A Two For Me.

Deer Valley Middle School 1

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
I am very dissatisfied with the level of professionalism by the leaders of the school staff.

Deer Valley Middle School 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a parent
it is a good school with supportive teachers and staff. The principle encourages students to reach their full potential.


Deer Valley Middle School 4

Posted September 12, 2011
- a teacher
I teach Band, Choir, and Guitar at DVMS. I can honestly say that I love the staff and the leadership. The kids show great heart and have a desire to be involved. I wouldn't want to work anywhere else!

Deer Valley Middle School 2

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Safe enviroment for my child. Lots of top learning opportunities for each level that a child can accomplish.

Deer Valley Middle School 2

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Deer Valley Middle School 4

Posted June 30, 2009
- a student
Liked the school. I had a fun time learning about all sorts of things. PE is the best!

Deer Valley Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2009
- a parent
The counseling office is wonderful and engaged. There are a few good teachers, but some of them are not only inadequate, but the opposite of nuturing. It seems like the teachers are blaming the kids for their lack of being able to control the classroom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deer Valley Middle School
21100 North 27th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ  85027
(623) 445-5000
Last modified Deer Valley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Deer Valley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top