Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deer Valley Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
a thank you? oh heck no. i have other word for them and thanks isn't one of them.

Deer Valley Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
effective not at all, detention is the only solution they know, and i as a parent don't find out about any issues until he has hit on a 2-3 day suspension. if the teachers did the job, i assure you this issue would have been taken care of long before a suspension.


Deer Valley Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
my son is an A student, maybe twice he has done homework at home. what homework? my kid just isn't that smart were he doesn't need to study, ever.

Deer Valley Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
this school has misfired on all cylinders. determination, yes. my son is determined to get as far away from this school as possible. at all cost

Deer Valley Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
this school RESPECT? oh get real. my son has not had a moment of respect from this school.


Deer Valley Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
once again you have to have compassion, caring and empathy in ones self before you can teach it.

Deer Valley Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
simply put, they don't develop honesty, integrity, and fairness. you have to have those qualities in yourself before you can teach it.

Deer Valley Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a community member
I'm a freshman now, and I went to DVMS for 7th and 8th grade. This is a wonderful school! The teachers really are there for you if you have any problems, personally or academically, and not just for those "popular kids". They really do care about all the students as long as you're willing to cooperate, and they take time to figure out what's wrong and how you can improve. The work isn't too hard, even if you're in advanced classes like I was, and they don't give much homework, which is expected in middle school. The lessons are typically engaging and easy to understand if your really pay attention. It really is a close-knit school. I know a lot of kids complain there's too much work or the teachers suck, but those are the kids not actually trying. I wouldn't rate this school beyond 5 stars if I could.


Deer Valley Middle School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
ITS A GREAT SCHOOL YOU SHOULD ATTEND the teachers are wonderful no drugs thank goodness

Deer Valley Middle School 2

Posted September 19, 2013
- a community member
Im a Student At Dvms, A Seventh Grader. It's A Nice Looking Place With Friendly Teathers And Staff But Soon I Realized That This School Isn't The Safest, This Year They Took It To Extremes And Got A Police Officer To Guard The School, Both After Hours And Before Hours He/She Is Always There... Now You Should Feel Safe Right? To Me It Just Spells How Bad The School Is. The Student Aren't Better Either. The Cuss And Talk About Things Like Drugs (Mainly The Boys) Of Coarse They Don't Do It But Still They Talk. They Do Stuff They Wouldn't At Home, I Would Advise Parents To Ask Your Child A Few Questions Cause They Are Not Any Better. Another Thing Is Students Are All About Relationships And Dating, At This Young? They Ignore The Rules, While Doing It Behind The Teachers Back, But Of Coarse The Teachers Don't Notice It Cause There Priceless Students Wouldn't Do That. But The Learning Is Great Every Teacher Has There Own Way Of Teaching Making It Easier To Learn, When In Advanced (Like I'm In) They Will Give Excessive Amounts Of Homework Were It's Hard To Keep Up With Grades, Like Really Hard, Overall It's A Two For Me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deer Valley Middle School
21100 North 27th Ave, Phoenix, AZ  85027
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (623) 445-5000
Last modified Deer Valley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top