Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deer Valley Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a community member
I'm a freshman now, and I went to DVMS for 7th and 8th grade. This is a wonderful school! The teachers really are there for you if you have any problems, personally or academically, and not just for those "popular kids". They really do care about all the students as long as you're willing to cooperate, and they take time to figure out what's wrong and how you can improve. The work isn't too hard, even if you're in advanced classes like I was, and they don't give much homework, which is expected in middle school. The lessons are typically engaging and easy to understand if your really pay attention. It really is a close-knit school. I know a lot of kids complain there's too much work or the teachers suck, but those are the kids not actually trying. I wouldn't rate this school beyond 5 stars if I could.

Deer Valley Middle School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
ITS A GREAT SCHOOL YOU SHOULD ATTEND the teachers are wonderful no drugs thank goodness


Deer Valley Middle School 2

Posted September 19, 2013
- a community member
Im a Student At Dvms, A Seventh Grader. It's A Nice Looking Place With Friendly Teathers And Staff But Soon I Realized That This School Isn't The Safest, This Year They Took It To Extremes And Got A Police Officer To Guard The School, Both After Hours And Before Hours He/She Is Always There... Now You Should Feel Safe Right? To Me It Just Spells How Bad The School Is. The Student Aren't Better Either. The Cuss And Talk About Things Like Drugs (Mainly The Boys) Of Coarse They Don't Do It But Still They Talk. They Do Stuff They Wouldn't At Home, I Would Advise Parents To Ask Your Child A Few Questions Cause They Are Not Any Better. Another Thing Is Students Are All About Relationships And Dating, At This Young? They Ignore The Rules, While Doing It Behind The Teachers Back, But Of Coarse The Teachers Don't Notice It Cause There Priceless Students Wouldn't Do That. But The Learning Is Great Every Teacher Has There Own Way Of Teaching Making It Easier To Learn, When In Advanced (Like I'm In) They Will Give Excessive Amounts Of Homework Were It's Hard To Keep Up With Grades, Like Really Hard, Overall It's A Two For Me.

Deer Valley Middle School 1

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
I am very dissatisfied with the level of professionalism by the leaders of the school staff.

Deer Valley Middle School 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a parent
it is a good school with supportive teachers and staff. The principle encourages students to reach their full potential.


Deer Valley Middle School 4

Posted September 12, 2011
- a teacher
I teach Band, Choir, and Guitar at DVMS. I can honestly say that I love the staff and the leadership. The kids show great heart and have a desire to be involved. I wouldn't want to work anywhere else!

Deer Valley Middle School 2

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Safe enviroment for my child. Lots of top learning opportunities for each level that a child can accomplish.

Deer Valley Middle School 4

Posted June 30, 2009
- a student
Liked the school. I had a fun time learning about all sorts of things. PE is the best!


Deer Valley Middle School
no rating

Posted April 23, 2009
- a parent
The counseling office is wonderful and engaged. There are a few good teachers, but some of them are not only inadequate, but the opposite of nuturing. It seems like the teachers are blaming the kids for their lack of being able to control the classroom.

Deer Valley Middle School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school! My daughter entered this school on the 7th grade. Every girl excepted her and treated her well. Within the first month, she was getting good grades and spending time with her new friends. I really appreciate every teacher in this school who volunteers to help children. Teachers will stay hours and hours after school to help tutor. Parents and facaulty get really involved into after school activity and dance. If you EVER need to find a good school for your kids, and your new to this school district, this is the school to pick!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deer Valley Middle School
21100 North 27th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ  85027
(623) 445-5000
Last modified Deer Valley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Deer Valley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top