Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Paideia Academy of South Phoenix
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 15, 2016
- a parent
effective in teaching at the low standards that the school has, but not effective in challenging the student to excell

Paideia Academy of South Phoenix 2

Posted July 15, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended Paideia for three years. I loved the ideals that the school has, but the execution and performance do not stack up. I kept my daughter there because each year I hoped it would get better. But the ideals are not enough when the school is a failing school and has lost it's accreditation. The education is taught and geared towards the under-performing children, which brings the brighter children down to under-performers as well. Do not send you child there if you truely value academics and you childs education future. If you're just looking for a nice building with nice people, go for it. Sad but true.


Paideia Academy of South Phoenix
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted July 15, 2016
- a parent
the core values of the school are great, but academic performance is below average, even for the area

Paideia Academy of South Phoenix 1

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
Lowest test scores in the area.....not much more to say except for the high turnover in staff. Will not be attending next year.

Paideia Academy of South Phoenix
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
7 Habits allows the school to develop leadership and take ownership for their actions without being penalized.


Paideia Academy of South Phoenix 5

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
In regards to the 4th grade teacher, she did go over the instructions in class with the way the teacher was to explain it. It was reinforced on the website because the teacher was nice enough to offer that for the parents. Realize parents that you are your child's first teacher and it still is your job to assist your child with homework. As far as class dojo, it actually requires no extra teacher time so as far as not getting to content, that has nothing to do with Class Dojo. It is a behavior management system just like any other requiring the same amount of time, however parents are allowed to see how their child is doing throughout the day and use it because teachers can respond at all hours through their smart phones. Don't knock something you don't know anything about. Lastly this school is the best school for your child if you want your child to have a rigorous education with teachers who are less focused on grades and more focused the learning. Forget get grades and get focused on learning. Good luck at those other schools that say your child is artificially intelligent then can't pass the SAT because their "Great School" gives them an "A or B."

Paideia Academy of South Phoenix 5

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
The principles taught to all three of my children (Kinder, 2nd, 3rd) are principles that will carry them through out education and beyond. Dr. Winsor has truly found the key to success that far exceeds the tradition public schools take on education. I would highly recommend Paideia to all parents in the area.

Paideia Academy of South Phoenix
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
The use of the app ClassDojo is amazing this allows me to have a peek at what is going on in class, and how my children are behaving, the teachers are in constant contact with me as a parent, which allows me to breath a little easier during my day. Miss Jones (Kinder) has been so attentive to my son and his growth as the first day was not the greatest for those that have Kinder students, lots of tears and fears for both parents and students. My daughter (3rd grade) was recognize early on for her leadership skills which shows how well teachers are able to engage with students


Paideia Academy of South Phoenix
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
The start of each morning is unlike any other school I have experience students begin there day by motivating each other and themselves. I encourage you to YouTube Paideia morning routine you will be amazed.

Paideia Academy of South Phoenix
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
My child (Kinder) was recognized early on for his help in problem solving on the playground. This is not an easy task when children are playing at recess, so to have someone acknowledge his effort was great to hear.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paideia Academy of South Phoenix
7777 S 15th Terrace, Phoenix, AZ  85042
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (602) 343-3040
Last modified Paideia Academy of South Phoenix is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top