Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
Archway North Phoenix is the best school my son has ever attended. We have traveled extensively and he has attended many schools. This school has the most dedicated and friendly team. The feeling within the school is one of dedication, care and professionalism. Both his teachers are fully committed to supporting, guiding and teaching our son who goes to school with a happy and willing to learn attitude. Thank you Archway North Phoenix!

Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Thank you for making this school great and staying on top of school's and student's needs. Teacher, Student/Parent participation is very important in school's and student's success.


Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Great school, great facility and teachers. Students are well behaved and follow school rules. Kids show great interest in academic participation and educational experience with their fellow students and teachers. Great improvements over the last few years.

Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Great school, great faculty and great environment for children to learn and grow. We hope the school and teachers keep up the good work of providing the best education and learning environment for the children.

Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep 5

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
After researching every school in AZ, I am so glad I chose Archway North Phoenix. I have 2 kids here (K & 2nd). Both are doing great, which is a result of the amazing, loving, invested teachers. Yes it is academically rigorous, but they teach up to EVERY child, and give tutoring when needed. Lots of individual attention with a full-time and assistant teacher per class. Students also have classes 2/week (with a specialized teacher) in Music, French, Art, and P.E. They offer after-school sports and clubs like running, choir, astronomy, chess, recorder, soccer, basketball, flag football, drawing, drama. Teaching is based on the Socratic method so students are engaged and interact with the teacher. I also like that they give comprehensive written evaluations, not just a letter grade, and grade as much on "depth of inquiry and sense of wonder" as on proficiency. Great activities and field trips with parent chaperones, including, the zoo, AZ Science Center, The Nutcracker, farms, horse ranch, symphony performance at the school, movie nights, plays, Greek Olympic competition, etc. The school emphasizes honesty, integrity, humility, courage, perseverance, friendship - and it shows.


Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep 5

Posted December 26, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at Archway, and we are thrilled! Previously, my daughter was at a highly rated traditional public school in Scottsdale. We were frustrated, because her performance was mediocre, but it didn't seem as though she was adequately challenged. She is in second grade, and the work at Archway is leap and bounds above what we were seeing from her last year. There is quite a bit more homework, but it seems to give family time a little more substance! I enjoy reading with her as the required material is classical and substantive. The poetry memorization is beyond my expectations, and my daughter has mastered all of the memorization assignments. In addition to the academics she is learning values and responsibility. I can't ever imagine going back to traditional school.

Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
Very impressed. Finally found a school for my son where he can be challenged to excel. Since emigrating from England, this is the first school I've encountered where I've thought that the level of the lessons are age-appropriate. The general academic level of teaching at every other school we've looked at (and tried) in Phoenix is very poor, being about 1-2 years too low per grade compared to an equivalent European education.

Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
We have been very happy with the school. our son came from public school and adjusted very well. Teachers are great and helpful. Discipline is required and expected, and kids get used to that quickly. Curriculum is challenging, but my son is so interested in everything they did in history or science, that it has not been a burden at all.


Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep 4

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
Since coming from public school to North Phoenix Prep our whole family is very pleased. My daughter is challenged and receiving A's and a couple B's and has adjusted nicely. Everyone at this school has always been positive, caring and respectful. I have yet to hear anything negative come from any of the teacher's mouths. I am particularly impressed with how organized the school is especially for it being their first year. I would have given the school 5 stars if there was a music and drama program and some playground equipment. Other than that I am blessed to have all 3 children between Archway North Phoenix and N. Phoenix Prep.

Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
I am so grateful for NPPA and their wonderful environment. The teachers are fantastic! The personal attention my child receives both in and out of class is incredible. These teachers give so much of their time providing before and after school tutoring. It is a challenging curriculum but any child who is willing to work hard and take on a challenge can be successful at NPPA. The headmaster is very hands on and is quick to address concerns that arise. Additionally, the parent community is active. The character of the school is outstanding. Academically there is no comparison to our previous school as NPPA is far superior.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep
13613 N Cave Creek Rd., Phoenix, AZ  85022
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (602) 996-4355
Last modified Great Hearts Academies - North Phoenix Prep is a Charter school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top