Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Cove Elementary School 1

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
After being part of the community for several years we are horrified by blatant disregard and involvement of school administration when it comes to bullying related incidents. What a disappointment! On the surface it all looks well managed but there are some major issues

Desert Cove Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
The parents community has always been supportive, even more than the actual leadership and teachers


Desert Cove Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Students are not held accountable for their actions. It is disheartening to see how the school has rapidly deteriorated in the past few years.

Desert Cove Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Great teachers and support staff. Most staff readily available to speak with and most issues are resolved immediately. Fun school events throughout the year.

Desert Cove Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Smith, Ms. Coffey, Mr. Walker and Ms. Williams have been absolutely wonderful!!! Thank you so much for all of your dedication and time!


Desert Cove Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Moving from Oregon was a concern for me since Arizona is known to have lower school academics, but DC made the transition smooth for my children. Both of my children have attended DC since we moved here in 2012. They have loved their teachers and I have been very happy with their teachers and the communication about my children from the staff. The principal is great with the kids and seems to truly care about their education. I would highly recommend DC. I'm very surprised DC is rated only a 6 out of 10 on this site! -Proud parent of two Desert Cove children

Desert Cove Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
2 of my 3 kids go here and it is truly a well run institution

Desert Cove Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2014
- a parent
My son has been going here for 2 years now and I love everything about this school. It has been a very positive experience for us both and Principal Lanese seems to genuinely care about all of the students.


Desert Cove Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
The Self-Contained Gifted Program at DCES is stellar. Mr. Lanes is an amazing leader and the kids learn all the right values here

Desert Cove Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
Desert Cove has been amazing for my child, who is now going into 4th grade. I have another starting K in the fall. We moved to the area from Scottsdale schools, and I have found the principal, teachers, and all staff to be more involved, more considerate of the students' needs, and more attentive than the "best" schools in Scottsdale (which my older kids attended). The level of parent involvement is great, and I find the activities hosted by the PTO to be outstanding and well-attended. I would recommend this school to any and all of my family & friends!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Cove Elementary School
11020 North 28th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85028
(602) 449-3400
Last modified Desert Cove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desert Cove Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. Top