Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-12
Public charter
Phoenix, AZ
 

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


BASIS Phoenix 2

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
It's good to see the truth about this school finally coming out. Teachers are supposedly "experts" in their fields, but hardly any are actually capable of teaching the material. The administration is terrible unorganized is an understatement and inexperienced when it comes to running a school. The homework load wouldn't be so bad if the kids were taught the material better, but instead they fight their way through it, trying to learn it on their own. Their grades ultimately depend on passing the AP tests, but it's hard to pass when you're not well prepared. The office/administration cannot relate to children and they are rude, condescending and demeaning. If your child is not totally gifted and innately brilliant, this school will not be for them and they will be weeded harshly out.
1 person found this helpful

BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
My son is a freshman in Basis. He started from 7 th grade. He was in public top rated school from K to 6. He was in gifted program in 5,6 grade in public school. When he started 7 grade he had D's and C's first trimester. After that something has changed, he became one of the most improved students of the year. He is doing much better now. This school prepares you for colllege and professional schools In the future. This school does not dumb down your kids like other public schools do. This is a real deal. If you want your child to succed in the future and be able to go through college and be able to get in to most prestigious professional school stick with Basis. Problem of our society is that we want our kids to have fun while learning. I hate to disappoint you when you are in Medical, dental, law schools- learning is your job, you have to survive, you have to work hard. I love Basis. If most of our schools would have this curriculum we would not be looking to outsource high level professionals from different countries.
1 person found this helpful


BASIS Phoenix 2

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
For the over-achieving student, this school could be the right fit. The curriculum is rigorous and provides a great deal of challenge. Some teachers there are outstanding, while some aren't . The Saxon Math program is a great choice. They offer many AP classes and the teachers provide tutoring. They work extremely hard. The negatives are that they students are overloaded and overwhelmed. There is a great deal of rote memorization while missing the bigger concepts. There is no sports program, no gym, no library, and no cafeteria. But that's not the problem. Starting in 5th grade, the students are supposed to have about 2 hours of homework each night. However, there is an additional 1-2 hours of study and review time too. Adding sports or an extracurricular activity often results in late bedtime. School commences at 7.30 every morning for the lower grades. They have 20 minutes for lunch, leaving no time to play or decompress. All this can result in high stress environment for many students. Parents need to be aware that this is a high stress environment and see if this school is a good fit for their child.
4 people found this helpful

BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
This is a GREAT school! This is my child's 3rd year at this school and the teachers are for the most part dedicated, caring, hardworking individuals. At which school would you have the vice principal ("Director of Academic Programs") spend his own time tutoring a student in Math because a student was not understanding Math from the current teacher? Yes, it is difficult and not for every student but the average and above average student can do very well here and learn a lot. This school has fostered a love of learning which my student did not have in the prior private school. There is minimal bullying. Yes, the students work hard, but my 8th grader usually has 1-3 hours of homework a night and has never been up til midnight or even close.
4 people found this helpful

BASIS Phoenix 2

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
My gifted child attended 1 yr; 10% great, 30% good, 10% acceptable, and 50% bad teachers!;some pass packets to busy kids during class & assign HW to make up for her lack.Basis has way of weeding out kids that can't keep up; make it miserable til they leave. Hiring office employee to teach PE b/c he "has an interest in health" does not mk him expert in PE; some teachers use inapprop. lang w kids.; Rated R choices for Eng novels but teacher is friend of head of school so no consequence. Basis doesn't mk the kids smart; they market to smart kids' families. Homeschool a better option.
2 people found this helpful


BASIS Phoenix 3

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is fairly new in the Basis system, and although Basis Scottsdale and Tucson are ranked highly, this one is too new for that. Kind of riding the coat tails. Our experience is that the administration is extremely disorganized and inexperienced. Many people in charge are over their head and seem to lack leadership and common management skills. The school community is lacking too. Yes education is utmost, but also school is a community, and this school doesn't try to foster that at all. I'm not sure that this Basis Phx and any of the news ones will ever match up to Tucson and Scottsdale. Some of the teachers are excellent and some are terrible, but again, there seems to be no quality control in place to monitor teachers.
1 person found this helpful

BASIS Phoenix 1

Posted October 18, 2014
- a community member
This school is terrible. I'm all for getting a good education and learning. But the problem with Basis schools is they teach simply by just forcing their students to memorize a bunch of information that will be lost after they pass the test. They make learning something you dread. Learning should be fun. It should be taught in a way where students desire to come to school every day, eager to learn new material. At Basis this is not the case. Basis is more like a prison than a school. The homework load is way over the top. Basis has caused not only me, but so many other students overwhelming amounts of stress, low self esteem and depression. That is not ok. That is absolutely unacceptable for a school to cause a student to feel that way. Basis is also not a very friendly school either. Most of the people that work in the office are very harsh and often rude to students; this causes students to literally be afraid of some of the people that work in the offices. Also, a lot of teachers here can't teach at all. Sure they may be "experts" in their field but you have to be able to know how to teach children. I am very unhappy at this school and can't wait to leave.
8 people found this helpful

BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a community member
I am currently a freshman at Basis Phoenix. While the work may be tough, the teachers are amazing at explaining it all in a concise and easy to understand method making difficult topics more understandable. As for the students, the rigorous courses don't cut into fun as much as you would normally think. The smaller size of the student body leads to a closer and more personal interconnected web of friendship. The teachers, while not educated in a teaching degree, know wonders on their subjects and are incredibly dedicated and kind. It isn't very focused on extracurriculars and sports, but it is an amazing opportunity. The simple truth of the matter is, the people are wonderful and the morale is good, it simply takes a lot of hard work to make it here. I would recommend Basis Phoenix for anybody who loves to learn and is prepared for a couple hours of homework each night.
1 person found this helpful


BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
Basis Charter Schools are highly controversial. US NEWS places their high schools in the top 10, other educators strongly criticize them. BASIS has an almost missionary-like zeal for its educational method: HARD WORK: pour all resources into teaching, and demand two to four times as much effort from students as typical of public schools. No frills here, no computers nor even a library, no big play fields and very modest sports and extracurricular programs, who has time when taking all those serious courses? The serious student will do best here; others will transfer to high schools with more leisure time. The relative few who stay with it are well above the freshmen college level. The staff is dedicated to helping every student, but that may mean staying after school every night getting tutoring if the student is having difficulty learning. Teachers are expert in their subjects, but can vary in their ability to teach them; the teacher's are not drawn solely from those with teaching degrees. Teachers are paid more, and more is expected from them. Some areas are still turning over teachers, others have great ones. BASIS is good for the serious student. AP tests: tough!
2 people found this helpful

BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Coming from a private school experience with all three of our children, Basis is like getting a private school experience for free! The teachers are dedicated to the students success, and if help is needed they are there at every turn! There is a healthy, positive, peer pressure to do well academically and extra-curricular activities are available in every category! We are so thankful for this opportunity to truly prepare our child for the college experience and success not only academically, but in the real world!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

BASIS Phoenix
11850 N. 32nd St, Phoenix, AZ  85028
(602) 595-9870
Last modified BASIS Phoenix is a Charter school that serves grades 5-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
BASIS Phoenix Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top