Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
This is our first year at Basis Phoenix but we are extremely satisfied and impressed with the school and staff. The school with the leadership of Principal Petra Pajatas is outstanding, very organized. We all wish Ms Pajatas will stay forever. The teachers are experts in their fields and very very dedicated to teaching. The student body is great, most if not all of these kids are already gifted or above average and they are very very motivated. Of course the school is not for every kid, there will be kids that withdraw due to the challenging curriculum, but if the kids are motivated and with great parental support, you and your kid will love this school. Our daughter was in a gifted program and she attended supposedly the best Catholic school here in the state, but nothing was impressed us until we are here at Basis Phoenix. This is the even better than any private school. Our daughter has learned not the very advanced curriculum but also learn to be independent, and many necessary skills such as leadership, organization, and most importantly she loves school and loves learning. Love it so much, that our son is coming next year and we are here for the long run.

BASIS Phoenix
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Can't say enough about our Head of School... she's great. Happy to be part of the journey of Basis Phoenix first few years with Ms. Petjas at the helm. Hope she stays as long as my kids are there.


BASIS Phoenix
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
When I listen to my sons and their friends discussing Minecraft in the context of what they are learning at school, I am amazed by what they are learning. Physics, Chemistry, Ancient History, Latin.... everything they are learning pops out of them in everyday conversation. Their teachers are inspiring them and making lessons memorable.

BASIS Phoenix
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
If organized, it's really not too much. There's always one day a week when there are team practices, and no dinner plan and we're flying by the seat of our pants to get it all done, but it's not an oppressive amount, and the whole family is encouraged to be organized. It's good for everyone, and my three Basis students all get plenty of sleep and good grades.

BASIS Phoenix
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
The school does a great job of communicating goals to the students and making the educational journey one that is exciting to be on. Even with heavy study demands, the kids tend to understand that the ends justify the means. In my experience, they love what they are learning, and get excited when they can reference their lessons in out-of-school situations and understanding history and relating it to pop-culture. The majority of kids don't want to quit.


BASIS Phoenix
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
The students look up to their teachers as leaders, guides, and seniors. I have also seen evidence of great respect between the students while chaperoning school excursions.

BASIS Phoenix
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
As what appears to be the most multicultural school system in Arizona, they are doing a fabulous job of engendering a world outlook among their students of acceptance, not just tolerance. It's great.

BASIS Phoenix
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
This is the first school our son has not been bullied for being himself... a science loving, chemistry-chart spouting, black-hole theorizing fanatic. His friends are multicultural which gives him a global outlook through their family customs, and he learns fairness in sports and team activities.


BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
I have two children at Basis Phoenix. They have completely different learning styles, but they are both achieving fantastic results. They are inspired by their teachers who teach huge amounts of information and many manage to entertain as well. The list of extracurriculars is longer than any other school we've attended (5 in total) so there is something for everyone. The homework is not any more than other charter schools and Basis teaches organizational skills so that the kids can study independently. The Head of School is friendly, approachable and is clearly passionate about her role as ambassador of education. The whole campus is a reflection of her positive attitude. Go Basis!

BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
This is a wonderful school However it is not for every child The teachers are great and dedicated The principal is wonderful and knowledgable Our children are very happy here It is a lot of work and discipline but it is the way a great school should be

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

BASIS Phoenix
11850 N. 32nd St, Phoenix, AZ  85028
(602) 595-9870
Last modified BASIS Phoenix is a Charter school that serves grades 5-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
BASIS Phoenix Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. Top