Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-12
Public charter
Phoenix, AZ
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


BASIS Phoenix 4

Posted August 14, 2015
- a student
The school was of course vigorous and fast pace but contrary to popular belief kids still have time to be kids. In 5th grade the amount of homework takes time to get used to of course but about half way through the school year it took more like an hour or two every night to do homework. They have clubs but they do better with academics. The teachers are supportive but i know a few people who just felt to burnt out after their first year and left.which is understandable because of the difficulty of the courses. There are many different cultures in the school which is fun because you get to interact with all different types of people. The different social events and clubs have been improving and they offer an excellent strings and band elective. I hear people around me say that BASIS is for "smart" kids but really it's for anyone if they are willing to get some bad grades and spend long nights on homework and studying but end the end it pays off. They have a small library and a decent sized outdoor space. Many students think the school''s goal is to make you miserable or to weed out kids, at first I thought so too but from experience by the second year you learn to have fun and just put your best into it. there will always be at least one bad teacher anywhere you go but I've learned that just because a certain teacher doesn't teach well isn't an excuse for failing. And at the end of the day we're all just regular kids.

BASIS Phoenix 4

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is entering 6th grade at Basis Phoenix. It is likely this will be her last year. I can't really criticize the school though, academics are top notch, staff and teachers are very supportive, my kid learned so much in her first year. But it's just not for everyone. My daughter has the intellectual capacity to keep up, her grades are fine (As, Bs, one C) but she's just burnt out. She's not 100% nerdy, she has other interests than school, she's not really competitive when it comes to grades; she's made friends but doesn't feel like she quite fits in. We might go back to public school for junior high. But again, I'm not going to blame the school. We were looking for something more academically challenging than the joke that are honors programs in elementary public schools, and we definitely found what we were looking for. It might just be that my kid doesn't quite fit the profile. And that's ok, considering it is a specialty school.


BASIS Phoenix
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
It;s right between just right and too much. If your kid is very focused and efficient, it can be done in 60 to 90 minutes at 5tgh - 6th grade level. For mine, if she was just a bit tired, it could easily drag to 3 hours some nights.

BASIS Phoenix
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 20, 2015
- a student
Depending on the teacher it can be the best learning experience of your life or a struggle to comprehend.

BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
My child joined Basis after an unsatisfactory experience with a nearby comprehensive gifted program. Basis offers an exceptional curriculum. Basis also encourages the student to be independent and responsible. The administration is supportive of the students. However, Basis, with its advanced programs, fast pace, and heavy homework load, is not a good fit for every student and their families. It has excellent extra curricular programs including chess, sports, creative writing and more. It truly is an unmatched college preparatory program in this country. Well done, Basis.


BASIS Phoenix 1

Posted May 13, 2015
- a student
The worst experience I have had with any school; bar none. While the majority of the teachers are competent enough, some clearly do not know how to communicate with their students. Many children and adolescents alike feared going to certain classes, myself included. Making even one mistake often resulted in being yelled at, creating a terrible environment for those eager to learn. The office staff is completely disorganized, as well as rude on numerous occasions. I left the school over a year ago and am still trying to get my transcripts from them, which have been held hostage. Additionally, the principal forced me to enter a 3rd-year Spanish class with no prior knowledge and repeat the entirety of my Freshman year (Was a Sophmore at the time) because taking Spanish in summer school was, "not an option." As you can imagine, trying to juggle AP and Honors classes along with passing said advanced Spanish class was near-impossible at best. Claiming that such a task was feasible and that I'd "be fine" is lying and deceitful. They should be ashamed of themselves. Overall, only send your children there if test scores and grades are the only things that matter to you. Stay far away.

BASIS Phoenix 2

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
It's good to see the truth about this school finally coming out. Teachers are supposedly "experts" in their fields, but hardly any are actually capable of teaching the material. The administration is terrible unorganized is an understatement and inexperienced when it comes to running a school. The homework load wouldn't be so bad if the kids were taught the material better, but instead they fight their way through it, trying to learn it on their own. Their grades ultimately depend on passing the AP tests, but it's hard to pass when you're not well prepared. The office/administration cannot relate to children and they are rude, condescending and demeaning. If your child is not totally gifted and innately brilliant, this school will not be for them and they will be weeded harshly out.

BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
My son is a freshman in Basis. He started from 7 th grade. He was in public top rated school from K to 6. He was in gifted program in 5,6 grade in public school. When he started 7 grade he had D's and C's first trimester. After that something has changed, he became one of the most improved students of the year. He is doing much better now. This school prepares you for colllege and professional schools In the future. This school does not dumb down your kids like other public schools do. This is a real deal. If you want your child to succed in the future and be able to go through college and be able to get in to most prestigious professional school stick with Basis. Problem of our society is that we want our kids to have fun while learning. I hate to disappoint you when you are in Medical, dental, law schools- learning is your job, you have to survive, you have to work hard. I love Basis. If most of our schools would have this curriculum we would not be looking to outsource high level professionals from different countries.


BASIS Phoenix 2

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
For the over-achieving student, this school could be the right fit. The curriculum is rigorous and provides a great deal of challenge. Some teachers there are outstanding, while some aren't . The Saxon Math program is a great choice. They offer many AP classes and the teachers provide tutoring. They work extremely hard. The negatives are that they students are overloaded and overwhelmed. There is a great deal of rote memorization while missing the bigger concepts. There is no sports program, no gym, no library, and no cafeteria. But that's not the problem. Starting in 5th grade, the students are supposed to have about 2 hours of homework each night. However, there is an additional 1-2 hours of study and review time too. Adding sports or an extracurricular activity often results in late bedtime. School commences at 7.30 every morning for the lower grades. They have 20 minutes for lunch, leaving no time to play or decompress. All this can result in high stress environment for many students. Parents need to be aware that this is a high stress environment and see if this school is a good fit for their child.

BASIS Phoenix 5

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
This is a GREAT school! This is my child's 3rd year at this school and the teachers are for the most part dedicated, caring, hardworking individuals. At which school would you have the vice principal ("Director of Academic Programs") spend his own time tutoring a student in Math because a student was not understanding Math from the current teacher? Yes, it is difficult and not for every student but the average and above average student can do very well here and learn a lot. This school has fostered a love of learning which my student did not have in the prior private school. There is minimal bullying. Yes, the students work hard, but my 8th grader usually has 1-3 hours of homework a night and has never been up til midnight or even close.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

BASIS Phoenix
11850 N. 32nd St, Phoenix, AZ  85028
(602) 595-9870
Last modified BASIS Phoenix is a Charter school that serves grades 5-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
BASIS Phoenix Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. Top