Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Foothills Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 25, 2011

Are you athletic. or just a homework kind of kid? then df is the school for you. they have excellent staff advanced classes for the smart kids and a read 180 class for those who need extra help:). the cheer basketball ,wrestiling ,softball, volleyball and even more sports are excedding in everything as well . with the basketball team going to districs every year and winning and the cheer squad cheering them on. the cheer team goes to competition and the 8th grade squad ,,,,, the tostidos bowl . it is a blast and the teachers are awesome and not boring at all this is an amazing middle school to go to so dont put it off


Posted August 31, 2011

This school is fabulous! And for the 2011-2012 school year, it has progessed greatly! Instead of boring school work that the students could care less about, the teachers challenge the pupils in a fun, new way. The students who are coming back from the Washington Elementary schools are very welcoming to new kids. My daughter, coming from Deer Valley Unified School District, is only 3 weeks into school and has already made several dozens of friends. The learning process is advanced; Very comprehendable to the pupils, and much better then other districts. Don't hesitate to send your child to this school! You and your student will be very satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

This is my second child to attend DF. My daughter had nothing but problems from overbearing teachers that wanted to assert their position in life and try to rule with ridiculous rules and with an iron fist. Some teachers were very nice and she still talks about them to this day. Others were just non responsive...to my daughter and to me. Now my son is there with the same silly rules (read other reviews about book bags/back packs, no homework). A couple of his teachers are great. He looks forward to their classes because he knows they care. Others not so much. It's because of schools like DF that I understand why AZ is ranked 49th in the U.S. in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

Two words to describe this school. 'Hypersensitive & Paranoid' This school has the most ridicules rules that I feel has effected my daughter's education there. This school concerns itself more with restricting the use of things like bookbags in the name of safty. I feel that ridiculous rule is effecting the kids education. This school will not allow bookbags (Back Packs) and they do not provide lockers for the students. So because of this, the students do not bring home books. The school does not set up the kids for homework and home studies with this policy. This school has been doing this for years. How has this been going on for so long? I just do not get it. My daughter is in the last part of her 8th grade and I am worried about how it will be for her when she goes into Greenway High School and not have the proper preparation that she should have gotten in middle school. So now she will not have the homework and studying skills that she will need when she starts her Freshman year? The educators in this school district really need to look into this school's policies and rethink if this is really in the best interest for the students. Their learning and their safety. I just do not think so. If I was to do it over, I would have considered another school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

This is a great school and so far i've never gotten straight A's in elementary school and now i have them and i'm exceeding in P.E. a class which I don't like. Awesome school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2009

I enrolled my daughter into Desert Foothills for 7th grade when it was very late into the school year (there was only 2.5 weeks left) and she loved it. She said that her first day there was a good experience for her...From then on, she had met some really good guys and gals that will become potential friends as she makes her way into another school year there for 8th grade. Then she will get to know her teachers, classmates and the facilty! I believe this was the best decision I had made for her and her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

My son enrolled last year for the first time in this district. All his older siblings went to a different Jr high & high school. As this school is not overwhelmingly great, I will say it has a good mix of children. I realize that the budgets are what they are and more teaching staff is probably not going to be a possibility, but I do feel that accelerated courses should be highlighted. Most of the teachers that I was exposed to are caring as well as harried and you get what you put into the school experience. I had no clashes with staff, although there is still a year to go, I do not expect there to be any either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

My son attends this school, he excels just as he has done in the past, he takes responsibility for his actions. The teachers take accountability for their actions as well. I think parents should stop blaming the teachers and start making their children accountable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

Not bad but not the best. OK teachers and OK students. Not my favorite school in the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 27, 2008

Awesome new principal and assistant. They get the job done. Maintaining a safe campus is priority. Teaching staff dedicated group. This is best year yet. We have attended 5 of last 6 years with one more to go. My son really enjoys school and teachers. His entire outlook of school in general has dramatically improved and shows on report card with both class grades and behavior. DFH's ROCKS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

It is an excillent school to go to many extra curricular activities, keeps students active and has wonderful teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

Great school...teachers challenge students...they don't give out grade like the elementary schools...My husband and I are very happy with the administration and caring staff...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

Great school! Great Staff! Great new administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

This is a horrible school to me... i just started attending DF this year and i've only been here for at least 2 months and so far i have gotton all Bs and 2 Cs. When i was at my other school, Chaparral, i got all As and now im not getting good grades! And also there is alot of prepressure and the teacher or staff dont care! There are also alot of fight. So far for the monthes that ive been her there have been 3 fight and 2 fights were in the same day! Itf your new to this city i would not recomend this school to you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2008

Desert Foothills last year was a horrible school, teachers responded to parent involment with negative attitudes telling the parents it is not there responsibility to update them on the students success. I hope the new Principal and teachers can change the old ways and make this a positive year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

this school is the worst
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Desert Foothills is a terrific school. The teachers care about kids and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

I think Desert Foothills needs to take a moment to reorganize. The office staff is not very helpful or friendly. The way the parent teacher conferences are held does not allow time for the parent, teacher and student to talk about and assess the student's progress. The Teachers don't have time to focus onthe curriculum as needed due to a rushed schedule. I will not have my youngest attend Desert Foothills unless changes are made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

I think that desert foothills is a very nice school in some ways but in others it is not. I think the school should have more teachers out on duty at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

I think all of the classes are behind in the students education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3333 W Banff
Phoenix, AZ 85053
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 896-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT