Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Great Hearts Academies- Maryvale Prep

Charter | K-4 | 218 students

Our school is best known for loving every child and family.
 
 

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $42,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2014

This school is amazing! The Headmaster is wonderful. He is positive, kind, and always smiling. All of the staff and teachers have been amazing as well. I feel like my children are so much happier and their strengths academically are actually noticed by their teachers. If I had to talk about a negative, I would say that the pick up situation is a little rough,(getting better) but the teachers do their best. The other issue is that the "sanctuary" is in the neighboring church. They use this for meetings with parents and performances. I hope that this is only transitional, and that there will eventually be a performance center or something. This is not a religious school, and it feels like a conflict of interest to be "part of the church." Regardless of those two draw backs, my children are so happy and I drive 30 minute for them to attend. I am so excited they are a part of this school and hope eventually for more distinct separation from the church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

This school is a diamond in the rough. The teachers are phenomenal. The headmaster has a real talent in how to select amazing teachers. They are all so passionate, caring, kind, and understanding. I volunteer on campus and I have never seen anything but enthusiastic and compassionate teaching. I was so sick of the public school system and I was homeschooling my children. It was too overwhelming and I brought them back to school. I neede a school that would meet my standards when it comes to academics, diversity, extracurricular activities, and electives. MVP exceeded all my expectations. From the office staff, to the teachers, headmasters, parents, and children, we are truly one family. The school instills core virtues in their curriculum which teaches the kids to be honest, responsible, humble, courageous, wise, and to persevere, be great friends, and have integrity. Each class must do a community project so they are taught the importance of giving back to the community. Bullying not tolerated at all. Since there is so much teacher involvement it is stopped before it could even start. They have a highly effective discipline system. Best school in the entire state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Our school has a great school culture and helps students in academics and moral formation!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 27, 2013

I am very impressed with MVPA. My great-granddaughter started in kinder last year and is now in first grade. The school offer so many perks. They teach all academics including history, geography, science, music, art, PE and Spanish. They also teach an accelerated language arts and math from kinder up. They also offer before and after school programs for tutoring. Plus after school clubs and sports. The only thing that bothers me is that they insist the girls wear a very expensive skirt that is very strange looking as part of the uniform. They do not allow the better fitting skort for the girls with shapes that are not so slim. I think skirts are also a very bad idea for little girls to be wearing on a playground. The place that sells the uniforms is also in Tempe while the school is in Maryvale. Other than the uniform snafu this school is A+ in my book! The headmaster is awesome and very people orientated.


Posted October 24, 2013

My son has a great learning experience from this school. He came from public school where he wasn't good at reading but with the help and dedication from his teachers he improved by leaps. I would recommend this school to everyone that are looking for top notch education minus the private fees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

I absolutely love this school!! This school provides curriculum that goes above and beyond, they teach the core virtues that empowers the students to become life-long learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

I have 2 children that attend Maryvale Prep. I have had the BEST experiance with this school. The teachers and staff are friendly and are very passionate about what they do. I feel that my children are given the attention and tools they need to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

We love this school! Our son is in Kindergarten this year, and we could not be more excited about his teachers. They all have a great passion for their students and teaching, as does all the staff at the school. They really encourage parent involvement, and do a great job keeping parents informed weekly. I am very confident that our son will be getting a top notch education at Maryvale Prep!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

My son's school is Maryvale Prep and he thinks that is the most awesome school ever and I agree. He is now in 1st grade with the most wonderful teacher, she thinks outside the box to help her students stay engaged with their studies. This is second year and all the staff and students are outstanding. They care not just about the students, but also the familys and community. Our son is learning new things each and every day, as he says his brain in growing. We have found the school and staff that we had been praying for since my sons birth, Thank you Maryvale Prep
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

This is an awesome school my grand daughter loves her teachers and she has improved alot in all academic areas. The teachers at Maryvale Prep take the time to help my grand daughter whenever she's struggling in any subject and they're always willing to help her. Thank You all teachers, all your hard work is greatly appreciated. Maria T


Posted April 8, 2013

Maryvale Prep is everything I could ask and want in a school. My son has grown by leaps and bounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

Although this school has great teachers, leadership, and safe atmosphere, the academic program is too rigid, and leaves no room for differentiation. I would have given 5 stars if there were some mobility in Math and English. There is tremendous support for struggling students, but zero for advanced students. It is very unfortunate, as the this would have been a school for EVERYONE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

Maryvale Prep has done an excellent job targeting students growth and encouraging confidence and success in their students. My daughter has thrived at this school and is a grade level ahead because of the commitment her teacher, Ms. Cardona has placed on her academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2013

My daughter absolutely loves this school and her teachers. I am also very impressed by the school and teachers. When my daughter was struggling her teacher was quick to identify the problem and work on a solution. She is now doing so much better with the extra help provided to her and we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2013

We absolutely love Maryvale Preparatory Academy. We were looking for a school that had a more in-depth curriculum, that was more challenging for my children. Their previous school (charter) were catering more towards the kids that were more behind academically, the rest of the kids had to keep entertained instead ob being instructed. We found that in this school, and so much more. Core Knowledge, and Singapore Math are curriculums that are so complete to teach the children, that I can see the difference from the other curriculums. How they grasp concepts that seem more abstract and bring them home with such ease. They also have Spanish, Music, and PE every day (except on short-days), not just once a week. They kids absolutely love their teachers because they all are both, knowledgeable and caring, they are organized and structured, and I see how discipline it's such an important virtue they instill in them during their class time and also during their play time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2013

Maryvale Prep teachers are caring and compassionate about students and their development. The headmaster is highly visible and involved. Maryvale Prep adheres to its stated mission to prepare college ready students by vigorously maintaining its focus on academics and avoiding spending time on non-academic activities such as holiday celebrations. Students are held accountable for their behavior and taught the meaning of living a virtuous life. Finally, students and families are encouraged to get involved and support community by participating in carefully selected activites such as community clean-up day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

My granddaughter thinks this school is the greatest. I agree. The Headmaster is exuberant! Her teacher is excellent . The curriculum is challenging and seems to keep our 8 year old eager to learn. The extracurricular activities are topnotch. The music class and Spanish class are great and the P.E. class had her enjoying football and soccer and now basketball. This school is outstanding.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Drama club

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mac Esau
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • dial extension 2102 for the enrollment
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 889-6282

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Continuation
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Special education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Boys and Girls Club pick-up
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Drama club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Keyboarding Club
  • Papermaking Club
  • Sports Clubs
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our Mission Maryvale Prep prepares its students for college, a virtuous life, and leadership within their community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
218
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
395

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Notre Dame
Princeton
Harvard
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6301 W. Indian School Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85033
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 247-6095

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Westland School
Phoenix, AZ


Sunset School
Phoenix, AZ


Heatherbrae School
Phoenix, AZ


G. Frank Davidson
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT