Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fireside Elementary School

Public | PK-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

I am honored to be part of the team that teaches with the self-contained 1-2 teacher. She is the epitome of professionalism and class, even when faced with difficult parents. She is nationally recognized and is highly respected in the education community. She received a record number United Parent Council parent recommendation letters last year - 10 (which is almost half the class)! I would highly recommend this program and this teacher to anyone, and hope that parents who have problems will solve them in the proper forum (the school setting) rather than on the Internet.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted yesterday

Oh my goodness, I loved my son's 1/2 teacher and am very upset by the last post. My husband and I definitely do not agree and would highly recommend this program and school to anyone! I guess every teacher can't please anyone, but my son's teacher was wonderful. Highly highly highly recommend!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

I am curious - if the self-contained teacher is so bad, did you pull your daughter out? Because if not, it sounds like she wasn't as bad as you are saying, because a good parent wouldn't have let their child continue in this kind of setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2014

Beware of the self-contained gifted grade 1-2 teacher! She is a terrible teacher. She'll suck the love of learning out of your child. Children are told to not ask questions and ignored when the raise their hands for help. Kids who don't listen are punished harshly, criticized and shamed in front of the class. The only exception is if she knows the parent personally or professionally or if your child wins lots of awards, then she might be nice and actually help your child. She does not allow parents in the classroom. She will lie to your face repeatedly about what is going on. Trust your child. Many parents are afraid to speak up because they don't want their child to lose their spot in the self-contained gifted classroom. Believe me, no specialized education is worth subjecting your child to this teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2014

The school is new and pretty with all of the new school technology you want to see in a school. Maybe because it is a new school, it just doesn't seem to have all jelled together. Everything is by the book without allowing for kids to grow as individuals. You can find some "hidden gems" like the chorus program but there is little that doesn't cost a bucketload of money to entice students into before or after school. I admit some things annoyed me last year when my daughter tested very high into honors math, was moved into it without me knowing, and since it was part way into the year she wasn't given the instructions to catch up. The honors math teacher I assume was frustrated with her not immediately knowing what they were learning because she told my daughter when she asked a question "You should know this by now" My stubborn daughter (age 9) decided she didn't like the class and refused to do the work. She was sent back to her original class, and sat on top of the class with A's that didn't challenge her at all. All of this happened without me knowing and I only found out after in a conference. If there had been communication with me, I am sure I could have worked it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

We have been here from day one and love our school. We were concerned because we moved here to go to another school, then they built Fireside. Teachers and staff are all about a positive, healthy & caring learning environment. As a parent of a child who was being bullied. I found Mr. Davis & Ms. Jolie to be concerned and willing to make it a positive experience for all the children involved. I spoke & saw everyone from other parents, kiddos, teachers & staff everyone is knows everyone's name. I found it to be a place we're a child can learn and grow into a well rounded individual. 3 years and only getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

This was a highly touted school as it is new and just opened in 2012 and has a very clean new building with all the latest gadgets/technology and facilities for the students. It shows well from the outside. And probably caters well to those kids who follow directions blindly without curiosity. However, if your child is curious, high-energy, highly inquisitive, who is hands-on and likes to take things apart and put them back together, or social and verbal and very intelligent, this may not be a good fit. The culture is to develop and encourage robotic kids who blindly follow what the school hands down. In such an environment, it is highly unlikely that a parent will get the true feel of the culture as most parents are very busy and are just happy to let the school mold the kids. If you are a parent who is willing to see the erosion of your child's individuality and curiosity, then this maybe the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

The teachers are great & the school is beautiful....the principal & his assistant, not so much. Mrs Joley is the only point of contact at the school if you have any concerns. This is our second year at the school & Mr Davis has never returned any of my calls, only Ms Joley, to say "he is out of the office" and she can help me instead. I agree, he is silly & kind to the kids and he is visible after school, getting the kids in the cars...but in no way does he demonstate leadership qualities. My biggest concern is that EVERYTHING is considered "bullying", calls from the office, kids missing class, because one told the other he was better at a sport than the other one. I do think kids should be nice to each other and we should encourage that, but jeez, isn't there a way to say, "hey, that wasn't very nice, if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all"?? I don't think a child should EVER miss class unless they are disrupting class, period. I also wish they had after school sports for the kids that was funded by the district & didn't cost $100+ dollars for a 4 week session.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

We came to this school for the self-contained gifted program and in the primary grades it is excellent. The things they are doing with technology will blow you away! However, the self-contained kindergarten program is just terrible. The teacher has told us our child is not gifted and she gives piles and piles of busy work. With the rest of the program being so spot on, it's a shame that K is lacking so badly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

We are blessed to have our son in such a wonderful school. He adores his teachers and is learning so much wonderful information. Kindergarden with Mrs. Wolkis was amazing he still watches the video she made for the class. Mrs. Kapur this year is just as wonderful for first grade as they are using ipads in there class. Great program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

I am extremely pleased with every single staff member I've come in contact with at Fireside. My oldest just entered Kindergarten and we searched and searched for the school that would give her the best foundation for her upcoming school years. After looking at 5-6 different schools in the area, we decided on Fireside (even though it was just in the process of being built). We are so happy we did! I've yet to hear one negative comment about any of the Kinder teachers and her teacher is absolutely outstanding!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

LOVE LOVE this school. We have been impressed from day one with the teacher quality and leadership. Opening a new school can have its challenges, but the staff and administration has made it as smooth as possible. SPARK behavior using PBS is exactly what kids need. Catch em being good and reward like crazy. It works and helps them problem solve what to do next time if they mess up. STEM is a wonderful addition as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I love Fireside! We were at Wildfire for the past 5 years but made the change when they opened Fireside. We were nervous about making such a big change since we were so happy at Wildfire. It has been one of the best decisions we have ever made. My son's 3rd grade teacher, Mrs. T is wonderful! Caring, approachable and as my son says "sunny and happy". My daughter is in 6th grade and changes classes. I adore the 6th grade team and Mrs. Schenk is fabulous! She not only is a wonderful teacher but focuses on character and teamwork. The principal, Mr. Davis is very visible and wonderful with the students. He's not afraid to be silly and really get to know his kids. A very positive male role model for our children. The PE teacher motivates the kids to get active. The choir teacher is also loved by my children. My kids also attend the Mascot club after school. Michelle, the director is superb! I feel so lucky and blessed to have my children in such wonderful care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

This is its first year up and running and I couldn't be more happier! My daughter was just recently hospitalized for pneumonia and her 1st grade teacher took the time out to come and visit her during her stay, :)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3725 E. Love Cactus Drive
Phoenix, AZ 85050
Phone: (602) 449-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT