Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Horizon Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2014

The staff and principal at this school are very disrespectful the do not treat parents nor the students with respect. It's been 2months my child has been having a bullying problem and nothing has been done about it. The principal does not return any of our calls and the teacher is very ignorant. The front office are very rude. If you want your child to succeed and get the education they deserve do not bring them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

The front office has no respect for parents, they don't smile or greet anyone, they do not make anyone feel welcome, you walk in the office and they let you just stand their for a while before they acknowledge you are their.... and they show no respect for the students yelling at them and making them feel less important.The principal does not return any messages and is also very rude. I do not like nor appreciate the staff they have lost my respect . Next year my child will be attending a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

School needs teachers that care and staff that shows respect. Parents please have a talk with your child and let them know you are here for them. Teachers are not suppose to push kids around or put their hands on students. Yelling or arguing with students will not make a situation better. OUR CHILDREN ARE NO ANGELS but we need to show them better ways of solving a problem...at home we are their role models at school teachers n other staff are their role models...teach respect n u will earn respect. ..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

Mrs. Coronado, 2nd grade teacher, is a god sent. She has help my son reach the potential that my husband and I always knew he had in him. Thank you so much Mrs. Coronado your great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

My son has attended Desert Horizon for 4 years, (K-3rd) and I am pleased with his experience. The school has had many improvements. My only concern is the Jr. High age kids on campus. There are safety issues before and after school regarding the older kids. I understand that this is a complicated issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

The condition of the campus is improving with new fencing added including courtyards by the classrooms. The campus feels more secure. The discipline program is changing to include life skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

The teachers try hard with the quality of student that they have to work with however holding my child back because the rest of the class is slower is not fair, also I think that this school needs to develop a reward program for the children instead of just a negative one. And more school functions like plays concerts, carnivals and such would be nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

This school passes children who can t read or write. I have a seven year old who has gone from kindergarten to second grade. He still cannot read or write. They knew in kindergarten that he had a learning disability. To this day aug. 9, 2000 He still can t read or count. They just keep passing him. How can they say, they care this school has to be the worse ever! Their education programs are poor. The school programs are by far the worst i ever seen. Does the district care? I m embarrassed for the children of desert horizon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2004

Mrs. Cool the 1st grade teacher is wonderful! My kid id learning how to read and enjoying it! I have her to thank for so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2003

I think this school needs to protect our children more. Not just from drugs but other students as well. I had to transfer my children due to a situation on school grounds where there was no protection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2003

I think the teachers at this school really care about the kids. I think they devote a lot of time and energy to ensure that each child learns. They are always willing to listen to the comments and concerns of parents. The behavior of parents, on the other hand, when in attendance of school functions is absolutely horrible. They are disrespectful to the rest of the audience and are not supportive of the teachers. Parents need to learn a lesson from the students on how to behave in public place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2003

What this school is lacking is activities like school plays, social events, and an empowering discipline structure.


Posted October 15, 2002

We are still new the school and the area, but for the most part, it has been a positive change for my children. This will be our second full year at DH, and the one most thing that stands out in my mind, is the hard work and attention the special ed teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 84% 43%
White 7% 42%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 100%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (623) 873-4691

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8525 West Osborn Road
Phoenix, AZ 85037
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 772-2215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT