Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 962
Before care: No

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desert Horizon Elementary School 1

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
The staff and principal at this school are very disrespectful the do not treat parents nor the students with respect. It's been 2months my child has been having a bullying problem and nothing has been done about it. The principal does not return any of our calls and the teacher is very ignorant. The front office are very rude. If you want your child to succeed and get the education they deserve do not bring them here.

Desert Horizon Elementary School 3

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
The front office has no respect for parents, they don't smile or greet anyone, they do not make anyone feel welcome, you walk in the office and they let you just stand their for a while before they acknowledge you are their.... and they show no respect for the students yelling at them and making them feel less important.The principal does not return any messages and is also very rude. I do not like nor appreciate the staff they have lost my respect . Next year my child will be attending a different school.


Desert Horizon Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
School needs teachers that care and staff that shows respect. Parents please have a talk with your child and let them know you are here for them. Teachers are not suppose to push kids around or put their hands on students. Yelling or arguing with students will not make a situation better. OUR CHILDREN ARE NO ANGELS but we need to show them better ways of solving a problem...at home we are their role models at school teachers n other staff are their role models...teach respect n u will earn respect. ..

Desert Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
Mrs. Coronado, 2nd grade teacher, is a god sent. She has help my son reach the potential that my husband and I always knew he had in him. Thank you so much Mrs. Coronado your great!

Desert Horizon Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Desert Horizon Elementary School 4

Posted April 20, 2006
- a parent
My son has attended Desert Horizon for 4 years, (K-3rd) and I am pleased with his experience. The school has had many improvements. My only concern is the Jr. High age kids on campus. There are safety issues before and after school regarding the older kids. I understand that this is a complicated issue.

Desert Horizon Elementary School 2

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Desert Horizon Elementary School 3

Posted September 01, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Desert Horizon Elementary School 4

Posted August 08, 2005
- a parent
The condition of the campus is improving with new fencing added including courtyards by the classrooms. The campus feels more secure. The discipline program is changing to include life skills.

Desert Horizon Elementary School 3

Posted June 20, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Horizon Elementary School
8525 West Osborn Road, Phoenix, AZ  85037
Last modified Desert Horizon Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desert Horizon Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top