Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Trails Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
This highly depends on what teachers we are talking about. There is a whole array from simply awful to outstanding.

Desert Trails Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
Because of the excessive homework, children learn to hate school. When will schools learn to cut down on the homework?


Desert Trails Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
One of my child's teachers could not care less about children's feelings and did so many things to embarrass and hurt my child. This was one teacher who went into the wrong profession.

Desert Trails Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
Honesty and integrity have to come from the top - and that is certainly something lacking in this school.

Desert Trails Elementary School 2

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
The school principal is the main reason I am giving this school 2 stars. She buries her head in the sand and does nothing to resolve problems. She sticks up for bad teachers 100%. She has poor communications skills, is not approachable and it is obvious that she hasn't been in an administration position for very long. Most of the teachers are very good but there are a few who are not and there is nothing a parent can do about it.


Desert Trails Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Large is wonderful! My son's reading has greatly approved because of her and her extra help that she gives him. We are so happy she joined the Desert Trails Family!

Desert Trails Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 05, 2015
- a student
This is the second year my son has had Mrs. Cox. She is wonderful and creative in her teaching.

Desert Trails Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
We were a bit surprised by the poor review below. Our experiences with the 1/2 gifted class don t resemble that post. The class is great. The self-contained model is project-based learning, and in this class there is not a lot of homework. But gifted kids learn better that way. The amount of homework doesn t mean we don t know what s happening. We can log into our kid s online programs to see progress. In-class work is available on request. And there are weekly newsletters and near daily photo uploads. Parents are welcome to come into the class, and Mrs. Jones has been responsive and available to us outside of school. The principal usually responds within half an hour to email. Earlier in the year when a parent was concerned the principal called a parent meeting for the entire gifted program to address the issues. The earlier complaint with specials was that they are scheduled so that some of the special-needs kids were in the same class. After one family raised a concern about the specials, we understand that the principal and someone from the gifted office observed the classes. If there was an actual problem with the mixed classroom we re sure it would have been addressed.


Desert Trails Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
My child attends Desert Trails in the first/second grade gifted classroom. I know gifted classrooms don't resemble a "traditional" classroom and for that, I am thankful. The teacher facilitates opportunities for the students to learn and apply their knowledge through blogs, open houses, slideshows, and problem based learning activities. My child comes home excited about learning and the connections that they're making. They adore their teacher and it's obvious that the teacher cares a lot about her students. The administration is wonderful as well. I feel confident in her ability to lead a strong school. I would definitely recommend Desert Trails to any family.

Desert Trails Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
My child attends the 1st/2nd grade gifted class at Desert Trails Elementary. This will be our third year within the PVUSD gifted education program. We have been so impressed with this school, our child's teacher, and the program itself. The principal has been completely helpful The principal is supportive of her teachers, backing them completely with her care and concern. My child's teacher has exposed the children to various technology. I am impressed with how informed she keeps her parents, posting weekly classroom pictures of the children working, sends out weekly classroom letters, and has the children complete their homework online so the parents can view their progress. This teacher encourages students to expand their creativity while challenging them to the next level. This teacher truly understands what it takes to teach a gifted child as she ventures away from the worksheet practice and instead opens the minds of the children through various hands on projects. I have been to gifted conferences and the experts have reiterated that worksheet homework does not work for gifted children, and this is the first time I have actually seen it in action. A+ school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Trails Elementary School
4315 East Cashman Dr, Phoenix, AZ  85050
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (602) 449-4100
Last modified Desert Trails Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top