Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Vista High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2005

We love Desert Vista! It is a very large school and we were worried about that, but my freshman, daughter has had a fantastic year. There are a lot of opportunities for academics and extra-curricular activities. She has been involved in Speech and Debate (the best team in the state!) and Key Club. She says that it's so big that there aren't the clicks that you hear about in other schools. She has thrived here. We highly recommend this great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2004

I am new to the area and so far everything I have seen at the school has been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

As a parent of a Desert Vista student, I am happy with the academics at this school. Now, DV has the same student issues as most high schools today, however, they do a good job at not letting them interfere with the academics available to those students who choose to pursue them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2003

My son graduated from Desert Vista in 2001.His teachers could always get him interested in the curriculum and he loved going to school...if teachers and staff can get the students involved and interested in learning, I think that's half the battle. And in my opinion, Desert Vista isthe best that there is at the present time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2003

My daughter is a Sophomore at Desert Vista. I moved into the area when she was in fourth grade because I wanted her to attend this school. I am also an educator and believe in the mission statement and goals of DVHS. I support the administration and the teachers for helping my daughter when she needed help. I love this school and I am proud that my daughter attends it.


Posted April 4, 2003

The administration of DV needs to quit using their underhanded tactics of recruiting student athletes. There is not much of a variety here. Unless you're an athlete or a scholar, you're not seen as much more than a number to the principal. However, most teachers are excellent.


Posted March 3, 2003

It is my opinion that this school is a wonderful facility for education. my daughter has never quite fit in at school, and then she came to DV and immediately was able to make friends. the staff there help make everybody safe, welcome and are consistently make each day brighter than the one before. Desert Vista cares about it's students and does everything it can to help students out. I can think of no better [place to send my child, than Desert Vista.


Posted October 15, 2002

That [They] are so worried about being a college prep high school that the special educ students and other students are left behind. I ask them to test my son the first day of school a year ago Aug and it took them until las Nov. They were out of compliance!I also have an older child who attends and he has had some wonderful teacher and then some who don't seen so interested in teaching.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

745 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

758 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

746 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 12% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16440 S 32nd St
Phoenix, AZ 85048
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 839-0292

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT