Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
75 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Vista High School 1

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
Have had two kids graduate from this joke of an establishment! All I heard about was fights and bullying every day. Overall, the staff didn't seem to care less! Maybe if you stop allowing certain 'undesirable' kids into the place, then things migfht improve! A depressingly overrated school. Send your kids to Horizon instead.

Desert Vista High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 09, 2016
- a community member
Dr Battle was the best principal. Too bad she got moved up to the district. She was compassionate, strong, and intelligent. Barella is a good replacement, but Dr Battle will be missed.


Desert Vista High School 5

Posted April 09, 2016
- a community member
This school has very strong academics. The teachers are extremely qualified. Sports teams and the arts also excel. Overall, it is a fantastic school- minus the school spirit.

Desert Vista High School 5

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Strong academic atmosphere and activities are strongly encouraged...sports, dance, speech and debate, etc. Positive peer pressure to achieve.

Desert Vista High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
Dr. Battle for creating high standards and encouraging a high level of participation amongst student body


Desert Vista High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
They encourage people to work together. Athletes work with individuals in other activities and clubs and they show respect for all students.

Desert Vista High School 1

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
I have had two kids go there one was being bullied so bad i had to fight woth her to go to school every day and the school only sent the girls home for one day and it was not even a suspension. Now I have another child that goes there that was punched in the face during PE class by another student the in side of his mouth was split open and his lip was split open . I ask the school what they are doing to the kid that did this to my kid and the school tells me they can't tell me that information. Why because they are doing nothing.

Desert Vista High School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Large - yes; impersonal - no. Moving from the East Coast, we selected the DVHS boundary for our home using many resources including this website. Compared to private middle schools our children attended in Wash, DC, our first surprise was the constant feedback and e-mail contact we received from teachers. Not heard of any other HS that fosters support, encouragement, and positive attitude to same high level. Our daughter and son quickly found a friend nucleus (dance and sports, respectively). No "bad teacher" experiences - just the opposite and both blossomed academically. At college our daughter continues to find she was well- prepared by DVHS academics. As a senior, our son is enjoying engineering curriculum and teachers that will be big benefit for his planned college major. Selecting this HS was one of the best decisions we've made for the growth of our children. - April 2014


Desert Vista High School 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a student
I currently attend this school and I have been since Freshman year and when I tell you this school is amazing it really is. Great academic program and this school is really big on COLLEGE PREP! It will have you ready for college by Junior year. Great staff and administration. This school offers a great sports program. All in all Desert Vista is a great school that not only offers you child that great high school experience but also the experience your child will need for the future.

Desert Vista High School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
I highly recommend DV. We moved here from Chicago shortly before our son began freshmen year. The teachers and administration were especially helpful with the transition. We now have a second child enrolled and thankfully, both of our children are in honors and AP classes and they are ABSOLUTELY outstanding. The teachers are top notch. In addition to the fine academics, DV has fantastic athletics and clubs. Our youngest joined the school's Speech team and is having a wonderful experience thus far.

Nearby schools

Desert Vista High School
16440 South 32nd St, Phoenix, AZ  85048
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. (480) 839-0292
Last modified Desert Vista High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top