Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Winds Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Desert Winds is by far the greatest school ever!The teachers are wonderful,they truly care about all the students.My kids are so happy there.

Desert Winds Elementary School 4

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
Desert Winds is a great school. The teachers are wonderful! The preschool program and Kindergarten are great. My kids are very happy here.


Desert Winds Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
This school has incredible teachers that really listen and take time for all children and their parents! DW is an A+ School of Excellence! They also have free before and after school academic based child care! A great family environment!

Desert Winds Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
This school is a hidden treasure. The school is rated an A+ School of Excellence by the Arizona Education Foundation, there is free before and after school programs, a full piano lab and lots of technology throughout the campus. Every classroom has a smart board. The teachers and staff are great, they have been an amazing support for my family.

Desert Winds Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
Desert Winds has been a great school for my family. A few years ago my nephew came to live with us and was having difficulty in school. He was a 3rd grader reading at a kindergarten level. The teachers and staff at Desert Winds brought my nephew to grade level reading within the first 3 months that he was there. The staff is amazing and the teacher are very involved. I now have a 2nd grader there and I could not choose a better school for her education!


Desert Winds Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
Nice teachers, nice school. Very friendly staff and teachers, the kids seem to be happy and communication is good.

Desert Winds Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2011
- a community member
I have been to this school for two years and the teachers are really involved. you can talk to any teacher about troubles with anything, they are truly there for student. I learned things here that we haven't covered in even high school yet.

Desert Winds Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2008
- a parent
The principle, teachers, and staff are all wonderful and caring and provide what's needed for all children to enhance each child's development in order to help each child become a successful learner.


Desert Winds Elementary School 4

Posted July 12, 2006
- a parent
My sons have been going to this school for six years now. I have had a wonderful experience with dedicated teachers that were always willing to work closely with me to help them excel and overcome any obstacles. The curriculum is adequate to meet the needs of all the students in the class. Parent involvement is very high. The teachers were always appreciative of the time I volunteered in my sons' classes. The office/nursing staff was friendly and competent. The drop off/pick up situation is not very organized or supervised and many times event notices were given with very little notice. There are after school activities available as well as on-site child care for working parents. My overall experience with this school was great!

Desert Winds Elementary School 1

Posted January 11, 2006
- a parent
I'm not impressed by this school. The communication from teachers/principal to us horrible. Also, teachers do play up to their favorites. There is way too much bullying on the playground, my 1st grade son complains just about everyday about older kids picking on him and his friends and there is not enough adult supervision for them to go for help. This problem is only getting worse. Also, this school has the worst system for picking up and dropping off kids. Be prepared to make picking up kids at least a half hour ordeal. What extracurricular activites? I'm currently looking to enroll my child at a different school.

Nearby schools

Desert Winds Elementary School
19825 North 15th Ave, Phoenix, AZ  85027
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (623) 445-5000
Last modified Desert Winds Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6
Top