Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Echo Mountain Primary School

Public | PK-3 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2004

I agree with all of the parents here. There is good and bad in this school but more bad than good. The welcoming of parent involvement is there but when the parent gets involved with education instead of fun activities the school frowns upon it. I feel the staff here needs to take a class that teaches them honesty! There is too much yes this will get done and I give you my word your child will get the best education , but not enough action! The make your day program to me shows the teachers are to lazy and do not want to take the time at the end of the day to do there grading so they leave it up to the children to grade each other! I being a single mom makes it very difficult to transfer my children out of this school but given the opportunity I would!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

Although a good school I feel it's over crowded,although it's probably due to so many wanting to go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

I really like the principal. She is fabulous and extremely supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

Well as a parent of a 1st grader at Echo Mountain. I have found his teacher to excallent along with the majority of the staff, however they implement a program called make your day. I have never been more dissappointed in a school system. The poor kids don't even know why they are in trouble half the time. If they choose a step 4 a parent needs to go into the school for a meeting before they can go back to class. I believe in punishment's and making the right choices, but I believe they should consintrate more on the teaching of math, reading and so forth, and let the parent's teach the kids right from wrong and there moral beliefs and about the choice's that they make. I don't feel it is the school's place. I'am taking my son out of this school and placing him back into his old school, with a leter from his former principle to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2004

It's a good school. Both of my kids really enjoy their teachers. They are very strict about changes made concerning children. Any changes such as doing a different mode of transportation than normal or getting information, they will make you come in, show I.D. and then do whatever changes needed. They won't do any changes over the phone.


Posted June 29, 2003

I agree. I do not like this point system. My child came from Iowa, she went from having 15 kids in her class with 2 teachers, to 29 kids with one teacher. She is very bored and the stuff they do my child has already done. something needs to be done! I am sending my child to sequoa elementary as a result of this mess!


Posted March 12, 2003

In 3rd grade, my daughter still is not learning what she learned in 1st & 2nd grade at other schools. Kids have to 'adjust their points' if another child says something bugged them about the kid (thus if you have an enemy, you will never get all your points, and could eventually be suspended over it). Too many children do not speak english, thus slowing down learning. The spelling words are what was taught in kindergarten (cat, dog, etc). Math is just addition & subtraction. Multiplication started in March. The teacher couldn't figure out 5.00-1.75 in her head. And the english textbook is the SAME one I used (copywright 1984!!!!). Daughter is depressed since starting this school and grades have dropped as a result.


Posted March 4, 2003

Historically has the lowest test scores in the area. School is very crowded. Principle spends most time with discipline, ignoring academics. Teachers are so bad, you can easily mistake them for the janitorial staff. No improvement over the last six years. My kids were honor students, yet I transfered them to a nearby school due to many, many problems that start and end with the sloppy leadership of the school.


Posted October 15, 2002

Here's a tiny sample of what has replaced education in one ""A++"" school (Echo Mountain Elementary School) in just the last few months: Feature-length entertainment movies. A Diamondback baseball game. A professional hockey game. Extra recess


Posted October 15, 2002

I am disappointed with the Make your day program. Some students use this in a bad way, such as having concerns on other students as a way of getting them in trouble for something they may have not done or tattling. I feel it is not used for the purpose it was designed for.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 43%
White 24% 42%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1811 E Michigan Ave 3
Phoenix, AZ 85022
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sage Academy
Phoenix, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT