Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Echo Mountain Primary School

Public | PK-3 | 655 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2013

The Make Your Day program is a very good one, provided the staff is adequately trained in it. In this school, that has not happened for many, many years. The turnover concerning Principals and Teachers is too high. There is a reason for that. I know - I was a teacher there. Most of the long time teachers that were dedicated to this particular school have left and gone elsewhere in the district. And, yes, it is true that there is an emphasis on ESL, second language learner's. All teachers must be possess an ESL Endorsement to get the job. The methods are fantastic, but the Hispanic kids do slow down the entire learning experience for all children. If you are not Hispanic, if your child's primary language is English, then I would never recommend this school (unless you prefer your child to be a role model for foreign or possible illegal children). Parents need to be informed about the tremendous amount of testing required of teachers during the day that always involves the lowest percentage of students - nearly all of these are Hispanic students. So happy to no longer be a part of this school. This school has lacked leadership for many years now. Very sad.


Posted March 9, 2012

I love everything about this school except for the parent lack of respect while driving before and after school. They don't pay any attention to the kids trying to cross the street and fail to stop at the stop signs and they speed threw the crossing none. They need a crossing gaurd by where the people turn out of the parking lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2011

I think parents need to visit the school not just the website. Funding has been cut very drastically for education. Echo Mountain is an awesome school, with a very hard-working staff who truley care about the students. Don't let a website turn you off, take the time to go to the school and check it our.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

I am placing my boy in kindergarten and was looking for information. I went to the Echo Mtn (and PVUSD) website to look for registration dates and information and found little. Neither website had dates available for registration (Fall 2011 semester) and I ended up calling district office. PVUSD also list some schools as having kinder pre-registrations but district office had no knowledge of which schools were participating. The Echo Mtn. website had registrations forms last updated from Feb 2010 while the ones on the PVUSD website were from Oct 2010. NOT very impressive right out of the gate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

Great School. I am very happy with it! I am glad my child is enrolled in Echo Mountain. I love the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

I agree.. This is the US. And we can't stand back and just let this keep going in the schools. I would like to see the school teach english as a first lang to all students. I incouage you as a parent to write letters to who ever will lisson. Its a small step to make change. I am glad to see some one else is waking up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

From what I am reading, it seems like at this school English is a 2nd language. Last time I checked we lived in America and if you cant speak the language than go back to your own country and let them pay for you!!


Posted May 4, 2010

Teachers at Echo are very hard working. Parents who complain about Make Your Day likely have children with behavior problems that they would like to blame on someone else. In Make Your Day, the child reviews their own behavior and effort. Any minor issues are simply addressed and discussed briefly. Children are more likely to take responsibility for these behaviors. A student would need to have 7 problems in the day for parents to be contacted. Parents only are required to come to the school if the student is violent, threatens violence, vandalizes, and the like! When I go to evening events, and there are many, it is a crime how few parents even bother to show up! Those poor teachers/staff members are there late into the evenings to provide assistance and fun learning activities and maybe 150 of the 600 students even show up! When I am on campus I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

they seem more interested in robotic children rater than providing a fun and healthy learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

This is my son's 3rd year at Echo Mtn and although we love the teachers and principal, I have to agree with some of the comments from the other parents. It seems that way too much effort is given to the Spanish speaking students and parents. I also see all the paperwork translated to Spanish and all school events have an interpreter present. I am first generation American and I certainly don't remember any extra effort given to my parents when I was in school. Afterall, aren't we an English-only state? My husband and I have also thought about changing schools but my son is very adamant about staying. If any school officials actually read these comments then maybe they will think twice about spending all the time and money on Spanish materials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

The teachers seem to be great. My huge complaint against this school is the influences outside the classroom. If you go to a parent teacher night or any activity everything has to be done in Spanish. We've had forms sent home in Spanish and not English. We go pick up the kids and everyday there are older brothers/sisters there playing incredibly violent and profane music. We've asked them to turn it down and they told us to F-off. The lack of English is definitely slowing down the pace of education, just look at the test scores to see that. If you don't speak English, this is the perfect school for you. My child has been there for 3 years and we're moving this year just because of the school, enough is enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

If you like a strict environment where your kids can't be kids, this is the school for you. They really pride themselves on dicpline. The kids there do not seem very happy. Its not a bad looking place, but there is no joy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

My son has been going to Echo Mtn. for his 3rd year. Every year he gets better and better. I spent more time dealing with the Make Your Day conferences than I did a work. I am a single mom and cannot afford to leave work all the time. I also would like to say that I don't feel my son gets that proper attention because the teachers are dealing with the non english speaking students more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

My daughter is finishing kindergarten and her teacher was just outstanding. I was very involved on an everyday basis with her teacher and my daughters education. I really like how even at kindergarten they have specials so they get physical activity as well as education in science and arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

We moved to Arizona from Maryland, my son went to public school out there and we had no problems with him at all. When we moved here I enrolled him in Echo Mountain. I had never heard of the Make Your Day program until then. Well my son was in kindergarten my husband and I spent more time at the school then we did at our jobs. We pulled him out of the school last year towards then end of the year and moved him into a new district. He started the new year and we have not had to go to the school one time for problems. My son has excelled in the new school removing him from Echo Mountain was the best thing I ever did for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

I have enjoyed the acedemic part of the school. The teachers are great. My kids are doing great in school with no problems they truly enjoy it. I think the make you day system is a good way to teach the kids whats right and wrong at school settings. My children enjoy it and they are learning i think that is the thing that matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2006

great school! my kids have gone to this school for 2 years. the curriculum is excellent. there are many functions the school puts on to bring in parent involvement. teachers also communicate on almost a daily basis with progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My son has attended Echo Mountain Primary school for 2 years. The school itself has some great teachers who are dedicated to educating our children. I am not impressed with the way the school handles some of the displinary issues that come up, the principal is not always available to discuss specific problems that come up. I have also had some concerns with the bus transportation system that is provided. The buses do not run on time, and there always seems to be a shortage of qualified drivers. My son who was 6 at the time had to walk home from school one day because the bus driver would not let him on. There was a route change that I was not made aware of nor my son. Communication between the school and the parents is a problem that needs to be addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

I am happy with my child's progress in this school. The teachers care and are dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

Echo Mountain Primary has dedicated and dynamic teachers. Students are set up for success and held to high academic standards. It is a diverse school that accomodates many learning styles and needs. Ther are great resources for teachers to draw from and the administration is extremely helpful. Overall, this is an excellent school with a nurturing environment and a qualified staff.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 42%
White 25% 42%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 6%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1811 E Michigan Ave 3
Phoenix, AZ 85022
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sage Academy
Phoenix, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT