Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Esperanza Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 593 students

We are best known for gifted and music academy.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2014

I wish I had the great experience as the others posted, we have had bulling issues, staff seems uninterested in students or helping. Classes are small and facility if beautiful, to bad kids dont get to use it in am when it cooler.Teachers arrive there when bell rings in am and leaves when bell release.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Esperanza has an excellent music academy and a wonderful staff! I kept my children at this school although we moved out of the "zone" because of the amazing educational and music programs! I would recommend Esperanza to all parents who are interested in incorporating music into their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2013

This school is very good. Their developmental program is excellent. I had two kids who had excelled out of that program by fourth grade. The music program is excellent! There are two new music teachers who are very eager to help the students grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

I have two boys that have gone through this school and one still attending. I am all over this district doing volunteer work for their schools and I can say that Esperanza is the most welcoming out of them all. Right down from the awesome office staff to the PTO there. The ladies in the office have gone above and beyond to help me out and I have seen on numerous occasions them helping parents or high fiving the students as I am signing in as a volunteer. I might add also that they WELCOME and INCOURAGE parents to come in and volunteer, another plus to this school since most of them around give off the feeling that you are a bother. I am very happy with this school and would tell anyone to send their kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

This is my daughter's first year in esperanza and so far i liked it very much.The staff is very cooperative and cares children alot and most of all, the teachers communicate with parents as needed and the teachers are very reachable to parents.... the school provides the transportation and they even provide parents with a login id where you can see your kid's grades ....cooool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

Esperanza is an amazing school with a caring staff of educators and support staff. Everyone works very hard to help all the students at Esperanza be successful. While doing is your best is always stressed, test scores are not the only thing the staff at Esperanza cares about. They care about educating the whole child and taking them from where they are at, to reaching a goal the student and teacher set together.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 24, 2011

This school has a full music program. It offers Handbells, Chorus, Band, Strings, Piano and if you enroll in the school as a music student, you get daily instruction in music.


Posted September 22, 2010

I am disappointed in this school all around. the teachers seem overwhelmed, the office staff is unhelpful and somewhat bothered by a parents presence, and I have never seen the principal. It is a cold feeling school, no teamwork and no parent/ teacher involvement. I seriously feel like it is teachers against parents, and kids left to the sidelines. 1 of our children went to school in a different state for a year. it was awesome, I never realized school could be that way. He was happy, he grew, he loved it and we were at ease the whole year knowing the teachers and us were working TOGETHER. we are sad we are not in that state anymore and being back just reinforces our feelings about the poor standards of this school system. I would never recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

I feel that this school has made a huge impact on my children. I love the fact that my children's teachers have been very involved with their academic foundation. I would like to thank each and everyone of these professionals from the bottom of my heart. My children speak highly of their teachers which means a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

I would not refer my worst enemy to this school. In my opinion, Esperanza has overcrowded classrooms, a few good teachers, a lousy curriculum, and not enough music and art education (even though they have wonderful teachers in these subject areas). No matter what they say, or how many awards they receive, as a parent, I have never felt welcome on their campus. My child will be leaving this school year and my only regret is that we came to this school at all. I am looking forward to a school that welcomes parents in the classroom, has a rigorous curriculum, and a real fine arts program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

For the two years my child went to this school we had an outstanding experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

My two little ones went started Kindergarten w/ Esperanza in Sept 05. They both had seperate teachers - my boys could not stop talking about how much they loved their teachers. My kids were even in the Kindergarten Enrichment program and Lobo's before and after school care. They absolutely love the school and all the teachers they had. It was well worth the extra money I had to pay for these extra programs. They have even just started the Summer Lobo's Program at the school and they are doing so much with the kids with field trips, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

Generally low SES schools offer programs that are not avaliable to most schools. I have been ver disappointed with the extras Esperanza has to offer. Kindergarten there is no music, art or PE instruction. With the teachers my child has had, parent involvement was not utilized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Really nice, well maintained school. Principal is very involved. Teachers work hard with the students and both students and teachers attend the PTO functions with enjoyment. The before and after school program is excellent. Very well run with time for supervised play in a delightful play ground with plenty of monkey bars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

My kids were in 1st and 2nd grade the teachers were good. But the front office was terrible and the principal was terrible also, I was disapointed with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

My 6th grade daughter has attended Esperanza since Kindergarten, and we (daughter and parents) cannot say enough good things about the school. Every one of her teachers has been excellent -- hard-working, approachable, motivated to educate and, well, likeable. We have had nothing but positive experiences with the administrative staff over the years. Esperanza stands out in terms of its special programs involving technology, the arts (awesome music program!), and general philanthropy (e.g. adopt-a-street). Because the Deer Valley neighborhood is old, with new companies constantly moving in, the economic status of the students varies widely. The school handles this well, and appears to embrace the diversity. I believe it is very important for young children to interact positively with others from disparate social, economic, cultural and ethnic backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

To see the changes at this school is very disturbing. The numbers in clasrooms are very high once again for 2004. It is not a student to teacher ratio of 18 as it is stated, its 30+ in classrooms. The administration has done away with a all day Kindergarten program that was amazing. Now many parents are left to pay expensive childcare, and the children are shuttled around all day. The experienced number of teachers is dwindling, and as parents we keep wondering why so many are and have left after this last year. We hear more will be leaving after 04-05, could it be because poor choices and decisions are being made by the principal? Esperanzas numbers keep falling every year, parents are sending there kids elswhere because of the continued bad choices that keep being made! Inorder to fix this you must voice your opinion to the district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

I have two kids who are now in High School and Middle School who went all the way through Esperanza. It is an excellent public school with administration who cares about the kids and their education. Some of the best teachers in the state work at Esperanza!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

Esperanza pays close attention to the progress of their students. I firmly believe this is due to the great teachers that Esperanza employs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2004

Last year my son had Mrs. Anderson. She was an excellent teacher. This year he has Mrs. Schneider. She is five star material also. These two wonderful ladies have enriched my son's life with their positive teaching methods, and I appreciate their work and dedication. I also give the principle an A+. She's awesome. The Deer Valley School Disctrict is very fortunate to have these outstanding professionals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 27% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Superintendent's Program of Excellence (2010)
  • Superintendent's Program of Excellence (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Denise McGloughlin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 445-3780

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

251 West Mohawk Ln
Phoenix, AZ 85027
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT