Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Esperanza Elementary School 1

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
It is a beautiful campus, but inside it's cold and very unfeeling. We've had issues with bullying to the extent my daughter was threatened with a little boy and a knife not just once but twice, transportation didn't even suspend the boy from the bus never even contacted the parents at all I know this because the second time he threatened my daughter we called the police and they woke the parent at night who had no clue at all! A teacher told my daughter she couldn't find the little boy & didn't hear it so couldn't do anything and the office said it was a pure transportation problem never even got to talk to the principal at all! Then on parents night when a few parents asked about the new math being taught more than one teacher referred us to google and said it could be explained there because even some of the teachers have a hard time with it! Pass if you can this school is beyond terrible & completely oblivious to anything going on at all, or willing to care.

Esperanza Elementary School 2

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the last parent completely... Forth graders don't even have a room or a locker so they must carry all school supplies plus they're lunch all day and home. Then there is the common core which makes no sense and is complete busy work. This school is very unfriendly to parents and I could not recommend sending your child here.


Esperanza Elementary School 2

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
I wish I had the great experience as the others posted, we have had bulling issues, staff seems uninterested in students or helping. Classes are small and facility if beautiful, to bad kids dont get to use it in am when it cooler.Teachers arrive there when bell rings in am and leaves when bell release.

Esperanza Elementary School 4

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
Esperanza has an excellent music academy and a wonderful staff! I kept my children at this school although we moved out of the "zone" because of the amazing educational and music programs! I would recommend Esperanza to all parents who are interested in incorporating music into their child's education.

Esperanza Elementary School 4

Posted December 27, 2013
- a parent
This school is very good. Their developmental program is excellent. I had two kids who had excelled out of that program by fourth grade. The music program is excellent! There are two new music teachers who are very eager to help the students grow.


Esperanza Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2012
- a parent
I have two boys that have gone through this school and one still attending. I am all over this district doing volunteer work for their schools and I can say that Esperanza is the most welcoming out of them all. Right down from the awesome office staff to the PTO there. The ladies in the office have gone above and beyond to help me out and I have seen on numerous occasions them helping parents or high fiving the students as I am signing in as a volunteer. I might add also that they WELCOME and INCOURAGE parents to come in and volunteer, another plus to this school since most of them around give off the feeling that you are a bother. I am very happy with this school and would tell anyone to send their kids here.

Esperanza Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year in esperanza and so far i liked it very much.The staff is very cooperative and cares children alot and most of all, the teachers communicate with parents as needed and the teachers are very reachable to parents.... the school provides the transportation and they even provide parents with a login id where you can see your kid's grades ....cooool.

Esperanza Elementary School 4

Posted April 25, 2011
- a teacher
Esperanza is an amazing school with a caring staff of educators and support staff. Everyone works very hard to help all the students at Esperanza be successful. While doing is your best is always stressed, test scores are not the only thing the staff at Esperanza cares about. They care about educating the whole child and taking them from where they are at, to reaching a goal the student and teacher set together.


Esperanza Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2011
- a community member
This school has a full music program. It offers Handbells, Chorus, Band, Strings, Piano and if you enroll in the school as a music student, you get daily instruction in music.

Esperanza Elementary School 1

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
I am disappointed in this school all around. the teachers seem overwhelmed, the office staff is unhelpful and somewhat bothered by a parents presence, and I have never seen the principal. It is a cold feeling school, no teamwork and no parent/ teacher involvement. I seriously feel like it is teachers against parents, and kids left to the sidelines. 1 of our children went to school in a different state for a year. it was awesome, I never realized school could be that way. He was happy, he grew, he loved it and we were at ease the whole year knowing the teachers and us were working TOGETHER. we are sad we are not in that state anymore and being back just reinforces our feelings about the poor standards of this school system. I would never recommend this school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Esperanza Elementary School
251 West Mohawk Ln, Phoenix, AZ  85027
(623) 445-5000
Last modified Esperanza Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Esperanza Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top