Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Basis Ahwatukee 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
I have been very impressed in how my daughter is continuing to develop a sense of responsibility about her school work. We started here in the 4th grade and have had nothing but great experiences with the teachers and staff. - parent of a 5th grade student

Basis Ahwatukee 3

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
Teaching should be done in class room rather than giving the topics to kids and ask them to learn themselves or ask them to get the helps from their parents. Also it is very important to intimate the parents if the kid is not performing well in the class as soon as once they notice it. Overall the teachers and administrators don't understand the change happening to the kids physically or mentally. I noticed many intelligent and bright kids were lost their happiness in Basis and they are in the stage of getting spoiled because of the attitude of the teachers/administrators.


Basis Ahwatukee 5

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
From assisting in the adjustment from public to BASIS to the teaching and enthusiasm of the teachers and staff, I could not be happier.

Basis Ahwatukee
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
My children both have had great experiences with teachers who are genuinely interested in the subject matter and the sharing of knowledge. Even in subjects that they are their "favorites", their teachers were still favored.

Basis Ahwatukee 5

Posted July 12, 2015
- a student
My classmates and teachers are like family to me. Everyone is extremely supportive and encouraging.


Basis Ahwatukee
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 12, 2015
- a student
I am a current student at BASIS Ahwatukee and I'm very happy with the teachers at this school. I started at BASIS when the school initially opened in 2013 because my parents had heard such wonderful comments about the school. Yes, the curriculum is challenging, yet each teacher has always been available for tutoring after school and even during lunch. My Honors English Literature teacher, Ms.Myers is amazing. She helped me when I was struggling with my Shakespeare analysis. She also brought in a former Shakespearian actor, who grew up performing at the Globe Theatre in London, as a guest speaker. This was such an amazing, yet challenging class. Overall, the teachers at BASIS Ahwatukee genuinely care about their students and it shows. Some, like Ms. Myers, are more creative and enthusiastic than others, however, the diversity among teachers is essential to the different styles of learning. In addition to the classes at BASIS, there are amazing clubs and sports that students can participate in, as well as an incredible drama and music program, all organized and led by the teachers. I feel prepared for next year's exams and courses because of the dedication shown by the teaching staff at BASIS Ahwatukee. If you're looking for an easy ride and mediocrity, BASIS is not the school for you. If you want to be challenged in a creative classroom environment, BASIS should be your first choice. The classes are small, each teacher knows every student by name, and they are experts in their subject matter. They will not spoon feed you. You have to put forth the effort and do the work that's required, which isn't for everyone. I wanted to be challenged in a learning environment among peers who have a drive for success. That's what defines BASIS Ahwatukee and I'm so glad I'm here.

Basis Ahwatukee
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 06, 2015
- a community member
The upper school teachers, except for the chemistry teacher, don't even know what they're teaching. The physics and biology teachers don't teach most of the topics that are on the pre comps and comps. Our grade last year had to cram photosynthesis and cellular respiration one week for the pre comps. And we learned more on physics tests than from the physics teacher. The English teachers are also very rude and passive aggressive. If they don't like you, then they're not going to be shy about it. The AP World History teacher doesn't even teach, he just tells students his life story in class . The economics teacher is a good teacher but he also shows favoritism. The chemistry teacher and the Spanish teacher are the only 2 great teachers in upper school. They genuinely care about their students and they're willing to help them too. They teach and prepare their students really well for the pre comps and comps. This comment is from a former student at BASIS Ahwatukee who has now left.

Basis Ahwatukee 1

Posted July 06, 2015
- a community member
The teachers, especially upper school teachers, are ineffective teachers who show immense favoritism and most of them don't even know what they're teaching or how to teach. The upper school chemistry and Spanish teachers are the only great teachers in upper school.


Basis Ahwatukee 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
This is one of the best schools in the East Valley. Challenging school environment , well disciplined kids and excellent teaching staff.

Basis Ahwatukee 5

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in Basis Ahwatukee for the last two years and we are extremely happy about the quality of this school. The school is very academic focused and extremely competitive. Most of the teachers are well qualified. I highly recommend this school to students, who like systematic, focused and academic environments.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Basis Ahwatukee
10210 S. 50th Place, Phoenix, AZ  85044
(480) 659-2294
Last modified Basis Ahwatukee is a Charter school that serves grades 4-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Basis Ahwatukee Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top