Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Foothills Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 385 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2011

WE LOVE FOOTHILLS!!! My daughter started in 3rd grade there and just left to go to Explorer (middle School), and my son is been there since Kindergarten, now he is going to 5th grade. We absolutely love Mr. Riley and the staff! Even though I moved to another district I don't mind driving 30 miles every day to keep him at Foothills. My son loves that school! Every time we had a problem, the principal got involved right away and helped us with the solution. Mr. Riley is a wonderful person! I only have good things to say about Foothills and its staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

I LOVE Foothills. My son is open enrolled here. Foothills teachers care about the students. They meet before school, stay after school or give up lunches if students need help. The teachers my son has had have been his biggest cheerleaders. These teachers believe in their students! The front office is always warm and welcoming. The principal doesn't just sit behind a desk. Mr. Riley is out in the school with the kids. My son had an issue with another boy and felt bullied. The teachers and principal made it clear that students will feel safe. It was a team effort with even the elective teachers on board with the situation. There is no longer an issue and the two boys have even started to be friends! There is a very involved parents group too. No school is ever perfect, but I am very thankful that my son was lucky enough to have the wonderful teachers he had at Foothills. This is a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

I agree with the parent below! We pulled our children from Foothills a few years ago because of the bullies were so bad! Any school will have both good things and bad things about it. No school is perfect. However, every child deserves to feel safe at school. The Foothills staff did not stop the bullies. Taking my kids out of this school was for the better! My kids are now safe, happy, and excelling academically at their new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

I have some worries about Foothils. My child is new to the school and has had a hard timewith other children being mean, calling my child a loser and a baby. My child has tried to speak to teachers about this only to be told it not a big deal. I sure hope staff is not allowing bullies at school. I an to the point of removing my child if nothing is done ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

my daughter was astudent of kindergarten....i think this school is too good and her teacher Ms.Riggs is just wonderful...i have no words to express how good a teacher she is...we came from india and were in Phoenix for 4 months..i was quite worried as to how my daughter would do in school,but thanks to her i had not a single problem.....ours was agreat experience...thank you Ms.Riggs,Ms.Ijack,Ms.Elliot,coach andMr.Reilly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

Foothills is a great school, My two children were attending a Charter School and fell behind, Foothills did all the right things to help catch my children up. We have been at this school now for 3 years. The principal is very active with the children & he attends 'every' school event. The majority of the teachers have been there for greater than 5 years and the school continues to challenge the children academically. Both my children LOVE going to school and partaking in the school's family events and academic extra programs. The primary disappointment is that there is minimal parent involvement. I encourage parents to come to the PTSA meetings and get involved. I agree, Foothills Elementary School is one of the best kept secrtes in PVUSD!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

Foothills is one of the best kept secrets in PVUSD...the teachers are excellent and the staff is friendly and caring! You will not find a better principal in any other elementary school around! What a wonderful experience to find that the school is focused on all the right priorities to keep a positive learning environment for our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

My son is in kindergarten this year, and we love Foothills! Wonderful school, through and through. Caring teachers who are there if you need anything, and a visible principal, happy children learning and having fun learning (which is so important these days!) They seem to have a lot of after school classes/clubs, as well as lots of extracurricular events. If you are thinking of sending your child here, visit the campus for yourself, you will be glad you did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2007

Overall, a wonderful school. I moved my kids to Foothills last year and have been extremely happy with the principal, teachers, extracurriculur activities, etc. Definitely a warm and caring environment for the students. I give this school an A+! If you are thinking of sending your kids here, visit the school and meet the principal, you will be glad you did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My child was moved from a valley charter school to Foothills. She has really enjoyed Foothills and has excelled academically at her own pace. The Principal is kind and caring and very active with all the events sponsored by the schools, he is ready to deal with situations head on and visibly enjoys the children. The teachers are experienced and the majority of them have been with Foothills 5+ years. The school has made changes to increase the safety and well being of the children. I am pleased with my child's personal growth and academic growth that has been facilitated and nurtured by the Principal and staff of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

My kids are having a great experience at this school. We have been a Foothills family for 5 years now. The teachers and administration are great, open to communicate, love the kids, and are willing to go the extra mile in working with children's education. They've redone the front of the school, and layout inside--it's wonderful. The improvements are a real positive to the kids and staff alike. This is a wonderful, safe, caring neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

This is a fabulous school. I have two daughters who have attended the past three years. The teachers are very open to discussing and working with you and your child with any weaknesses in learning they may have. The principal has been very approachable and encourages parents to constructively discuss any concerns or suggestions they may have. The 'character counts' and 'make your day' programs have been very positive motivational tools. Overall I would recommend this school to anyone. Don't just take my word for it though. Make and appointment and meet with the principal and observe. You will be highly pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

We have been 'foothills parents' for going on 10 years now. We could not be more pleased. The teachers have been wonderful. They make learning fun and exciting. Our daughter is excelling in High School and we believe that Foothills provided that positive foundation for her academic achievement. Our son is in 2nd Grade and is excited about coming to school and learning new things. All of the staff there is friendly and helpful. They have a fantastic leader in the principle, Mr Rielly. He is at every function with his fun ties and attitude. It is apparent that they all enjoy what they do. All of them as a team make this school a great success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Foothills is a school that has provided my child a solid educational foundation.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 1, 2005

I have a 6th greader and a Kindergartener at Foothills and I am extremely happy with the school and the teachers and staff. My children look forward to going to school every day and they are doing very well. The teachers are very caring and attentive to every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

My son/daughter have attended Foothills the last 3 years. They are having a wonderful education experience. Yes, I saw the test scores too, and that does concern me; but it's also what you make it. The teachers have been awesome, and CARE about the kids! My kids are involved, and I help out at school, when I can around my work schedule. Test scores are of concern, yes, but it's also what you and your child make it. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

Daughter goes there- very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

Looking at the grades for this school. They look pretty bad. It is the school in our neighborhood though so we will probably try it out for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

My children attended this school First through Sixth grade. It was a great experience for all of us. The teachers were committed and caring as was the office staff. Many of the same teachers are still there. We were very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

The school has improved in the last five years, and now has great leadership. The food is still terrible and the school cleaning crew is only so-so. The staff and teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 42%
Hispanic 30% 43%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17835 North 44th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT