Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8 & Ungraded
Public
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 747
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glenn L. Downs School 4

Posted December 06, 2012
- a community member
The Administration is amazing, The Parent Group is one of the best in the State. After school sports need improvement.

Glenn L. Downs School 5

Posted December 19, 2011
- a parent
I think Downs is a great school, due to that they have after school activities for the eighth graders and they have the greatest teachers to which are very open to the parents and also for parents to be active in classroom social parties, or holiday gatherings. There principal very nice, you see her walking around all the time and when you pick up you child(ren) you see her outside watching how everything's going and her's nice enough to say Hi! I really like the eighth grade teachers, they're very caring when it comes the childrens performance and do anything they can to help them improve.


Glenn L. Downs School 1

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
Too many students to one teacher. Thats the reason our school is not meeting its standards. Students are sent home to do their homework, and parents are sometimes not equipped to help their child. So therefore are sent to school with incomplete or wrong work. The spanish and english homework is together on the same paper?? Confusing to students, they should be separate.

Glenn L. Downs School 5

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Glenn L. Downs School 0
no rating

Posted March 02, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in Mrs. Shillin's room and I see why she loves her teacher. She is young and very caring. I know with what my daughter has learned in her room will continue with her forever. Now she wants to be a teacher just like, 'Mrs. Shillin'. Oh and she wants a policman like her husband, wehn she's a teacher. Cute and wonderful people.


Glenn L. Downs School 1

Posted July 23, 2007
- a parent
Need more activities like sports.

Glenn L. Downs School 2

Posted August 25, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Glenn L. Downs School 5

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
I think Downs is a great school, it's small where you don't have to worry about so many kids. There are so many after school activities they have and they also have 'skate night' where the students, parents, and teachers go to a skateing ring just to have fun. The teachers are very open for parents to be active in classroom social parties, or holiday gatherings. There principal very nice, you see him walking around all the time and you pick up you child(ren) you see him outside watching how everything's going and he's nice enough to say Hi! I really like the kidergarden teachers, they're very caring when it comes the childrens performance and do anything they can to help them improve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenn L. Downs School
3611 N 47th Ave, Phoenix, AZ  85031
(623) 691-4000
Last modified Glenn L. Downs School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glenn L. Downs School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top