Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenway High School

Public | 9-12 | 1572 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2013

Greenway High is a solid structured school. WOW!!! you can really feel the spirit !!! there is an over supply of parent involvement as well as community involvement at greenway. I am so happy my family is part of the greenway experience! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Excellent in every way possible !!! The teachers are absolutely wonderful in communicating with parents. All of the extra curricular activities are great and well supervised. The coaches and assistant coaches do a wonderful job with the students. Very impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

My rating is based only on word of mouth - not actual experience with this school. My granddaughter is considering this school. I a concerned that some of the ratings praising this school are poorly written with little or no punctuation and capitalization and poor spelling. Is THAT a reflection of this school?


Posted February 10, 2011

Outstanding staff, top notch instruction, great extra curricular programs, caring out going teachers, one of the best schools in the district maybe even state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Greenway High School is a campus which envelopes a range of students with vastly differing backgrounds and life skills. Together the staff and students cross the bridge into cooperation and high student success rates. Greenway High School is an example of all positives in any school across the country.


Posted November 16, 2009

My son is senior and greenway has been everything we expected and more. He attended a charter school for 6-8 grades - this school has been just as good as the charter school academically and parent involvement and he's been involved in excellent sports programs all 4 years. I would (and do)recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

this school will rock everyones world i am a student at greenway not only are the teachers and coaches great the sports are awesome there will never be another school like it
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2009

I am a 2009 graduating senior at greenway high school. This school is great. It has much to offer and the staff here is very involved with the students. I like to see most of the staff at sporting events, it is really encouraging. This school has a lot of spirit. The students are great and really do care about their school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2008

Greenway is a highly respected school. It has a lot to offer families and community alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

This school rocks my socks!! Anyone who wants to give their child a head start in life and meet a lot of cool people plus great athletics should send their child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2008

This is an amazing school. I would recommend it to everyone. The teacher are the greatest and the sports are amazingly fun because the coaches are the bomb.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2007

I currently go to Greenway and it is an amazing school. It has so much to offer and if your thinking about registering your child do it! It is worth going there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2006

I attended Greenway High School in 1980-84 and my son graduated in 2006 and I like everything Greenway has to offer. The teachers are very helpful and the sport programs helped keep my child busy and involved in his school. The campus is always kept up and there is alot of school spirit at Greenway and my other 2 boys will attend Greenway also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

I was a student at GHS (2001-2005), and I always thought it was such a great school! By senior year I knew most of the staff, and they were all pretty 'nice' and 'welcoming.' I had a good four years there! Granted, I'm glad I was part of the class that was 'able' to go off campus for lunch, but overall, I always received the help I needed, my teachers were attentive, and the school overall functioned well!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 1, 2006

My special-needs son just completed his freshman year at Greenway. I cannot say enough about the teachers, the counselors, and the principal, all of whom take an active interest in his success. He works hard to be maintain his honor student status, and they are all right there with him. The other students are very kind to him. When I go to Greenway, the students look very happy. My son, my husband and I are also very happy with Greenway!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

As a former student of greenway high, I really enjoyed the diversity, and learning experience. I recommend this high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2006

The quality of academics at Greenway High School is good. However, the counseling service to guide students toward colleges and universities is very poor. Career and college advisement is critically missing for juniors and seniors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2005

The level of academics (when I atteneded) was great. We were able to participate in several different activities. The most important part of Greenway for me was the music department. Both Band & Choir were a lot of fun! In Band we were able to attend several different competitions. The instructors were also able to offer jazz, orchestra and other releated classes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 2, 2005

my grandchildren (1 freshmen 2 sophmores 1 junior) go to greenway. it is a really good school. the test scores are good. All my grandchildren are above average. They have great behavior and discipline polocies. Also they have great athletic activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

Good solid school. Adequate facilties.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 915-8560

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Lacrosse
  • Water polo
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3930 W. Greenway Road
Phoenix, AZ 85053
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 435-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT