Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy

Charter | K-8 | 597 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $103,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

96 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Hearn has the "family' feel"! I have felt welcome from his first day. I love that they take placement testing threw out the year to make sure the kids aren't being "left behind" they are learning at their level not the schools. Every quarter they take survey and everything I have ever had a concern about was addressed. So they are always improving!! My child is in 1st grade and he will attend Hearn till the end of his 8th grade year. I recommend this school to everyone with kids in K-8!! In fact 2 new student have enrolled because of me!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

The direction of the school since the last principal left is a downward spiral. The children no longer have manners, there is more running , rough housing and bullying . The school concerts are now awful, the children show no interest, the choice of music is too ethnic and the soloists should at least be reasonable singers. I understand children should be encouraged but not to think they can sing , when in fact they cannot. The education level has definitely dropped and something needs to be done to improve and return to the 5 star rating Hearn used to have and not the 3 star it is now.


Posted November 21, 2013

My daughter has been at Hearn since Kinder. It's ok. The positives are the specials. The kids get technology, music, foreign language, physical education and art. After and before school care is excellent and my daughter looks forward to it. The downside is the lack of curriculum resources and there is not enough focus on math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

Hearn is a really great school. It includes everyone. It does not push out students who require extra help or excel like the "traditional" charter schools that are so popular and rated as 10s on greatschools.org. Hearn's teachers are awesome. The test scores may be lower than those "traditional" charter schools but that is only because Hearn chooses to educate everyone and does not push out any student based on academics. Hearn's teaching methods are great. We moved from one of the "traditional" schools to go into the advanced placement class at Hearn. This class is years ahead of what is being taught at the "traditional" school. Hearn's campus is cute as a button and you won't find nicer staff anywhere! Hearn has a reasonable disciplinary and dress policy that is strict but allows children to be children. Hearn is the best without the stress! Differentiation is the way to learn and Hearn knows you cannot lump students of differing abilities together without some getting bored and others getting lost, so it tests, retests and places. If you want the best education for your child, a nice campus and small private school feel without the tuition, Hearn is the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

Our daughter is in 2nd grade and has been at Hearn since Kindergarten. We feel that they take great care of the children. The staff are always visible on campus and volunteer their time for the different after school activities. Our daughter was able to join the chess club in kindergarten and this is not a private school! They also have on site before and after care. The uniforms have been wonderful. There is a gate at the entrance which we like. I like how it is small and that everyone knows each other. I do wish that they would spend more time communicating with families about curriculum and upcoming events. I also wish that they would promote healthy eating a bit more with the types of food at the events and the lunch menu.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

Great School in the area. Always striving to compete, improve and expand for academic advancements and challenging advanced placements. Great teachers and educational resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

If I were to review this school a year ago, I would have given it a 5. Many changes have been made to this school with the new principal. Bullying was a major problem and I had to be involved every day to get it to stop. Second grade teacher was rude, completely inexperienced, singled out my child every day, saw numerous other children cry over her, and made my child dispise school. Im giving it one semester, if things aren't better no longer will my child go to Hearn. My child deserves a better learning environment than that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

Our son had wonderful run in his kindergarten in this school. A very dynamic and caring teacher who knew how to deal and making teaching a fun experience to the little ones who have different cultural backgrounds and growing experiences. It surely requires great patience and yet treads towards a wonderful year. This year surely will remain memorable that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

We are new. But, the teachers and administration seem very attentive and good. The students seem respectful. The curriculum seems great. The students are grouped by ability so everyone gets the attention and pace they need. There are uniforms and jeans Fridays. Best of both worlds. Very looking forward to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

My grand daughter has been going here for 3 years and loves it. She has never came home and said she had any problems. I hope that continues. She is always talking about her teachers and how nice they are, but you know, as kids get older their opinions change. I hope she will always love it there.


Posted August 3, 2012

In response to the Aug 3 post regarding Mr. Kroeker - he can be tough on the kids but that is beause he cares. He can be a little sarcastic but he would never intentionally hurt the kids feelings. This is our 8th year at Hearn, one is now a Senior in high school, one a 6th grader and one in 1st grade. Our 2 oldest have had Mr. Kroeker and he is by far one of the most dedicated, liked teachers in the upper grades. When he was teaching 5th grade there was a waiting list for the kids who wanted in his class. It is my belief that anyone who makes these types of complaints about a teacheris the type of person with very thin skin who like to cause problems.That or something didn't go their way and they want to cause problems. I havent' met the new principal yet but I hear she is fantastic and wants the best for the kids which is why she chose Mr. Kroeker to teach the middle school math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2012

music teachers is mean and not that great at music, she yells at the kids. Janitor yells at the kids and has no right too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

I just happened on this web-site and was surprised by the low ratings I saw. Obviously people in this area don't know what a good school looks like. My daughter graduated from Hearn in 2011. She was so well prepared for high school that it has been a breeze. The standards at Hearn are set very high but the students for the most part meet those standards. Kids these days are told they are incapable when the standards are low. Sure, they will complain at first but they get a great sense of satisfaction when they acheive at Hearn. They will (like my daughter) chuckle when they see how weak their fellow students are in high school, students who attended the average elementary school. I am very grateful for the strong start Hearn gave my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

I had to remove my daughter from this school. There were a couple girls that were bullying her and we brought it to the principals attention. The principal fourced my daughter to sit in the same room as the children that had been bullying here and "hash out" their problems! I was mortified and my daughter has been an emotional wreak since. With all the information out now days regarding bullying, you would think that the principal of all people would know this is the number one thing you never do. I'm still completely shocked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

This year will be my son's 8th grade year. He has been at Hearn Academy for all 8 years including kindergarten. I have been truly impressed with this school. The teachers all truly care about their students. Dr. Vert, the principal, runs a tight ship and does not allow any violence or misbehavior. It is comforting to know your child will be safe at this school. Finally, the curriculum is very well thought-out. Each student's performance is monitored and measured to ensure maximum performance. I will miss the teachers and the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

I really like Hearn. My kids all enjoy the school. I really like that they allow children to make honor roll k-8 grades. It teaches the children very early on to strive for good grades, giving recognition to those who do. I also like that my kids get to go to their level that they test into for math and language arts instead of being stuck in a class that's either too easy or too hard for them. Overall I would have rated the school higher, my only reason for not doing so is there has been a high teacher turn over. You never know year to year who will still be there. I also do agree with other posts about the principal having a not so nice attitude. Alot more goes into being a principal than managing the money. She can be very abrasive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

Hearn has great staff, very caring. The principal deserves recognition for her fiscal responsibility, she is very frugal and watches the money closely allowing Hearn to have the money it needs to be succesful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

Many teachers at Hearn go above and beyond. Especially the ones that have been there for years. Ms Engel, Mrs. Ehnes, Mr. Kroeker, and Mr. Traud have been a part of so many programs. Its a pleasure to see so many dedicated teachers that my children can look up to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

This school has some really great teachers that go above & beyond for the students. The school allow children to rotate up or down to their level of acedemics, getting away from the typical one size fits all education. I really do love that about the program. The biggest down fall of this school is the principal. She is absolutely horrible, treating both students and parents disrespectfully. The school could also take a bit of time working with their lunch aids who I have personally watched scream at the children and fourcing them to eat their lunches. I had to laugh when I read the post from Feb 9,2012. You can tell that is written by a school employee! Yes, you have some great teachers, yes they do differential grouping, yes they are an A school, this is all true and why i like it for my kids. but the principle is terrible and her attitude has rubbed off on some of her staff making it a very unpleasant environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

This is really a wonderful school with an A rating from the state. They have Advanced Placement, differentiated grouping, lots of afterschool activities and sports, 1000 hours of parent volunteering a month, and a great staff office and prinipal. Come check out this great school yourself. Looks like Greatschools has some ratings here by competitors who are jealous!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 22% 42%
Black 8% 5%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 896-1997

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17606 N. 7th Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85022
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 896-9160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT