Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8 & Ungraded
Public charter
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 597
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 4

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Hearn is a little better than average. It has the potential to be great if it could get organized and communicate better with and respect families and the individuality of the students. It also needs some extracurricular activities. There were none for the lower elementary grades last year. No chess club, no sports etc. and no one could provide any information about whether or not anything would be offered. We were told to keep checking. Why not offer music lessons, karate, yoga, foreign language, chess or any club? Parents are willing to pay for the convenience of having it at school. I bet you could even get a parent or two to volunteer to hold the class a few days a week for a month or two. I would!

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Some are good, some need to be re-trained and to learn how to explain concepts.


A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Hearn got the homework right. It is not too much where kids are spending all day in school and then all night doing school work. Hearn does not expect parents to do all of the homework for the kids like some other charter schools. Hearn does not expect kids to spend all of their free time doing homework.

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers do not respect the students or parents. So, it is hard to imagine that the school is developing respect in its students. For instance, one teacher dumps out students' desks in front of the whole class when they are messy. How rude and disrespectful. Another teacher denies children's requests to use the restroom. Another teacher does not like boys and says they are always in trouble because girls are better behaved. One of these same teachers also mocks students and tells them they can't be good at everything. This gives students a complex and makes them think they aren't meant to achieve. Teachers need to realize their impact on students. It is not an easy job but they need better training at this school (and every public school I have ever heard of around Phoenix).

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
The school tries to impart these values through its awards ceremonies. However, there seems to be a double standard. The teachers do not always treat the kids fairly...especially boys. Normal childhood behavior is sometimes blown out of proportion and the teachers try to tell the parents to punish their kids at home. Well, they have received enough punishment at school. It is unhealthy to punish a child ALL OF THE TIME for silly things like whispering to a friend, putting his homework in the wrong folder, etc. Teaching good habits does not mean giving every kid a complex and making them think they are bad. Get some common sense alternatives here! Stop with the lunch detentions!


A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Leadership cares about the kids, how they interact with others, adults and authorities and strive to develop a sense of community. You will always hear children being coached to make good choices. They are given the ability to choose and are treated with respect and love. The administration and staff clearly exhibit a caring and understanding demeanor.

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 5

Posted June 08, 2015
- a community member
Hearn Academy is great school! I disagree with the previous comment that Hearn is a feeder school for the bad kids. Hearn Academy has amazing kids that work hard to excel and are polite and caring. I toured the school prior to enrolling my child and found the students to be so polite and friendly. I had many students stopping just to say hi to me and my child as we toured the campus.

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
I am very surprised by the negative reviews that some people have posted, I couldn't disagree with them more. I have been an involved parent for about 7 years and I can honestly tell you that Hearn Academy is on of the best schools in Phoenix. It is a wonderful school that cares about children. I love the family atmosphere and the high academic standards. I LOVE all the teachers and administration staff!!! And I haven't seen any bullying and I know they have zero tolerance for bullying. Hearn has exceeded my expectations and I know if you truly get involved in the school and your child's education you'll agree with me.


A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Some of the staff has great hearts, morals and values. Kathy Griener is amazing, as well as a few other staff members but it's pointless when the rest of the staff is rude, harassing, and degrading to the students.

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 3

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went there from 1st till she graduated 8th grade. At first the school was great. Absolutely loved it I had no complaints. Then a few years ago the school fell apart. Parents who did not work there would harass and grab other people's children and the staff Even though they saw it would not do anything. Even some of the staff talks inappropriate to the students. The bullying is bad as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
17606 N. 7th Ave, Phoenix, AZ  85022
(602) 896-9160
Last modified A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 155 reviews. Top