Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8 & Ungraded|Public charter
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
139 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 189 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
I have two children in this school, and one is even in a 'dreaded' 2nd grade classroom. I have never witnessed anything resembling what has been described. This is a unique learning atmosphere where children are encouraged in a positive manner and should be held up as a standard to what education should strive to be. And to clear the record, neither of my children have been deprived of the lack of restrooms or drinking water lol. I wish good luck to the parents suggesting other schools are far better, here is one parent that hopes you enroll your child there immediately!

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 2

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I recently walked into a second grade classroom and saw kids with their heads down, kids walking around and kids talking to each other while the teacher was at the board teaching. She started to clap and holler at the class to try to get control but it was not working. I quickly left after dropping off what I needed to. However, at least she isn't the 2nd grade desk dumper teacher who believes humiliating kids is the right disciplinary action. I have no idea about the other 2nd grade teacher. Hopefully she is better. But there is a huge disparity in the quality of teachers. Some are very mean and scary while others are smart and nice. Some classes learn very little and the teacher lacks control of the class. And admin is clueless and apathetic. There needs to be some school wide policies on how teachers can treat students. The vulgarity from children and parents is disturbing. The adult content to child conversations is appalling. It is only the people who have no knowledge about learning theory and child development who could think this is an appropriate learning environment. The testing process is a farce as is the AP claim. AP classes exist only in name and not substance. All of the classes do the same work. Some kids get stuck in the lower tracks and can never move up even though they are doing the same work as the "AP" class. The parking lot/drop off and pick up situation is a complete nightmare. There are an alarming number of fender bender and pedestrian accidents. This is despite the hardworking parent volunteers. Maybe the principal could come out more and talk to the rule violaters. Hearn is a teach to the lowest denominator school. Kids at or above grade level are not given a chance to learn. There is also a huge turnover. Don't expect your child's friends to be at Hearn for more than a year or two. He or she will have to make new friends throughout the year and from year to year. Send your child to one of the higher rated charter schools in the area of you want them to have a chance to learn and have nice friends. Those schools have waiting lists for a reason!


A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2015
- a community member
I love Hearn Academy. I don't understand some of the negative comments on this sight. Many don't seem to be based on fact but rather the ranting and raving of an unhappy person. In my experience, Hearn Academy is a very loving, compassionate school. There are some really wonderful teachers and staff members who work hard every day to make Hearn Academy a positive learning environment.

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Selma from Husky Club might possibly be the nicest person in the world. Thank you Selma for the hard work you do with the kids before and after school.

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
I have nothing but compliments for Hearn Academy’s teachers, administration, and office staff. The teachers are readily accessible and available to students and parents, and they respond quickly to emails, answering questions and addressing parental concerns in a professional manner. The teachers believe in the students, and they don’t give up on the student who needs “just a little more.” In fact, Hearn’s teachers don’t hesitate to stay after school to help those students achieve and succeed. Dr. Leo manages the school professionally, and has surrounded herself with teaching professionals who care genuinely about the students, who take the care and education of our children seriously, and who want our children to succeed. The discipline policy is fair and age appropriate. The teachers are consistent and evenhanded with their discipline, and they do not allow a few students to disrupt the school or the classroom. I recommend Hearn Academy to anyone looking for a great school!


A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 5

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
My child was kicked out of another school in Kindergarten for his outbursts. I brought all of my children to Hearn when he entered first grade. His teacher took him under her wing and helped him to thrive. He is now in third grade and loves school. My other children have also had good experiences at Hearn. I want to thank all of their teachers for their dedication.

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 5

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
Hearn Academy is a wonderful school. The teachers go above and beyond for their students. Our children are happy here and really love their school and their teachers.

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 2

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
The campus is cute and clean. The teachers though...we have only had two kind hearted teachers in all of our years here. And it gets worse each year. Teachers are apparently tired of low pay and overcrowded classrooms, are burnt out and taking it out on the children. If children really were the priority here the teachers would respect them. Very punitive school here. The point is not to teach and learn here but to sit still, be quiet and question nothing while teachers yell, scream, berate and degrade and terrify little kids. If parents treated their kids this way they would be turned over to CPS. Why teachers are allowed to at this school is a mystery. Glad this is our final year. The math program is weak and getting weaker. The AP classes are a joke and probably won't exist much longer anyway with this current leadership who wants everyone to be the same. No one can explain the disciplinary procedure so teachers keep kids in for recess on a daily basis for whatever they feel like. Some kids are never let out to recess at all. Awful. I would suggest all the teachers and admin have to sit through just one day as s student so they can feel what it is like to sit at a desk all day long and be scared and screamed and yelled at and have no control over anything. See how tired they would be and how hard it is when you are told you can't go to the bathroom, you can't stretch your legs when you need to, you can't drink your water when you are thirsty, you can't ask questions or offer suggestions. Just sit still alllll day. And then have your only physical activity, your only break stolen from you because you squirmed in your chair after sitting in the same position for 3 hours or whatever other nonsense the teachers excuse taking away a child's only break. Even at work we are allowed a lunch and breaks. Very sad this school can't respect childhood enough to at least coincide with workers' rights.


A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
The school is really clean and the first impression is very positive. The teachers encourage students to work hard and study. The principal is always available when I come by and takes the time to listen. It is clear why Hearn is an A rated charter school.

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
Leadership cares about the kids, how they interact with others, adults and authorities and strive to develop a sense of community. You will always hear children being coached to make good choices. They are given the ability to choose and are treated with respect and love. The administration and staff clearly exhibit a caring and understanding demeanor.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy
17606 N. 7th Ave, Phoenix, AZ  85022
(602) 896-9160
Last modified A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
A Ball Charter School - Hearn Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 189 reviews. Top