Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hopi Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2010

i truly think Hopi is an exceptional school with many different types of activities to engage the children. I have two girls, one in fourth grade and one in second. Neither have been bullied nor do they have problems with cliques or other issues. Every teacher my children have had have been amazing. the entire staff, from front office, to custodians, to teacher support are amazing. I feel the parental involvement is outstanding as is the dedicated PTA. For those who have issues with other parents at the school i find that you get out what you put in. I for one feel that most parents are caring and thoughtful, however some are not there to be your best friend. remember it is a school! however, Hopi is a very social school as there are so many parents always on campus assisting a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

I have 2 children currently attending Hopi and have had one graduate and move on to middle school. What I like best about Hopi? The number one asset this school has is parental involvement (mostly in the lower grades). The administration and faculty are phenomenal. We have never had a 'bad' teacher and as a matter of fact, choosing who we want for the next year has been a problem. There are too many great teachers to choose from! Neither my son nor daughter have any problems with bullying and I find other children at the school to be well behaved and respectful. So happy we moved into the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I have 2 children at Hopi and a 3rd starting kindergarten next year. I have been very happy with the school. We have never had a bad teacher--all are extemely caring and dedicated to academic and social success. The current principal. Lori Colling, is very accessible to parents and truly wants both parents and children to have a good experience. I have never had a bullying problem, but I will say there is a certain degree of 'social pressure' especially for girls, which I think occurs in all upper-middle class schools. Other parents are generally friendly, though there are of course the occassional snobs. All-in-all, we love Hopi and are glad to be a part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

While there are cliques at Hopi, I've found cliques at other schools as well, including private Christian schools. I have found that the children at Hopi are, for the most part, respectful and well behaved. They are also eager to learn. My advice is to teach your child what a friend is and how to be one to someone else. Teaching by example is important too, as is having a spiritual and community base from which to glean wisdom and experience. Home schooling is certainly an option for some, but I am not willing to walk away from our public education system. When teachers, parents and administrators work together, children benefit. We have been very happy with Hopi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

I had two older children go through Hopi and we all loved it. My youngest is 7 years younger and in that time the school changed. It is populated with bullies and the parents are bullies. The administration and teachers try very hard but the type of parents who have moved into the neighborhood have ruined an excellent school. We home school now and my son has never been happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Hopi is better than most public schools in the area, and the parental involvement is the difference. However, we've been disappointed with our children's education in the upper grades and are now considering private schools. We are discovering that the private schools are often a full grade ahead of Hopi, so our kids will have a hard time transitioning. The cliques at Hopi can be really difficult, especially for shy children. The girls have been particularly difficult.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2006

I am a student at Hopi, and I love it. All the teachers are kind! Hopi is the place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2006

Hopi is a wonderful school! It has quality academic programs. Like any AZ public school, it is suffering somewhat from budget cuts. Some quality teachers are needing to be laid off, but that is about the only problem. The kids are great. The acdemics are wonderful. They make sure you know how to read by 1st grade! Not many public schools can provide that. It is also generally safe and free from bullies. It has a great art program, with a great art teacher. The sports are great, with all kinds of different sports choices. Music is great. In 5th grade you can take chorus, and they have band and strings available beginning in 4th grade. The parents are very involved in making sure the school is as clean and they really make sure the teachers are good and the activities are hands-on and academically enrciching. I would highly recommend Hopi!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

I moved here from Philadelpha this summer and picked this neighborhood so we could enroll into Hopie, per the stats I saw posted on Great School site. Since we are now less then 30 days from the end of the year I can say I am extremeley happy with the teachers and the extracurricular activities which we have taken part in. We are happy with all that goes on in Hopie and which we can get more involved next year. I want to expres my thanks to all those parents who had the time to help out in the classrooms, and wish I was able to to the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

My son goes to Hopi, and he has learned so much while attending this school...staff is absolutely wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

A lot of people move to the Arcadia Neighborhood for this school. I have heard that it is as close to a private school education you can get from a public school. The Dad's club has been very successful in putting computers and internet access into the school. Problems I see is that it only goes to 5th grade and that the ethnic/cultural diversity is not there -- mostly upper income white children -- not real world, especially for Arizona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

This school is great academically. It rates very high. There is a high level of parent involvement. The one thing I really do not like is that there isn't a mix of culturally diverse children. There is a lot of money in this school, which is good and bad. There is a lot of funding from parents, although on the down side, I feel children aren't being given a realistic expectation on what this world is really like and the fact that the majority of people living in the United States are not extremely wealthy like the majority of the parents whose children attend Hopi. This world and country is extremely diverse and I want my child to understand that and love all people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

Excellent acadademics and parental involvement is phenomenol. A wonderful school! The only downside is the plethora of stay at home mom's that can be so cliquey and fake, keeping up with the Jones's should be the banner at this school, of course this has nothing to do with the education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

So far Hopi has been a great school. The only thing that has been lacking is the communication from the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2003

Hopi has many Cliques, when it comes to parents and kids. It can be very difficult for a new student to come in and be socially accepted. The parents have been very stand offish and snobbish and the kids can be relentlessly cruel. Unless your child is rich, white and very smart and has an attitude worse than the kids going there already, I would not suggest this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2003

Hopi is an excellent school academically. The standards are very high, and the school makes a huge effort to bring all students up to the standard. On the down side, it has minimal diversity (almost all white well-to-do families, many non-working mothers), and it is a very traditional and conservative curriculum. But it works! Socially, if you don't fit the mold it can be difficult.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Hispanic 10% 43%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5110 E. Lafayette Blvd.
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT