Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
106 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 125 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horizon Honors Secondary School 1

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
I found out that I have high functioning autism as an adult. The teachers at this school never once mentioned to my mother that I might have to be evaluated for any kind of learning disability. While I was showing many signs of needing to be evaluated, the teachers were telling other students to "just ignore her". Well, being ignored for years has now cost me important time in my life where I needed to learn special skills to further my education and become a capable adult. So, my advice to the teachers and parents is to take warning signs very seriously. These are human lives you're dealing with and you could end up costing someone their childhood and furthering problems through adulthood.

Horizon Honors Secondary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
Students are taught to ignore struggling students. Which results in bullying and serious superiority complexes.


Horizon Honors Secondary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
Students at this school are not treated fairly. Troubled students are placed to the side so "normal" students can continue learning.

Horizon Honors Secondary School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Our daughter began attending Horizon in sixth grade. She is now in the ninth grade. The teachers are passionate, the curriculum is rigorous, and teaches students to critically think. The school is preparing students for the future by motivating them to think critically, analyze, and synthesize information. We have been very pleased with the school, administration, and teachers. Great option to overcrowded Kyrene schools, which we have also experienced. Kyrene, in contrast has a lack of focus on academics and more focus on technology.

Horizon Honors Secondary School 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
I was a parent for many years and I am now a staff member. I loved it as a parent and I love it even more as staff. These teachers are really working very hard for your kids. I am behind the scenes and I see it. I have moved around and been to many schools. Horizon outranks everything out there in the Kyrene district hands down.


Horizon Honors Secondary School 3

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
We reviewed this school among other top charter (BASIS) and private schools (Phoenix Country Day and New Vistas) for it's elementary program. We were disappointed. The tour was given by two fifth grade students which we felt was unprofessional. Any serious school offers tours by teachers or faculty members. We are seeking a school with some diversity as we feel this enhances the educational process. Upon first glance, some of the classrooms were all white while other classes had only 1 or 2 minority students. The kindergarten classes appeared small with 25-30 kids cramped into one class. They had 4 of these rooms. Hot meals are also not provided to kindergarten students. I also didn't appreciate how grade levels are merged into the same classroom. Kindergarten was separate but the other classes were arranged with 1-2, 3-4, 5-6 being in the same class rooms. I had the opportunity to observe one of the first grade teachers reading a book. It was a picture book with large big print. My child is 4 yo and can read that now. I can't imagine that they would read that to 6-7 year olds. It's a fine school but not for families seeking the most academically rigorous one.

Horizon Honors Secondary School 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
I have three children in High School attending Horizon Community Learning Center. I am extremely happy with the education they are receiving. The teachers and staff are excellent. All of my children are thriving!!! Anyone can make negative comments, but the US News rankings speak louder! Way to go Horizon, #8 in the state and climbing! I'm proud to say my children attend this school.

Horizon Honors Secondary School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
The constant assault on HCLC in favor of Mountain Pointe and DV should be put to rest now that the US News rankings are out. Contrary to what so many seem to claim, Horizon is not just a top school in the state. It's a top school in the country -- gold medal and in the top 3%. I'm sure that Mountain Pointe is a fine school. But it does not outperform Horizon, It is ranked lower in all measures - tests, college readiness, all of it. Easily fact-checked at US News and World Reports. It's too bad an organized smear campaign is rendering the ratings here meaningless.


Horizon Honors Secondary School 1

Posted April 04, 2014
- a community member
School for misfits and parents who believe in protecting their kids, not a match for other High Schools, Mountain Pointe and DVHS wipe the floor with them, their students are no match for Tempe High School students, look at Nat Merit, SAT scores, EC's. Horizon is a school for ill-fitting, mal-adjusted, otherwise home-schooled students

Horizon Honors Secondary School 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
I love the school. My daughter loves the school. My daughter is now in 6th grade and I have made it clear to her she can always go somewhere else and she has no desire to leave. Her grades are excellent, she is engaged in her education and if it gets too easy, they bump her up and make it harder.

Nearby schools

Horizon Honors Secondary School
16233 S. 48th St., Phoenix, AZ  85048
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 125 reviews. (480) 659-3000
Last modified Horizon Honors Secondary School is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top