Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Jacobs Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 613 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2014

John Jacobs is an A+ school. Parents, Teachers, Community all come together every year. My daughter has been attending John Jacobs since Pre-School, she is now in Third grade. Great School & Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

As a parent of 2 children who have completed all 7 yrs at JJ and 1 still attending i can honestly say I love everything about JJ. The teachers are wonderful and some of them have been there for over 15 yrs which tell you something about them. The Principal who has been there for the past 2 yrs in a great principal as well as a good person. I watch him interact w/ the students and they love him. The front office staff is always right on top of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

Update on the review I posted here two years ago: All our children have attended John Jacobs. It is a great neighborhood school in the middle of a solid neighborhood with much to offer. Teachers are dedicated and professional, with good team mentoring and a range of career stages. Adminsitrative staff are exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful. Classrooms are clean, well kept up and cheerful. Parent involvement is encouraged; there are many opportunities to plug in and serve; the PTO is active and well-led. I am pleased to see a complete turnaround in leadership since the new Principal, Nick Gupton, came on board last year. He is engaged and organized, obviously loves the students, and puts a lot of energy and time into involving parents and solving problems. John Jacobs is among the best in WESD, and has bright prospects with its new, engaged Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

My children have attended this school for the last 5 years. It is a wonderful school- Lots of community and parent involvement, the teachers are excellent and so is the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

This is an awesome school. My child has gone here since kindergarten. Mr. Gupton, the principal is superb! He goes out of his way to help students and parents. My child had a problem this year and he immediately got involved and solved the problem. He is there early and stays late. He is at every event ready to help and ALWAYS positive and full of energy. The teachers all give more than 100% as well. Great place to send a child. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

my son is now in 1st grade at john jacobs. i am sad to say that after new principle came in this year the school has gone down hill. he has no interest in parent involvement. Kindergarten was excellent. His teacher was everything a kindergarten should be. But 1st grade was a huge dissappointment. I am pulling my son out of this school for 2nd grade or replace the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

August, 2010.. I have to say this year is off to a wonderful start with a New Principle. Joy seems to be lurking all around the school these days.. This school has always been great with one exception but now the future looks promising. School just started this month and already, I see Unity in Parents, teachers, students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

NOT HAPPY HERE AT ALL.... My daughter is new this year and eager to learn. With that being said this school has been a joke!!! The principle is a great grant writer and thats it. She has NO leadership skills at all nor does she have any concern for a childs education. I was notified at conference time, by the teacher that my child had not turned in 1 homework assignment. Why wasnt i contacted after the third week of missing work?? This is caring and looking out for the childs best interest?? I think not!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

6 years ago we were so happy to be entering our daughter to this school. Now I am very disappointed . 5th grade was a disaster. My child was missing classes to go to 'gifted' reading class and violin. Teachers did not help her to keep up on what she missed. Mid-term sent home , my child was getting 3's in 3 of her classes due to missing assignments. All were done, but not turned in. I was shocked that the teachers did not even think twice to contact me. All was taken in stride. This year 6th grade, looking to find another school. Did not put my daughter in gited program. She is not wanting to miss any reg. classes. Do not feel she is being challenged. Class size is 32 to 33 kids, most do not care. Teachers cancel partys due to bad behavior. Principle hides from parents......sad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Not happy here at all, my daughter is new, in the 5th grd started attending this year. Her homeroom teacher is 'laid-back' I'm told by the principle, we are not getting much to any homework from any of her studies. The principle isn't a fan of homework, so my daughter does must of her's during class time. She reads books during class time and she crafts with yarn (supplied by her teacher) during class time. Really were is the education that should be happening during class time? My daughter has missed a week of school due to flu caught at school, on Monday I requested homework, so here we are on Thursday and yet to get it. Shouldn't I be concerned?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

All of our children have attended John Jacobs. The teachers are wonderful despite the fact that they have to deal with a leader who has absolutely no leadership skills. Thank goodness our children are done there; as most of the awesome support staff has either quit or been run off. JJ used to be one of the best schools to bad it is going down the drain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

Unfortunately my son was only able to attend here one year in Kindergarten. We loved it and are sad that we are moving away. My son is highly intelligent and also has ADHD, which can mean a lot of extra work for teachers! Teachers and staff went out of there way to make school a positive experience for him. The literacy lab was wonderful and really helped him. I wish that there was a stronger phonics base in the curriculum, but overall I am very happy with John Jacobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This school has gone way downhill since the prior Principle Mrs. MacArthur left. There is lack of leadership and communication. What's up with all the women and only two men in the entire school? I feel men are better disciplinarians, which is what this school lacs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

i relly like this school


Posted July 18, 2007

Everyone is nice and fair. You dicapline us very well and everyone cares abuot the students and each a lot even if they don't get along to well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2007

My son has attended this school since kindnegarten I love it. He is special needs and I was amazed at the progress he has made here. When he first started he would barely talk, and I saw immediate improvments! When you walk in it just feels good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

My daughter is in 5th grade and continues to absolutely love school. She started at JJ in 2nd grade and I have to say she has not had a teacher that we both didn't like. They have been caring and dedicated. There are plenty of opportunities for parental involvement. The principal encourages this and her enthusiasm for her school is very obvious as she is a great advocate for both the students and teachers. Due to budget cuts a couple of years ago they lost the availability of orchestra which was disappointing, however beyond the control of the school itself. I am always proud to say that my child attends JJ. She is getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

The staff and leadership of John Jacobs school go above and beyond what any parent would expect of a school. The teachers care about the students and want them to succeed. They take the time and make the effort to help students achieve their goals.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 11, 2006

My son is currently in first grade and attended kindergarten at John Jacob's. I could not be happier with the entire staff. The principal is involved, the teachers are kind, caring, and communicative!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

I have 2 children one still attends John Jacobs the other went K-6. John Jacobs is a great school. The teachers and principal do a great job making sure the kids are well taken care of and get the education they need. Keep up the great work. You all are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 43%
White 46% 42%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nick Gupton
Fax number
  • (602) 896-5720

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14421 N 23rd Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85023
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 896-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT