Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kyrene Centennial Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
I don't remember his name. He taught Spanish. I remember he married someone from Mexico

Kyrene Centennial Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
A teacher is more than someone who stands in front of the class and gives out homework.


Kyrene Centennial Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
I feel like not everyone was treated equally. I guess if you have money then you're more important

Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
In the 8 years that I have had kids at CMS, I have never had a bad experience. The teachers have always been willing to work with me to help my kids. They meet with me, they email me, they call me whenever my kids need help. The teachers are involved in clubs and sports and are passionate about getting kids involved. CMS now has a dynamic principal, Jocelyn Sims, who has brought new ideas with her from an urban Minnesota school and has completely changed our school. Students now take pride in their school and responsibility for their own educations by stating learning goals in each class and striving to achieve these goals. They keep track of their grades and know what they need to do to ace their exams. The teachers have completely bought into a new grading scheme and an environment that makes them feel like they are part of the solution to issues CMS has had in the past. Many of the changes Ms Sims has instituted are being instituted in other schools and the Kyrene School District including the Standards based heading scheme CMS is using and an innovative scheduling system that evens out the pods. I would like everyone to know that any review that came before 2013 is mostly likely irrelevant because everything is different about CMS these days. People who badmouth this school probably are just repeating what they've heard in the past. There is no comparison to the CMS of the past couple of principals and the CMS under this principal!

Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
This is our fourth year at Centennial. Our older graduated last year and youngest just finished 6th grade. The school is fantastic, amazing principal who will always put the kids needs first. Administrator and teacher are supportive and again kids education is first priority. Great academic and social experience. We are very happy.


Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
I have 3 children attending the Centennial/Colina schools and could not be happier with the administration, leadership and teaching they have received. I would not want them to go anywhere else.

Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a community member
I spoke to my neighbor and his kid about Centennial to get their feedback in preparation for my own kids' future middle school plans. They both had nothing but good things to say about the school. They said it was a good community of kids and it was a safe positive learning environment. They also felt the instruction was great and challenging enough for the student. My neighbor also said he wouldn't change their decision if he had to do it over again.

Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
After reading the comments below, I wanted to point out that many of them are from a few years ago. Great things are happening at this school with the addition of a great new principal! This is a great place to send your child! We have loved our last 3 years and the experiences at CMS!


Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a teacher
Our school puts students' learning at the top of its priorities. Centennial's staff is willing and able to step up to any challenge.

Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at Centennial and it has been a wonderful experience! The staff is amazing, dedicated and knowledgeable in their subject areas. The principal Jocelyn Sims in her second year here has provided leadership that is well respected by the students, staff and community. There are many opportunities for students and parents to get involved. I would highly recommend CMS and encourage anyone who would like to know more about the school to come meet Mrs. Sims and take a tour.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kyrene Centennial Middle School
13808 S. 36th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85044
(480) 783-4000
Last modified Kyrene Centennial Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kyrene Centennial Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top