Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kyrene Centennial Middle School 1

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
My son just got promoted last night, and I am EXTREMELY happy he no longer has to deal with this VERY poor excuse of an administrative staff! Tiffany Jump (8th grade dean of students) and Jocelyn Sims (principal) did EVERYTHING in their power to try and break my child! Jocelyn Sims is leaving and I hope they NEVER trust another child in her care! And Tiffany Jump needs to be fired as well! DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN HERE!

Kyrene Centennial Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
Officer Cortez! He really had my son's back after Tiffany Jump (8th grade dean of students) and Jocelyn Sims (principal) did EVERYTHING in their power to try and break my child. Thank YOU officer Cortez!


Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
We love Cenntennial, great teachers, amazing athletics programs! My son had 3 fantastic years and we are super excited for our 5th grader to be a Sabercat! Mrs. Sims the schools (former) principal is amazing! Whoever takes her place has some really big shoes to fill. I took a chance on this school after hearing those old rumors, and its been nothing but a great ride academically for our son. I will say the old stigma about PTO moms is well alive at that school. If you aren't friends with the current president don't bother asking to help or be involved with any activity that involves the PTO.

Kyrene Centennial Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
I am so sad to see Mrs. Sims leave. She was a great principal who really turned around the school.

Kyrene Centennial Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
I don't remember his name. He taught Spanish. I remember he married someone from Mexico


Kyrene Centennial Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
A teacher is more than someone who stands in front of the class and gives out homework.

Kyrene Centennial Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
I feel like not everyone was treated equally. I guess if you have money then you're more important

Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
In the 8 years that I have had kids at CMS, I have never had a bad experience. The teachers have always been willing to work with me to help my kids. They meet with me, they email me, they call me whenever my kids need help. The teachers are involved in clubs and sports and are passionate about getting kids involved. CMS now has a dynamic principal, Jocelyn Sims, who has brought new ideas with her from an urban Minnesota school and has completely changed our school. Students now take pride in their school and responsibility for their own educations by stating learning goals in each class and striving to achieve these goals. They keep track of their grades and know what they need to do to ace their exams. The teachers have completely bought into a new grading scheme and an environment that makes them feel like they are part of the solution to issues CMS has had in the past. Many of the changes Ms Sims has instituted are being instituted in other schools and the Kyrene School District including the Standards based heading scheme CMS is using and an innovative scheduling system that evens out the pods. I would like everyone to know that any review that came before 2013 is mostly likely irrelevant because everything is different about CMS these days. People who badmouth this school probably are just repeating what they've heard in the past. There is no comparison to the CMS of the past couple of principals and the CMS under this principal!


Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
This is our fourth year at Centennial. Our older graduated last year and youngest just finished 6th grade. The school is fantastic, amazing principal who will always put the kids needs first. Administrator and teacher are supportive and again kids education is first priority. Great academic and social experience. We are very happy.

Kyrene Centennial Middle School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
I have 3 children attending the Centennial/Colina schools and could not be happier with the administration, leadership and teaching they have received. I would not want them to go anywhere else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kyrene Centennial Middle School
13808 S. 36th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85044
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (480) 783-4000
Last modified Kyrene Centennial Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top