Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kyrene De La Esperanza School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 555 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

My experience with this school has been very pleasant.the teachers are well trained,friendly ,caring,and open minded.The teaching is great and the curriculum challenging.....my child loved this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

Last year was our first year at Esperanza and we are so glad that we chose to send three of our children hear. The staff is out of this world!!!! Dr. Green is great and some how manages to know the majority of her students by name which says a lot about how much she truly cares for them. I highly recommend sending you student to Esperanza where they are sure to get the outstanding education that they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Wow I can't understand why there aren't any up to date reviews. This school is fanwondertastic!! From the curriculum to the grounds keeping its great. My daughter really liked her last school in P.A. but she really loves Esperanza she loves learning and she is excelling what more can you ask for? I would like to thank the entire staff for being FANWONDERTASTIC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

Excellent school! If you are an IT professional you will love it. It is very well equiped. Also has great library and music room. The teachers are wonderful and so creative with the teaching methods. Love the math games. The teachers are well educated and my daughter loves going to school. Parent-teacher communication is excellent. The principal is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

The school is great. My son started off in November of last year, and looked forward to school everyday. Coming from GA where he was not being challenged, he was able to get acclomated to the curriculum with the extra help from his teacher. The teachers are always smiling, and the principal is available. Being an IT professional, I would have to say that all the technology is comparable to what's in the offices of major companies. I can't wait for him to go back and start the 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

Kindergarten is wonderful if you get the right teacher. Every year 1 or 2 teachers are hired last minute because enrollment numbers change so drastically late in the summer. These may be wonderful teachers, but in the 3 years I have been there I have seen these "new" teachers get some of the most difficult students. It is not fair to the teacher nor the students. I have had wonderful and caring teachers there, but kindergarten is tricky. We won't be going back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

Awesome school and I love my daughters Kindergarten teacher. She has learned so much. Unfortuanately we are relocating to the East Coast after the school year. Otherwise we would definitely continue my child's education here. Mrs Roja's your are a wonderful teacher, very patient and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

Excellent communication between the staff and parents. Wonderful staff all around, seem in tune with the community and the kids needs. Diverse in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

Esperanza has an amazing staff second to none. I have two kids in the school. The teachers are wonderful, competent, and go above and beyond expectations. Administration is a joke however. There is no leader, and the expectations are low. There is no dicipline from the top, and unruly kids are growing in numbers. The teachers do their best, but I think a principal should step in with some of the students in my son's class this year because the teacher should not have to deal with them all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

kyrene schools special ed is a little behind.... took them too long to get my child help... now that we are gone and moved to another state I see how far behind he fell because of the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

My oldest son has passed through Esperanza from K-5th. The overall experience was fine. There were a couple years with teachers that I felt were not at all a good match for my son. 4th grade shuffled him through not thoroughly gaining foundational math basics making 5th grade a huge struggle. Some below average teachers but plenty who are very experienced and served the needs of the children. Great art and music programs. And lots opportunities for parent involvement and planned activities to include families. The parking lot/ drop off situation is absolutely ridiculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2006

Esperanza is a very good school. My son has attended the school for 2 years and will be in 5th grade in fall. His teachers have been excellent; caring and professional. His special needs / talents were identified and addressed quickly. I've never met an Esperanza parent who had anything but praise for the school and its teachers. My son has flourished there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

My son is just graduating from this school this year. Overall, I would say the quality was very good. He was a Gifted student and benefited greatly from the gifted programs available there. I also liked the majority of the teachers.. Grade: B+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

We moved to the area specifically for this school, and have been disappointed. One of our 2 children was transferred to another Kyrene school (our choice) due to bullying by a classmate. (verbal AND physical) the school did NOTHING! Also, we moved cross country, and found the curriculum to be poor, although I understand it is good for AZ? Both children are repeating the same work they did in their schools last year. My child does have a caring teacher. We let our youngest stay in the school because we had just moved, so we have kept very close eyes on what has gone on there. We found it somewhat amusing that they had an assembly on bullying, but they turned a blind eye to our situation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

Both of my children have attended Esperanza. The staff is OK and the teachers are caring. I guess this is supossed to be a great school. Can't say that for myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

Parents very welcomed and encouraged to volunteer. Extremely helpful/friendly teachers. Pro-active gifted learner identification and enrichment program. Positive environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

Above average, good staff, communication and computers available for most students, parents very involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

This is a well run, enthusiastic and caring school. Our three children have received top-notch educations in an environment that is conducive to learning. The only negative we have discovered as people that walk to school is the traffic problem during the commute to school - one which probably applies to most schools across the valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2003

I have a K and 3rd grader there. The staff (entire administration and teachers) of this school has been phenomenal. I wouldn't go anywhere else.


Posted March 30, 2003

Esperanza is a wonderful school where the teachers truly care about their students! My 2nd grader has had a fabulous experience!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Black 12% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14841 S. 41st Place
Phoenix, AZ 85044
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 783-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ambassador Academy
Phoenix, AZ






Kyrene del Milenio
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT