Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kyrene de la Sierra School

Public | K-5 | 675 students

Sierra is known for our excelling students, committed staff, and community .
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

My daughter has been going to Sierra 1st and now 2nd grade very challenging curriculum (reason why I picked this school) The staff and teachers are wonderful, helpful and care! I can not speak enough about the parent involvement it's AMAZING! This is an Amazing school for learning and community involvement. My daughter loves going to school and has made many friends. The demographics for this school is pretty amazing my daughter is mixed and this school is very diverse. A++ school here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

My daughter is in first grade and has been in this school since KG. I absolutely love this school and she loves going to school. The teachers take extra care, to the extent that her homeworks and classworks are customized. Safe and a nice locality for the school too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

The teachers at Sierra take extra time and care to meet each students individual needs. The students have an excellent learning environment and a strong sense of community. My son has been here for 3 years and has made good friends as well as learned beyond his years, through challenges and achievements. The curriculum is strong. The staff has great communication and is very attentive. Our family feels very secure with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

This school is the best in the valley. I have a 4th grader and 1st grader. When we moved to Sierra my older son was a total non reader (in 2nd). Now, because of all of the individualized attention and care he's fully caught up! The teachers (all of them) really care for and love my children. The secretaries, lunch ladies, and definitely the awesome principal and assistant principal. I'm so impressed not only with the teachers, but also the ladies in charge. It's really the ONLY choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Sierra is an amazing school. In fact, there is none finer in Kyrene ~ of Phoenix for that matter! The teachers are superb ~ all of them! The administration is new, but totally top notch. I have never met a more caring group of educators anywhere. I find it to be a big family, where everyone buys in and is involved. Sierra is definitely the place to be for educating children. I'm so happy I found it! In fact, I drive 15 minutes each day just to take my kids there. It's uncomparable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I can't say enough about the wonderful staff, educational opportunities and sense of community that you get at Sierra. We have had excellent teachers for the past 5 years and our children have excelled academically. The PTO and events are fabulous as well and the resources available to the students are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

This is a terrific school. Our son just finished here and is now off to advanced classes in his new middle school. Sierra identified his math and language arts level and placed him in the school's gifted program and he continues to excel. Our daughter will enter 2nd grade at Sierra this year and she is a different situation. Sierra gives her additional reading instruction as they correctly identified that she was a bit behind in that subject. In both cases with two different kids, I am very happy with this school. I agree with the person who said not to spend your money on a private school to instead save it for college. This school has continued to deliver to our family for the last six years and still going!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

Don't waste your money on a private school if your children are able to attend Sierra...save it for college! My 3rd and 5th graders just finished their second year at Sierra and it has been nothing short of amazing. When we moved to the area I researched all the available schools and this one really stood out! The administration puts a strong emphasis on reaching each child's potential while creating a positive atmosphere that makes learning fun. There's tons of parental involvement and plenty of extracurricular activities. Ideally the class sizes could be smaller but the quality of the teachers more than makes up for it. Our family couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

We have 2 children at Sierra and our 1st is leaving for 6th grade. Our experience has been nothing short of great. Staff really identifies with the children (their personalities and needs) and parents. I remember the first day of school 6 years back when I left my Kindergartener feeling so comfortable after the Principal and Librarian remembered not only my daughters name from 'Meet The Teacher' a week before but, ours as well. That was a good indicator for the many years of personalized attention I see the staff demonstrate daily. Because of the community feel, transitions between grades have been seamless . Even the Vice Principal hangs out in the lunch room and tells jokes/ pop trivia with pencil prizes. I wanted to share for new parents who are worried about the 1st day of school. Can't wait to do it all again with our incoming Kindergartener. Great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

This is our second year at Sierra and we couldn't be happier. The Principal is very personable and has a great rapport with the students. The teachers are equally wonderful. Last year we had a problem with an upper class student and discussed it with the teacher. The next day she directly addressed the problem and it was solved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I agree with recent reviews. While kids are excelling with the minimum standards - do not expect this school or this school district to keep excelling in math and science when compared nationally. Totally wrong direction for the math program. Classes are too big for individualized or differentiated instruction. Do not expect a kid in the upper half of the class to be well served. We're moving on...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

Needs better math curriculum, and better teachers & principal who are willing to challenge our children and have their best interests at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

i have an older child that went through Sierra and I loved it - then. I have a child there now and I am displeased with the large class sizes, new math curriculmn and the mgmt of the gifted program. All these things I tie to the principal -- he is in his 2nd year there and I do not like the direction of the school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

There is no better school in the Metro Phx Area! Period.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I'm on my second child going through Sierra, and I'm very happy with the curriculum and the education both of my children have received. I am also very happy with the new principal. He is very down to earth, and very approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

We feel very fortunate to take our children to this school. The staff is a true team and parents are heard. I have 2 children there... 2nd and 4th grade. They have really been supported by the teachers and both recent Principals moving year-to-year... seamless! The teachers truly do give individual attention and have proven by offering clearly planned additional instruction where needed. Parent involvement is very high and supported with flexible opportunities. From the moment you walk in the door you will feel welcome. It is a safe and enriching environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

Thrilled with Sierra. I have two there now, both have excelled and they enjoy going to school. The other families make Sierra very special. Many other parents know my kids. I feel my children are loved and supported by the families, teachers, office staff and principal. The new principal goes out of his way to reward good behavior, he even had lunch with my 1st grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

I have to say that Sierra Elementary School is an outstanding school. The staff and teachers are all wonderfull and really take the time to get to know your child. The only thing that I have to say is that last year when the principal resigned I was not sure how this school was going to recover from such a loss because of her excellence in what she did. Now that she is no longer here and our new principal has taken over, it just is not the same. Our former principal really took the time to get to know every one of the students and amazingly remembered almost every single students name. This new principal just feels like he does not get to know people on a personal level where as I felt the former principal did. This truly is an amazing school! I recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

Outstanding Gifted Resource Program. Music, PE and Art instruction available Parent involvement is outstanding. Very community oriented. Dedicated and caring teaching staff, administration and support staff,
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted January 8, 2006

We moved here two years ago from Weston, FL, an affluent suburb in the Ft. Lauderdale. This elementary school in Phoenix is far superior, from the principal, teaching staff, and the gifted resource program. My child was targeted for reading enrichment within the first week she attended the school. Now she's in the gifted program in language and non-verbal, but did not qualify in math, which would have excluded her from the program altogether in FL. She is thriving in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
Hispanic 10% 43%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • State Letter Grade "A" (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • "No Place for Hate" School (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • After school Enrichment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Lisa Connor
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (480) 460-1203

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • After school Enrichment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • After School Enrichment
  • Boy scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Kyrene Altadena Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1122 E Liberty Lane
Phoenix, AZ 85048
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 541-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Kyrene Monte Vista
Phoenix, AZ



Casa Vida
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT