Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kyrene De Las Lomas School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

This year is our 4th at Lomas, and while the teachers are wonderful and caring, the school falls short. There are way too many kids per teacher in each classroom for the teachers to be effective. Parental involvement is also low, so many kids don't receive personal attention at school unless they misbehave or qualify for Title I services. The kids are drilled and tested constantly, even in kindergarten. The principal barely communicates with parents. On the plus side, the office staff is wonderful...most parents know that they will respond to concerns a lot faster and more effectively than the principal does. I think with better leadership and more aids or parent volunteers, this school could do so much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

This is the 4th year my child attends Kyrene De Las Lomas. He is in 3rd grade and I am very happy with the education he is receiving at Lomas. His teachers have been amazing and they are always willing to communicate and discuss my child's progress. The office staff is very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

Lomas is a school with excellent and caring teachers. The children are very happy at Lomas. Most parents are happy too. Front office staff is very helpful and friendly. The PTA is phenomenal and welcomes any help offered with smiles. No petty parent cliques at Lomas! It is true that not many parents are able to volunteer a lot of time, however, most kids at Lomas have involved parents able to support their learning. Students are polite and engaged whenever I am in the school. Lomas is diverse which is a huge plus. Your child will receive a solid education at Lomas both academically and socially. This is a wonderful public school that gets better each year my family is here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

I have been active at Lomas for 5-6 years. The school population has changed drastically over the years. The current principal is an ineffective communicator to parents, I have had to call multiple times because he does not return calls. Bullying is a huge issue and not addressd appropriately by the district or school administration. The teaching staff is awesome, but not supported by the district or principal. My children finished there and we are removing them from Kyrene district schools this year due to bullying and ineffective administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

My son just finished first grade here and so far I am very impressed with the school. The teachers seem focused and professional and there are plenty of involved parents. Academic standards seem high and the school has an effective approach to discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

I have been at been at Lomas for 4 quarters. I like Lomas but, however its not the best school. There is often kids in fist fights . The teaching is good . I do think kids get a good education .As for cafeteria food, it is not the best either.


Posted December 2, 2011

If I could do 1/2 a star I would . I have 3 children in las Lomas I have had a problem every year . The principal lol what principal if u have a problem u talk to the assistant . The actual principal is always too busy to talk to concerned parents . Sad if you have a problem with the teacher not communicating with you 2-3 weeks later . They try to stick up for teacher really .... I thought u email or call usually a concerned teacher will respond in a few days . No not here its ok to get snooty with parents at meeting with the principal too they allow it ... Call super lol they pretend to care rediculous school .... They used to at least care try to involve parents now they ask u notify if your going to visit and stay with ur child .:( ... I moved here for this great school district I have been nothing but disappointed ... I have a 5th grader ,3rd & 1 in kindergarten
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This school is awesome, great curriculum. Classrooms are not overloaded. Teachers communicate well with parents. My son loves going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Teachers and pricipal are very involved. We also have fantastic parent volunteers! The programs are fun, family oriented, and educational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

I love this school, but most importantly...my children love this school. They feel part of that community. The teachers so far have been terrific and their staff are always helpful and smiling! Way to go Lomas Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Makes me believe in the human element of education again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

We had our KG and 2nd grader in school this year, and they will continue for 09/10 school year. Our children did wonderful, and really enjoy the school and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2009

I have Four children at this school, two of them with IEP's. The school is wonderful and the children enjoy waking up to go to school!!! I attended the Kyrene schools as a child myself and from first hand experience, This school is awesome! I couldn't be happier anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

I'm a former parent; my son left in 1st grade to move to the midwest. While there, I thought this was a fantastic school. In looking back, it is so far off the chart in regards to low quality, I'm amazed. Part may be th quality of education in AZ being poor to begin with, but my son was at grade level in 1st grade, and 2 grades behind when we moved (he was Pre-k at his Kansas City area school when we moved from Lomas in regards to reading and math). I suppose it's all reletive based on the state/district, etc., but the fact that ther eis a 2 year difference is appalling. The experience at Lomas was good, and the teachers always seemed caring, and involved in their kids development, but if I were to move back I'd relook at whether or not this is the appropriate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I have three children enrolled in Lomas. I moved to Ahwatukee for the school district. I just love this school and the teachers in it. I have not seen a high turn overrate in which the school is affected. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who wants a strong well rounded education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

Lomas school is in a crisis situation because the administration is not supporting the teachers. Teacher turn over is at an all time high because the administration is not doing enough to deter deviant behavior and repetitive discipline problems. Test scores are lower at this school as compared to other kyrene schools with similar demographics. Lomas is in need of a strong, knowledgeable leader with experience in order to be a quality, productive learning environment as it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

Lomas has been an excellent school for my daughter. We moved into district because of Kyrene's excellent reputation, scores, and teachers. The teachers are great at communicating with the parents, the class sizes are much smaller than many schools around the state, and the environment is very rich and encouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

An older school in Ahwatukee. good learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2005

I was happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

My son is in full-day kindergarden, and I could not be happier with the curriculum and quality of the education at Lomas. I cross the border from Roosevelt Elementary, and there is no question I feel better about my child's learning than at the home district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 42%
Hispanic 35% 43%
Black 15% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 783-5766

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11820 S. Warner Elliot Loop
Phoenix, AZ 85044
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 783-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ambassador Academy
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT