Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kyrene De Los Cerritos School 5

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
I have two daughters that are in 2nd and 3rd grade at Cerritos. My children feel safe, valued, and they are given an amazing amount of leadership opportunities. They love coming to school! The PTO is fantastic at this school and the community really supports the school. The school is great about sending out weekly newsletters via email and the teachers are great about keeping parents informed. This school is a Leader In Me school and their lighthouse status is something to celebrate. Go Roadrunners!

Kyrene De Los Cerritos School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
The PTO at this school is AMAZING. Cerritos is so lucky to have a strong committed group of parents that provide financial and social support, and they model leadership for the children.


Kyrene De Los Cerritos School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
My girls have grown so much over the last couple of years. Their academic growth is wonderful and they feel challenged appropriately.

Kyrene De Los Cerritos School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
Cerritos has a great program called CARES. Cooperation, Accountability, Respect, Excellence, and Safety. My girls love coming home with cares slips!

Kyrene De Los Cerritos School 2

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
This is a quality school in a great neighborhood. Lots of parent involvement and School spirit! The one area of concern I have always had at Ceritos is The principal. No follow through with staff or parent concerns, never seen at pick up or drop off, never seems to be in attendance at after school events, does not seem to have a loving emphasis that is required for a grade school principal. She has a lot to learn about professional maturity.


Kyrene De Los Cerritos School 3

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
My child went to neighboring school, Sierra for Kindergarten and had a great experience. I thought Cerritos would be comparable. So when we bought a house that was zoned for Cerritos, we enrolled her there by default. What a huge mistake!! My child who had been an "advanced' student since pre-k spent a lot of time learning material she already knew. What's more disappointing is when I addressed the teacher about my concerns, no action was taken. What's worst is when I met with the principal and very respectfully asked for advice, she said that the teacher was the best one in that grade. She was pleasant yet defensive. Bottom line is NOTHING was done for my child. Very frustrating and disappointing. I am researching alternative schools like Sierra or charter schools. If your student is average or below, or you don't have high expectations of your child academically, it's a fine school. It's upbeat and there's plenty of family activities. Although I can't help but notice the staff and community was much more welcoming at Sierra (i.e. friendlier front office and parent volunteers)

Kyrene De Los Cerritos School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Love Cerritos & our son's 2nd grade teacher, Ms Eger. Cerritos is very open to family volunteers in the classroom & for special events. I love knowing there is an open door there. We have been at schools in the past that preferred parents to drop off at the gate, not to be seen or heard from again until after school let out (I.e. Tucson's Senita Valley). One example of Cerritos' open door policy that comes to mind is my father-in-law's recent visit from MT. I asked our son's teacher if he could come in & do the "mystery reader" program in our son's class & Ms Eger made a plan for that during the week he was to be in town. However, his stay was cut short without notice & so I took Grandpa to Cerritos to pick up our son early so they could have as much time together as possible before he had to leave the next day. I told Ms Eger about the unfortunate change in plans & she finished the class' current activity & allowed grandpa some time to share with our son & his class. Grandpa had a wonderful time & I was very happy that our son got to have such a memorable moment with him during what turned out to be a short, overnight stay.

Kyrene De Los Cerritos School 2

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
I've been really dissapointed in this school. One of my children completed K-5 here 2 years ago and was completely unprepared for Junior High. My other child is currently in 5th grade here and it seems that he will end up even less prepared for Junior High than his brother.


Kyrene De Los Cerritos School
no rating

Posted October 23, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attends kindi, and my son preschool at cerritos and we couldnt be happier. We are in the open enrollment plan and travel quite a ways but it is well worth the trip everyday. We interviewed every school in the kyrene district(that had a preschool) and cerritos won hands down on simple friendliness and helpfulness; which means a great deal when you realize you will interact with these people everyday.

Kyrene De Los Cerritos School 5

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter loves going to school, the community support and parent involvement is outstanding. All of my daughters classmates have been a joy and there is a diverse mix of races. Other parents and staff have been very nice and open. We will go here until it is time to move up to alta dena.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kyrene De Los Cerritos School
14620 S. Desert Foothills Pkwy, Phoenix, AZ  85048
(480) 783-4000
Last modified Kyrene De Los Cerritos School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kyrene De Los Cerritos School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top