Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeview Elementary School

Public | K-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Lakeview Elementary is one of the best around. The Principal, and office staff do a wonderful job of balancing the budget to address all areas of the schools needs. The educators are all very experienced and pleasant to communicate with. They have a great open door policy for the parents, while at the same time, addressing possible safety issues or concerns for the students. This school feels more like a second family than a "learning institution"...very personable and proffessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

I have a 3 students who attend Lakeview School and they just think it is the Best! They each have been going to Lakeview since kindergarden and I think that each of them were educated by a teacher who cared and wanted the best for my kids. The principal is working on his second year there and I saw parent interaction with him from the very beginning. He greets all kids by their name and my kids feel important when the Principal say Hi to them. I know that if more parents were involved in the schools and really take the time to find out what they can do to help make their student succeed, our kids will have the encouragement on both ends, at home and at school. From the front office, kidspace, cafeteria, custodians and teachers, all of Lakeview staff make Lakeview a welcoming enviroment for their students and my kids feel safe and secure and knows that their teachers wants only the best for them for their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

Both of my children attend Lakeview. They are 4th graders and have gone here since the beginning of 3rd grade. While I can see the potential for issues, I have been lucky that I haven't had any. Both of my kids are student of the month and/or character of the month almost every other month. My son's teacher, Ms. Truhler, is an exceptional teacher who is very aware of her students' needs. My daughter's teacher, Ms. Westwood is similar in that she is aware of my daughter's problem areas (such as math) and has somehow managed to get past that. While they both have different approaches to teaching, their methods have been perfectly paired with my children so much so that my kids are doing far better than I could ever have expected. Still, I can see where improvements can be and should be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Our daughter has gone to kindergarten and 1st grade at Lakeview. The teachers are wonderful. They are concerned, involved and make themselves available to parents and children. Principal Tejada is very supportive of the kids, the teachers and the community. There was a recent carnival at the school that brought the community out to enjoy the afternoon and evening. I'm proud to have my daughter at Lakeview. The Lakeview staff, educators and principal have a positive influence on every day. Thank you for that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

My child went to Lakeveiw her kindergarten, 1st and 2nd grade year and I absoluty loved it. There was plenty to get involved with. Although the precipal could have been better chosen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Lakeview has been nothing but a big hassle. All the sixth grade teachers have lost their passion for teaching. I have never experienced such unwillingness to educate in my life. We would get progress reports stating all assignments were turned in and our child was passing. By report time it stated there were twenty missing assignments and our child was failing. It is the teacher s responsibility to notify us so we can correct the problem and reinforce the importance of schoolwork. I would never recommend this school to anyone. Children deserve the right to be educated not ignored and put to the side. Race is definetly a factor here. The minorities are not given as much attention as the other students this includes the parents as well. This is by far the worst school I have ever come across!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

My son attended this school for two years. If it had not been for one dedicated teacher, this past year would have been a disaster. The new principal needs more qualified support and the district does not support his efforts. Over crowded class rooms (1-31) was ridiculous. Students got lost in the process. Teachers came and went. So did the confidence of parents. Please, use caution when looking at this school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

Our new principal has made important connections with the Lakeview community, staff and students. He is committed to providing the best support for each child in our school and is eager to address parental and staff concerns. Best of all, he has the needs of our students in mind as his highest priority. That he is bilingual and sends his message home to students and parents who speak Spanish is such a blessing! He needs time to perfect the aspects of his vision as he continues to provide much needed professional development for his faculty. Given the opportunity to develop his plan, he has the potential to make Lakeview one of the very best schools in Arizona.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 5, 2006

My children have attended this school for the past two years. The experience has not been the best, there have been many incidents that have contributed to this opinion. One of my children previously attended a school in the Alhambra district and it was the best experience yet. I would love to take them out of this school and enroll them back to the Alhambra schools. This school is very disorganized and the expectation of the child does not meet the standards I feel schools should have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

My daughter is currently in 2nd grade at Lakeview, and she has been doing exceptionally well. The only bad experiences that we ve had were with a bad principal (who has since been replaced) and a teacher that she just didn't connect with. The school was willing to work with us though and moved her to another class. Overall, I am satisfied with the education that she is receiving. She's excelling at reading and math and is bonding with the teachers and friends alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

My children have been at this school for 2 years now. Except for the change over in the Principal we have been satisfied with the educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

This was the first school to point out my son's speech problem and offer assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

My son attended Lakeview in 2000 and the leadership of the school at that time was so lax that we removed our son. We recently re-enrolled him now that there has been a change in principalship. Their new principal is the best thing that ever happened to Lakeview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

Lakeview has had a turnover in principalship and the school is in total disarray. Parents are not receiving return phone calls from the administration and we are not being informed of changes. In addition, many of our best teachers are choosing to leave this year because they are unhappy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

My son really enjoyed attending Lakeview Elementary. We moved here from Tucson and just lucked into Lakeview. The teachers were great. My son never lacked for the assistance that he requested. They offered summer and afterschool programs that really helped since I am a single mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

i have 2 kids go to this school and without the help of one 4th grade teacher my son would have not past the 4th grade. He was very ill and his 4th grade teacher gave up her summer break to make sure he went to the 5th grade.the teachers are by far the best I have ever seen. my daughter later had that same teacher. mrs. hancock has won the silver apple awards amoug other awards. I will miss her after this year both of my kids are and have been on the honor roll and without all the teachers and staff giving all their attention to what the kids needed I dont like alot of these kids would be where they are today. this school has the best around and im sure all parents would agree with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 43%
White 35% 42%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 896-5820

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3040 West Yucca Street
Phoenix, AZ 85029
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Accel
Phoenix, AZ


Sahuaro School
Phoenix, AZ



Shaw Butte School
Phoenix, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT