Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Larkspur Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2007

My son just started this year. He is in the 5th grade and so far the teachers he has been in contact with have gone above and beyond our expectations. He feels very good about himself and so far LOVES Larkspur. I am so far very happy with how the school is run and his classroom teacher is absolutely fantastic! The principal and teachers told us flat out...their focus is on education and not parties and field trips which we agree with 100%. We spend time celebrating his successes and holidays at home and take family trips so we don't feel a need for the fluff. I am so happy we are at Larkspur! Glad we made it here and hope the next two years are as good as the past two weeks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

We were so pleased this past year with our experience at Larkspur.We had transferred here early in the year and disappointed to learn our children were behind. The teachers worked after school a couple days a week and our children were caught up by the winter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

Larkspur is a good school overall. The staff is caring and kind. When we experienced bulling the principal took immediate actions. However both of my children think the bathrooms are horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

I felt Larkspur was an excellent environment for my 3 oldest children while they were there. The make your day program was helpful, as they most often would make their day. However, my youngest son was different, and had trouble making his day. He was made to feel less than adequate, and often felt like he was 'bad' He was only in Kindergarten. The make your day program is wonderful if you have a child that can easily succeed. The following year he attended a different school for first grade. Thanks to the different discipline policy they had in place, he did much better, and began to feel better about himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

This is the worst school I have ever seen. There are many issues here. Don't send your child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

This is a horrible school.It has bad bullying issues. They give out way too much homework to the students,too. Some of the teachers are ok but the rest are horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Fantastic! Between the high scholastic learning of the students, the 'Make Your Day' learning experience and overall caring environment, I can't think of another school I would prefer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

I don't know what the person who wrote a review in Aug 2005 is talking about. There is a 'gifted program at Larkspur and it is called the Honors program. My son was in the Honors math program in from August of 2004 to December of 2005 and he absolutely loved the class and the teacher. He also loved all his other teachers and classes. He was encouraged to work at his best level no matter what subject it was. I also agree that all the administrative staff were the best as well. Whatever I needed, they got it done quickly and efficiently. All my questions and concerns were taken care of completely. Unfortunately, we had to move out of the school district and all of us including my son will miss Larkspur tremendously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Larkspur is an excellent school. My daughter attended from 1st through 6th grades and all of her teachers were fantanstic; she learned a great deal. Teachers are patient, kind and fun. Mrs. Goyette is excellent with the Honors program and the admin staff are nice to work with too. I would love to see more extra cirricular activities. We were dissapointed when chess was cancelled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

This is a great school if all you are looking for is a standard education. As the parent of a gifted first grader this school is sub par. With no gifted program in place and no real plan on how they are going to teach my daughter in a way that doesn't leave her bored stiff this school just isn't good enough. Smart kids deserve to learn new stuff too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

I think that Larkspur Elementary is devoted to reading skills as it's number one focus. I feel it puts reading at the top of the academic totem pole and lets all other academic areas slide. Although reading is a very important skill students need to master, other skills need to be given the same amount of time for mastery as well. I want my kids to master every subject so their opportunities in life are broadened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

I find this school to be at a lower standard than I would like for my child. They seem to teach down to the students that don't get it, instead of teaching at a level that the regular/accelerated children would be comfortable at. It seems to be two levels, extremley accelerated or below average, no in between. When 10-15 students leave the class for more then 2.5 hours a day to learn english, I think my child suffers. My child will not be attending this school in the future. There needs to be some serious restructure in the school starting with adding the third area I spoke of earlier. I don't have many complaints about the teachers as they do the best with what they have to work with in the policy that has been submitted. Changes need to be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

This is My childrens first year here, one in preschool and one in kindergarten. I was very dissapointed in the class size for the kindergarten- there is 26 kids in a small room, my daughter is shy and had a hard time adjusting, they ware really strict in the begining , I really dont think they gave her time to warm up, but she's doing well now. I am satisfied with the school itself, except the staff I think could be a little more friendly. I think it is great that they do have a preschool there, I love the program they do not push them to hard to know everything,they are just really introducing things to them. I would reccomend anyone with a 3 or 4 year old to use this program,especially if you think your child might be behind on speech,social, ect. The district even tests them for free!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2004

Great preschool, not available at all schools. The all day kindergarten is great! Excellent speech therapists.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

My children recently started attending Larspur this school year (2004-2005) So far i am very happy with the school. They have many activites amy son is in the band program which is wonderful, he also has speech services and they have done an outstanding job, they have been very helpful so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2004

Larkspur is a wonderful school, full of leadership, knowledge, teamwork, safety for your child, fair treatment and discipline. My daughter has shown great sucsess in this school alot more then her other schools! Kids love that school, and even say the teachers are great, which is something you pretty much never hear from your child! All I`m saying is that if your child is behind, transfer him/her to Larkspur, they will catch your child up no matter what!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2004

Larkspur has been the best thing that ever happened to my son. He is in preschool and went in not speaking very clearly or putting things together very clearly. He has only been going there for six months and already he speaks very clearly and interacts in all activities very well. The teachers are very nice and show true concern for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2003

I find that because of whatever the faculties past experiences w/ kids or parents, they tend to lump them all in the same 'don't know what they are talking about' catagory. No Teacher anywhere has a right to talk down to a child and no Principal has the right to try and prove to a child that they can't alway run to their parents when there is trouble. My husband and I are very involved with our child in school and out. The Public school system needs to keep in mind that 'good customer service' is very important. My child has gone to Larkspur K thru 6 and it has been a nightmare. There is tons of animosity towards the parents that want to be involved and communicate with the teachers. I am very glad this is my childs last year there. I am counting the days....


Posted October 15, 2002

My daughter is receving an excellect education and her grades are fine. I attribute this to a good environment and exceptional staff. Everyone from the crossing guard, office staff and teachers are helpful and friendly.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 43%
White 40% 42%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2430 E Larkspur
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




BASIS Phoenix
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT