Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Larkspur Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 508 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

Larkspur is below expectations in my opinion. My son started there last year in kindergarden,and is now in first grade the teachers are very complainy always sending some kid of make your day slip home almost everyday. My son gets them because he is in a speech class and cant complete all his work in homeroom cause he has speech but the teacher complains he didn't complete his work like every other day I get a note. Just the other day the school was on lock down and there was a police helicopter circling looking for a perpetrator around 11am and I wasn't notified till 5 pm in the afternoon. They never notify of anything going on, not till usually way later. Its like why wasnt I notified of what is going on! Its important to let the parents know about whats going on at the school. Im very disappointed with this school. Theres really nothing for the kids to play on at recess or before school. No shade of anykind! Its worth about the 5 stars it has. It has 5 stars for a reason, do your research before sending your children to larkspur.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

So far this year with the new school being built the campus has been nothing but chaos. The parking/student aides haven't a clue what they're doing and a small percentage of them are extremely rude. The kids have had no where to go before school starts except for the basketball court and a jungle gym. No grass yet and no shade has been provided which brings me to picking up the kids at the end of the day. They're forced to stand outside in the blistering heat waiting for the parking aides to waive the cars in. It's summer and easily 106-110 outside. Why did no one think to cover the area where the children are being picked up? Now the bright side, the principal is great. She is fair, understanding and went to great lengths to help my son last year. She even answers the phone herself at times! This year my son is prepared and ready to take on the 2nd grade. His teacher seems really great. Her classroom is organized, homework has been concise and easy to understand. He came home with 100% on his first spelling quiz! He says he really likes her. He especially loves his art teacher, says he's very funny! Open house is next week, I'm hopeful these kinks will work their way out soon. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I believe larkspur is a great school because it is excelling in learning the loving staff are surpassed by no one. The teachers have a heart for children and their learning needs and they make them feel important and not just like everyone else. They have a very strong NO BULLING POLICY they act accordingly to make sure the kids aren't bullied . The homors and special needs are excellent and the arts and music are great. The students care for their teachers and vice versa. I am very impressed with the teachers nurses helpers they make sure they let the parent know if the child is falling behind and take the steps to aid the child with a sense self worth to help the child catch up. The computer class's are advanced and start off early for the the children my kindergartner came home and knew how to use Grandma's computer I think that is also very important to them to learn new things . this is such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

I am a student here but leaving to go to 7 I was here since 5 it is a really good School.The PE teacher is to riled or mean when your hurt she would say keep running or she wouldn't let you go to the nurse the 6 and 5 grade teachers are awesome. The teachers in the office are really nice my brother and sister were in 2 and 1 grade now there going into 2 and 3.they recently built a new school.I hope my brother and sister are happy next year /this year


Posted August 24, 2012

Larkspur is a great school. Sometimes a bit disorganized, but I think that's district wide. My daughter loves all of the teachers and school activities. The front office is always friendly and extremely helpful. We are moving soon and one of my daughter's concerns was that we stay within the Larkspur boundaries. I hope to see more positive reviews for Larkspur.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

This school is really disorganized. The open school night is a week after school begins. My son will not be able to meet his teacher before the first day. They don t even know when busses will be picking up students and school starts in a week and a half! The lack of preparation they have also shows with in the classrooms. Last year my son was not welcomed and his teacher sent home notes on a daily basis for things like him rolling his pencil and getting a drink of water without asking. If this year is as bad as last we will be moving him out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

My family just moved to the area from Chandler and my son has been here for about a month now, I am very disappointed in this school. My son is in 1st grade and his teacher is constantly sending notes home complaining for every little thing, If she wants to be so detailed about how she wants things done then she should have sent a paper explaining how her class is run.Instead my son and I are left in the dark trying to figure out what to do to keep up with her demands.I am left asking my 7 year old what this or that means or when this or that is due, thats a lot of responsibility for him and I am annoyed with her lack of responsibility as a teacher and leader.After this school year I hope next year his teacher is more professional or we will be relocating to another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

I moved my 3 children to Larkspur after having trouble with another school. The principal is wonderful and always avalible to her parents and student I have children in 3rd 4th and 5th grade all the teachers I have delt with at Larkspur have been great they really have a passion for education and their students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

My son has been at Larkspur since kindergarten, going into the 4th grade. The principal is awesome!! She really makes herself available to all. Parents can't complain to others, yet not be active in finding some sort of resolution for their child's problems. Say something to the principal, she'll help you. The rating of school is solely based on AIMS. With the Hispanic pop at Larkspur, THAT does bring the excelling status down. Doesn't make it any less of a great school and the Hispanic pop. doesn't take any attention away from my kid. Hispanic kids have pull out classes that help them. My one tiny complaint is that my son's 3rd grade teacher basically quit teaching after AIMS was taken. No more homework and not much to show in a day. I'm sure they were doing SOMETHING, but there was such a drive and HUGE amounts of homework before AIMS, then nothing afterward. Kind of dissapointing, but something that could happen with a teacher at any school. There are lots of ways for parents to help out and help is definitely needed if you ask. The PTSA this past year was amazing with free movie nights and best carnival ever! Larkspur rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

As a parent of two kids attending this school...this school is better than most when handling problematic kids and other issues. I have had to leave another nearby school due to unprofessional and uncaring attitudes from the Principal on down! Larkspur is amazing and VERY supportive of any concerns that I have had and with positive results. I believe society has put way to much resposibility on the schools to handle "bullying".....It is also the Parents responsibility to teach their kids not to be victims and handle rough situations on their own. School is not perfect, and neither is Life. Let your kids experience the normalcy of what it has to offer, and stop being a wimp and let others fight your battles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

There is alot of Bullying at this school. You let the principal know she does what she can but as parents of kids that go to this school. Who are bullied everyday we need to stand up and take action and try to stop all of this. I'ts not right for our kids to have to deal with this everyday. They deserve a safe learning environment and should not have to fear going to school everday. So as parents we need to put a stop to BULLYING now. No child should have to go through this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

A lot of bullying at this school. Not very accepting of parent helpers. If you want your child to be challenged, I suggest a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

Larkspur staff is so amazing. The nurse informs you if your child comes to see her. That is very comforting. The Principle is so sweet she treats these children great and cares about their education. The Principle is the most amazing lady with a heart. The teachers actually teach our children, which will help them so much in middle and high school. Our children at Larkspur will have a jump start with their education and will be so much further along than other children from schools. We are so lucky to have a school that cares. My children have had to deal with a Principle and staff that threatened my children so much, we had to move them out of a PV school within less than 1 mile of Larkspur. Thank you to ALL the staff at Larkspur and the awesome parents. You care so much. We are very happy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I moved all of my children out of another PV school close to this school to have my children go to this school for several reasons. The staff/supervisor is excellent and fair with all the children at the school. The school grounds are secure from outsiders so our kids are safe. The school has so much to offer for all the children and children with special needs. Teachers work to help our children succeed at this school. What the principle says she does, this school is amazing. I will recommend this school to everyone. I give 5+ stars. The art on the walls the kids don't beat each other up, the parents are great. Thank you Larkspur for being so Great to my kids, my kids say they have went to heaven. They do their homework right away and they are so happy. We are happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

A lot of time is wasted with the 'make your day' program. School seems to cater to ESL programs with the growing hispanic population. They really push the free lunch program at the Open House to get everyone to sign up. If you want your child to be challenged, I'd definately suggest a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

So far in the 2 years our child has been at Larkspur we are thoroughly impressed with the teachers. They are just wonderful. My verdict is still out on the principle but I would still highly recommend this school to anyone. Our child loves it and we are just as happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

School seems to cater primarily to high Hispanic population that needs extra resources just to learn English. Leave other students needing help without assistance because thereis not enough resources for all children needing help staying at gradelevel. If you are not at the bottom of the bareel or average or gifted you are left to fend for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

My son started Kindergarten this year at Larkspur and it is amazing to see how much he has learned and his continued love of learning. His teacher is fantastic, along with the Larkspur staff. Make your day allows student the ability to articulate concerns and take responsibility for their actions. The parent that made comments about excessive bullying and low academic expectations must be talking about another Larkspur Elem. b/c Larkspur is labeled Excelling by the State Dept. of Ed., you must have high academic expectations in order to be excelling (not just teaching kids English). One of the beauties of Larkspur is its diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

My son started kindergarten this year at Larkspur and so far we are impressed. His reading, writing and math skills have improved dramatically and we owe that all to the wonderful teaching staff. We are so impressed with how much he has learned and how much his skills have increased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

Excellent learning environment. Horrible disciplinary system. 'Make Your Day' is too harsh in my opinion. Everytime my son laid his hand on another child's shoulder, he was placed on a step 4, and a parent conference was called.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 42%
Hispanic 44% 42%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2430 E Larkspur
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




BASIS Phoenix
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT