Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Larry C Kennedy School

Public | K-8 | 765 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2012

We care about all kids being successful no matter where they come from or how challenging their lives may be. Everyone gets a chance to be awesome here! They speak many languages, and come from many cultures we have an amazing community of families, teachers, and children who really care about our school we have exceptional teachers and awesome students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

What is there to say about Larry C Kennedy School. It is a great school. The staff and teachers are caring and understanding people. I am glad that both of my sons attend this school. I am very pleased with my sons teachers and I have not encountered any problems in communicating with them. Both teachers are available to discuss my sons' progress and encourage my husband and I to continue with extra work at home. Thank you and I hope this review will help other parents to enroll their children at Larry C Kennedy School in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

I moved to the area and had to make a decision on which school to place my daughter in. I placed her into this school because of the rating for it and some of the good reviews I read. Big mistake, my daughter is is in 4th grade and her teacher is a terrible communicator. I requested at least 4 times to have the teacher contact me, to discuss how my daughter was doing in school, I never received a phone call. I had to call her and by chance reached her, she was rude and in a hurry, I wish more teachers cared about the children they teach. My daughter has ADHD and from my daughter tells me, her teachers are rude and don't care that she has a learning disability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

Few of the office staff is friendly. Some are very rude! Not satisfied with the communication and giving parents last minute notification for meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

Mr. Hannafin and Larry C. Kennedy, I wanted to share with you that I enjoyed visiting your campus, very much. Your front office staff greeted me with a smile and were vary helpful. They were actively helping parents and students each time I was there. You have a very busy front office and many parents eager to visit the campus! They were very clear in their directions to Ms. Pasquanelli's classroom. The students welcomed me to campus and the classroom. They were proud of their school and classroom. Ms. Pasquanelli used active learning strategies to engage the students in the content of directions and geography. Her students actively considered possibilities of the terms of geography. Her classroom management style uses academics as contingency rewards for appropriate behavior. The students were happy to be in her classroom. Thank you for building such a wonderful school culture. If you ever need to contact me, feel free to e-mail or call at the number listed below. Melissa DeSimone, MA Ed. Program Coordinator, Secondary Education Programs, Masters and Certification Arizona State University


Posted August 15, 2011

I congratulate the principal and all teachers for their hard work and make this school every day is better. For me it is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

Dedicated principal teachers, staff, and students. This school meets my children's needs without question. My kinder was reading and doing math by the end of the school year. Some of her friends who attend other schools were not as happy. My daughter really was challenged. Terrific school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

LCK has a positive principal who has voiced his commitment to our school and our kids. We have several new teachers that I believe will stay on staff. Our school has a lot of room for growth and I hope to be a catalyst for change here. LCK has some great teachers on staff who work very hard to teach their students their very best every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Our school went from an underimproving school to performing plus this year. Our students are immigrants and neighborhood homeowners who are working hard to bring up their grades, improve reading, writing and math scores. And my 4th grade class from 2008-09 year scored an average of 80 on the reading AIMS test and a wholloping 92 on the math AIMS test. We are diligently trying to keep the same scores as last year
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

I know that my child will get an awesome education at Kennedy! The teachers care about the students' education and also for our family. My child has had the best teachers and every year learns more and more. I believe that when my child leaves Larry C. Kennedy, he will be ready to face the next step of his life. I honestly would not take my son to any other school!! It is truly a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We care about all kids being successful no matter where they come from or how challenging their lives may be. Everyone gets a chance to be awesome here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Kennedy School is a mix of wonderful children from all corners of the earth. They speak many languages, and come from many cultures. Our teachers are dedicated, energetic, and enthusiastic. We recently came from a failing school to highly performing in one year. It was due to the will of the Kennedy 'people'! Our teachers, parents, and children made it happen. We have an amazing community of families, teachers, and children who really care about our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

We have exceptional teachers and awesome students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Poor Communication with their office staff.


Posted September 7, 2007

Larry C. Kennedy has bee improving in amazing ways. Sean Hannafing, as a new principal and his administration staff are doing an exceptional job. As a parent, I am very please on the changes that have been made around the school. I have no doubt Larry C. Kennedy is and will be an outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 42%
White 10% 42%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 381-6192

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2702 E. Osborn
Phoenix, AZ 85016
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 381-6180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Compass Center
Phoenix, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT