Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
71 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lookout Mountain School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
Bullying is a extremely bad at this school. Teachers dont enforce anti-bullying. They let kids do what they want and they only target certain children based on skin color or how big they are, whatever stereotype they choose.

Lookout Mountain School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
The teachers pick and choose who they give good treatment to and who they give bad treatment to. Bullying is very bad and teachrs don't enforce anti-bullying. They ignore it.


Lookout Mountain School 1

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
I am a mom of a kindergartner. BULLYING IS A BIG PROBLEM AT THIS SCHOOL. I took a survey a couple of weeks ago that they sent out because there are only a few weeks left of school, asking if I think my child is safe at school. I checked "Definitely not". I have yet receive anything back about it. The teachers do not enforce anti-bullying. My son is a car rider and nearly everyday, I see the teachers walking the children to their cars. It's like the teachers are just going through the motions. I saw two girls in line kicking another little girl in their class and the teacher just ignored it. My son has been bullied by other boys and when he has tried to defend himself, he gets in trouble, but they dont do anything to enforce good behavior. I dont think they care about the children, especially the student services specialist. She just takes the teachers word and punishes the kids how she sees fit. I would not recommend this school based on that alone and the fact that the teachers just hand out busy work for kids to take home. There is no such thing as "teaching" at this school.

Lookout Mountain School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a teacher
Dedicated teachers, excellent administration, beautiful campus, and a great sense of community! Community of Caring School based on Family, Respect, Caring, Responsibility, and Trust. Excellent test scores, well above state & district averages.

Lookout Mountain School 1

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
Lookout mountain is very unorganized. After two months enrolling my child into this school the teacher decided to contact me saying they do not understand my child's current IEP from DVUSD.. Easiest thing to read! So I went in for a meeting, another month goes by they want to "go over" my child's IEP and changed it completely. Put nonsense things in it and contradicted themselves.. I kept having to call the district after the principal wouldn't return my multiple phone calls. About this and regarding my child telling me her "teacher" sits on her computer most the day and her friend has to explain to her what to do on the assignment. The office staff is very unfriendly and they question the reasoning why you are singing your child out and "can it wait after school or another timing." After all these years as a parent I shouldn't be questioning that....


Lookout Mountain School 2

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
LOM could be such a wonderful school if administration would STOP micromanaging their staff. Teachers need breathing space and the freedom to teach the way they want, or what works for them. I have been in many different classrooms and the students aren't engaged. It's really sad! Learning needs to be fun!!! Something's got to change.

Lookout Mountain School 2

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at Lookout Mountain. We are looking for a new school for our children to attend. With new mandated standards, seems to me the drive to really teach children is gone. I spend a lot of time volunteering in order to stay up to tune on what my children are learning. Over the last 2 yrs seems like teachers are implemting "here, do this packet ". One of my child's teachers plays music all day that I don't even allow my children to listen to. If you are trying to get a hold of the Principal, good luck. I have yet to have my emails responded to and when I ask to speak to her in person, she always seems to be too busy. If you need to take your children out of school early, be ready to face the rath of the office staff. My children missed 1 day of school last yr and when I tried to take them out early one afternoon, the front office hounded me as if my children were often truent. Bottom line: lack luster Administration; a beautiful new school full of garbage.

Lookout Mountain School 1

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is beyond horrific. Children flashing genitalia to other children on the playground, behavior specialists bully children, the front desk staff is rude and condescending...Teachers are inadequate, and under-educated. The school looks nice from the outside, but the inside is a unorganized mess full of staff who care very little about the work that they do...I can't stress enough how bad this school is....avoid the fake positive reviews...this school is a cesspool...


Lookout Mountain School 2

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
The only way you could possibly think this school was great, would be if you had no experience with a great school. There are lots of really good schools around. The curriculum here is about one to two FULL years behind the local charter schools. The new building sure is nice, but even with that, and the additional students it attracted, the quality or education is dropping. The school does a poor job with differentiation and makes kids sit through things they already know just to let the rest of the class catch up. If your child is average or needs to catch up, this might be a good school. If you child is ahead or a high achiever, this is not a good school for him or her. Also, bullies are everywhere and the staff and especially the administration dismiss it instead of addressing it and correcting the problem.

Lookout Mountain School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
We are excited to start our third year as Lookout Mountain Lions in our brand new school. Our K and 1st teachers were amazing! Both were very organized, pushed our kids, and provided great support for our kids. We also use the Kidspace and we used the Early Enrichment programs. The Kidspace leaders do a great job with our after-school care and the Early Enrichment program was a great overall experience for our child. In our experience the administrative staff have been helpful as much as they could. We had one challenge last year involving a district policy that the school personnel simply could not change. In our experience the princicpal and assistant principal run a tight ship, hold high expectations for the teachers, kids, and for the community. We love Lookout Mountain.

Nearby schools

Lookout Mountain School
15 West Coral Gables Dr, Phoenix, AZ  85023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. (602) 347-2600
Last modified Lookout Mountain School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top