Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Richard Simis School

Public | PK-4

We are best known for academic excellence.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 9, 2011

Madison Simis is a wonderful school with a long heritage of excellence. Parents are involved, teachers are caring and hard-working, students are eager to learn. It is nurtured by an enlightened Phoenix community and enjoys a beautiful setting. We take pride in all that we have accomplished and are ever in a mode of continuous improvement. Thank you for your continued interest in Simis, and for your support.

100 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2009

The community involvement in this school is one of the things that makes it great. The parents of Simis students are active in many of the educational programs, as well as fundraisers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

great teachers inovative ideas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

This is an academically challenging, rich and vibrant school experience. Yes, the parents are overly involved, and Yes, many of the parents offer wealth that exceeds my personal capabilities - in their donations of time and money! And Yes, the children are all expected to work at levels higher than schools in this state might otherwise expect them to work. If a challenging school is not what you seek - don't send your child here to Simis. The teachers and the administration really cares. Dr. Flowers and Dr. Bitterman work very hard as do the teachers who are at the school early in the AM preparing for my son and late in the evening supporting our children who need additional input or parental communication. This is our son's 5th year at Simis, he is in 4th grade and has enjoyed every minute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2009

I am moving my child this coming year. The parents run the school more then the staff. They are always asking for money from parents, even those who don't have it feel guilty if they can't spend extra money on unnecessary purchases. The office staff isn't friendly and always seem to busy to help beyond what they are required to do. Dr. Flowers seems to avoid conflict and try to cover it up rather then solve it. Homework isn't individualized. Every child, regardless of ability is expected to do the same thing for homework even when it may be too difficult. The reason the school does excel is because of the upper class predominately white educated class of people in the area. This would not be a good placement for a second language learner needing individualized instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

This is my daughter's first year at Simis. She is in Kindergarten and her teacher is great. I feel that she takes the time that is needed for each student and replies promptly to emails and voice mail. She is willing to try what she can to keep my daughter on track. I am glad we chose Simis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

We moved into the Madison School District specifically so that our kids could attend Simis. Certain parents with a back-to-basics agenda disrupted our school & district, but finally got what they wanted whilst drawing millions of dollars from the district -- Madison Traditional School. This split served to lower class sizes at Simis, and now the school can again concentrate on providing excellent educations for our children. We're impressed that there are long-tenured teachers at Simis, including male teachers in the 3rd & 4th grades. The music director, Mr. Block, is first rate, and the new art instructor, Mr. Bilger, brings enthusiasm to every project. The fee-based afterschool programs are outstanding: chess, gymnaastics, Mad Science, Mandarin Chinese, Spanish, and Athletes in Training. The Parents-and-Teachers-at-Simis organization is the most active and supportive that we've ever witnessed. We're proud to be a Simis family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Simis has the most active parent/teacher organization that I've ever been apart of. The PATS organization works hand in hand with the teachers and office team toward common goals. If there is a need that the District cannot fund, then the PATS organization will step in and support that request. While the student population is high Madison District just recently added two more buses to the school and the class sizes are reasonable. The teachers are really appreciated and there are committees to serve any interest. Also, there are a variety of clubs and activities such as Spanish and Mandarin language instruction, Chess Club, Art, Gymnastics, and Odyssey of the Mind (State Champions)! Simis is a great school with a wonderful student/parent/teacher community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I can't say enough good things about Simis. My son is starting his 4th year there (now a third grader) and I have been very happy with every one of his teachers. I will freely admit that I am one of those very invloved parents. I know most teachers in the school and the administration. The involvement of the parents is one the things that makes Simis such a great school, I couldn't see my son going to any other school in Phoenix (we are out of district, so we obviously had a choice).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

I have been a Simis parent for 7years and although the overall exoerience has been great my oldest who is now going into 6th grade had 2 1st year teachers and had a horrible time with curriculm changes. My younger daughter had a wonderful experience and my youngest has so far had a horrible experience. I think the turnover has gotten really bad due to the disorganization of curriculm. I have one left and am still deciding if my child will attendin Fall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

My grandson attended kindergarten in Mis Davis' class. She is the best teacher. She truly cares and goes the extra mile to make sure each child learns what they need to learn. I only wish she could be his teacher for the next four years. The principal was also excellent in helping to help with anything that came up. This is an excellent school and we are so glad we had him transfer into the school. I only have one complaint, and that is the t-ball structure is so poorly organized. It did not compare to Orangewood/Royal Palm League. They are so much better organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

My son will be in 3rd grade next year & has been enrolled at Simis since kindergarten. Parent involvement at Simis is superb! The teachers are great! We will be moving out of district soon & still plan on our son attending Simis. It's going to be quite a drive for us but I liken it to private school. Instead of paying tuition we will be paying with time & gas...all worth it! These early years are so important. I plan on my two younger children to attend as well. A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

Our son is in Mrs. Davis' kindergarten class. We feel that she truly cares about him and his academic success. There have been some behavior issues and she is always straight forward about dealing with them. I hope his (and our) 1st grade experience goes as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

We have been completely unsatisfied with the level of communication from the teacher. We chose this school because it was 'excelling' - I don't feel the class or homework is specific for the child. We have struggled all year and will look to move our child to a new school in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

I am a parent and also work at Simis. It is an excellent school and my child has done extremely well since Kindergarten there. The teachers she has had, Mrs. Lemon, Mrs. Tancos and Mr. Corrao are very accessible and helpful and caring. The front office staff are excellent and always helpful, always under a lot of pressure and never, ever 'lose their cool'. The music teacher, Mr. Block, is great with the kids and I am amazed at what my daughter accomplishes under his direction. The level of parent involvement is astonishing. We almost have our own community amongst ourselves and it is very rewarding to watch our children grow and learn over the years together. New parents and children are always welcomed and included warmly. The cafeteria is run by 5 people who amazingly prepare and serve 600-800 meals per day and love our children too. Kudos to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Fabulous School. A public school that feels private. Amazing teachers, programs and PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

We've had two children go through Simis and have been highly satisfied with our experience. Currently our last child is in 3rd grade. Our kids have had a solid foundation of basic skills in mathematics, writing and reading. The science program is 'hands on' with lots of cool experiences (meal worms, weather, gardening, etc). The music program is particularly outstanding. Our children have also had many opportunities for community service, field trips, and investigations into new technology. Parent involvement at all levels of the school contributes to the positive environment. The Parents also raise a large amount of money each year so that Simis can offer so many different opportunities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

For the parents who like to be involved, Simis is a great choice. They offer a number of ways in which you can participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

As noted in an earlier post, a faction of the school board tried to forcibly convert Simis to a 'traditional' model, despite overwhelming opposition by parents in both a written survey and at public meetings. The principal did not seem responsive to parent concerns on this issue, either. At least a few of these people will stand for re-election in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

My son has attended the preschool and we loved it. He's grown exponentially over the last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

This is an overated school but for Aizona's poor standards it is adequate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Gardening Award for DIGGS (2007)
  • Excelling School (2010)
  • Odyssey of the Mind, City, State, World contestants (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Joyce Flowers
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (602) 664-7399

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • *pats, parent organization strongly involved *art masterpiece *cover story publishing center *site based management team
More from this school
  • *Strong literacy and math program *Continual assess. of student progress *Strong parental involvement *Special Reading Support*ELL *Gifted program for acceleration *On-site special education *Preschool on site *Book Store *PE/Art/Music/ technology classes *Before & after school care *Cover Story Publishing Center *Art Masterpiece Program*Gardening/Botany Curriculum*Art Masterpiece
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Madison Meadows
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7302 N 10th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 664-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT