Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Richard Simis School

Public | PK-4

We are best known for academic excellence.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 9, 2011

Madison Simis is a wonderful school with a long heritage of excellence. Parents are involved, teachers are caring and hard-working, students are eager to learn. It is nurtured by an enlightened Phoenix community and enjoys a beautiful setting. We take pride in all that we have accomplished and are ever in a mode of continuous improvement. Thank you for your continued interest in Simis, and for your support.

100 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2005

Excellent school. Scores are always top notch. Very involved families. School functions are always packed and the kids just love their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

The academic growth provided by the Madison district is phenomenal. Simis has great teachers and I never have to worry about my daughter s education, when it comes to this school. This school still provides weekly Art and Music classes. There's a big fall festival and only one school fundraiser a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

After considering private school we decided to send our daughter to k-1 at Simis. We have been pleasantly surprised at our experience. It has the feeling of a community, the teachers encourage children at their own pace and it is evident that the average child at Simis performs above average statewide. We are pleased with the extremely active parent involvement. The only negative were dealings with the principal, who is now leaving. Otherwise all staff we have encountered are professionals with the best interest of education for our children. We moved to this neighborhood to ensure our 3 children will be able to attend Madison Simis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

I have two children who attend Simis. The school prides itself on it's test scores, and it does work hard to achieve these ratings. There is a high level of parental involvement, and the school and parents provide many fun extracurricular activities. However there does seem to be some teacher dissatisfaction, possibly because of the pressure to continue achieving such high test scores. I do have an issue with letting so many out of district children attend Simis on variance. I think the classrooms are too crowded, which makes it difficult on the teachers and children. Overall, Simis is one of the best public schools in Phoenix, which is important because Arizona is not known for high standards in education. My children are happy at Simis, and I would recommend it to others considering moving here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2005

This school is a good school but somewhat cliquesh. The paren't group is very cliquesh, I went to a meeting and no one even introduced themselves. Very homogenous student population. Nice teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

Not a bad school, but little extra in the way of enlightened, multicultural awareness. Teacher turnover really hurts the cultivation of an experienced dedicated faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2004

Better than average facility with top notch staff and incredibly high performance. Not very diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

Simis is a great school, the staff really cares about our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

I am an alumni of Simis and now my twins are in Kindergarten there. I have been VERY disappointed in the whole experience. One of my children has special needs and the knowledge, understanding and follow through of the staff has been horrible. For many years the Madison School District has been a selling point for homes in the area. Recently the reputation has gone drastically down hill. In fact when other people asked me where I would be sending my children to Kindergarten and I told them Simis the usual response was, 'Good luck with that!' Most of our friends and neighbors send their children to private school. I highly suggest anyone considering Simis ask around and get feedback on the curriculum, discipline policies(or lack therof) and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2003

We moved to this area of Phoenix just to attend Simis. We have been very pleased and it has surpassed all expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

As an experienced teacher I have seen over the past few years a greater shift in focus to academic achievement than ever before. The administration has given excellent support to its teachers to insure the highest level of educational achievement for our students. Ongoing continued education has helped produce a highly professional and knowledgeable staff. Our students continue to be rated among the highest not only in the Phoenix area, but in the state! (See test scores.) Our parent involvement is outstanding as well, as are the extracurricular offerings of Simis.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 29, 2003

We had two children attend Simis. We have watched this school decline. Administration at the district level and locally at the school lost sight of what made this school awesome ~ experienced caring teachers with active and involved parents. The school still has two awesome 2nd grade teachers ~ Connie Belmore and Barb Carson ~ two shining examples of what the school used to have through out all grades.


Posted April 24, 2003

I have had four children attend Madison Simis, each with their own strengths, weaknesses, interests and passions. The school has accomodated each child's unique needs incredibly well. The teachers are engaged, professional, and accessible. The have high expectations for themselves, their students and the parents. My one area of concern is leadership and teacher turnover in the past two years, but I think part of that is the unrealistic demands and skimpy funding that Arizona teachers face year after year.


Posted April 4, 2003

The school administration has declined significantly primarily due to the new principal. She is defensive and rigid. Her people skills are terrible. She is non-responsive. Parents and students alike dislike her. As a result, the school has lost many of the best teachers and some teachers who need to improve their skills with the children are not being given feedback. Although a few years ago we moved into this district for the sole purpose of enrolling the children at Simis, we would not send the children back to this school if given the choice again.


Posted April 1, 2003

The atmosphere of the school is educational. The needs and concerns of the school center around the achievement of the child. Technology is also an inportant part of the curriculum. Faculty and staff have always been more than happy to help, answer questions and advise.


Posted March 31, 2003

Put frankly, the principal has poor people skills. I've experienced this as a parent. There is little doubt in my mind that the excellent teachers will pursue opportunities at other schools with a more user-friendly administrator.


Posted March 30, 2003

I have two kids at Simis and they are on a variance. I looked long and hard for a school that had everything I wanted. Simis has everthing I ever wanted in a school--very good scores, art, music, life and community based skills, excellent teachers, parent support, administration that has a great vision for the school and what it can do in terms of scores and programing--to say 'we can do better' and even 'push the envelope' to do more than what has even been expected before. I spend 3 hours a day commuting my kids to Simis--That's because I feel it provides a well rounded educational experience backed by very good scores. It is certainly worth the drive everyday.


Posted March 28, 2003

Simis is a great community. We heard great things about it being a great all around school and so far we are very pleased. My son loves school and I feel it is a very safe and positive environment for him to be in. There are many experienced teachers at Simis and there are always parents volunteering on campus.


Posted March 27, 2003

Principal and Assistant Principal refuse to extend any customer service. I noticed they do not respond to 'family' needs in any way ! ! Very disappointing.


Posted October 15, 2002

My son is on a variance and attends Madison Simis...the past year and a half has been great! Mrs. Belmore is awesome and truly cares about her children. Thanks!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Gardening Award for DIGGS (2007)
  • Excelling School (2010)
  • Odyssey of the Mind, City, State, World contestants (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Joyce Flowers
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (602) 664-7399

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • *pats, parent organization strongly involved *art masterpiece *cover story publishing center *site based management team
More from this school
  • *Strong literacy and math program *Continual assess. of student progress *Strong parental involvement *Special Reading Support*ELL *Gifted program for acceleration *On-site special education *Preschool on site *Book Store *PE/Art/Music/ technology classes *Before & after school care *Cover Story Publishing Center *Art Masterpiece Program*Gardening/Botany Curriculum*Art Masterpiece
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Madison Meadows
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7302 N 10th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85020
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 664-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT